We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip”
Review of Jessie Mac's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birnam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jessie Mac's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Road Trip”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here 1 night on a family road trip round central scotland. room was clean and comfortable. breakfast was excellent. hosts were amazing. we were made to feel very welcome despite it only being a fleeting visit. we will return for longer when we are next in the area. recommended highly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
50
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our first visit to Birnam and Jessie Mac's. It is centrally located and very convenient. The stay was absolutely comfortable with a flexible option for self catering which was great. The facilities have been well thought out for guests to feel at home. The place has been very tastefully done up and has a very cosy, homely feel overall. Hospitality and service were both excellent. Jessie Mac's is also very dog friendly which is a bonus on top of everything else. Dot and Brenda were great hosts who also helped out with any local information that we needed. The costs are very reasonable and it is a great place to have a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Once again we had a fantastic stay at Jessie Mac's. We had booked the whole place and enjoyed a really comfortable stay. Great accommodation, cooking facilities and sitting room. With so much to do in the area Jessie Mac's is a great base. The warm muffins are the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuftheid, Owner at Jessie Mac's, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi girls. Lovely to have you back. Great fun to have as guests as ever. Come back soon. Brenda & Dot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just arrived back from our weekend away in Birnam. Me and my wife and the 2 dogs were warmly welcomed by our hosts. The accommodation was fantastic and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful and meant that we didn't require lunch.
Lots of good walks nearby and we ate at the Birnam Inn for dinner,both nights because it was so good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Received a lovely warm welcome from Dot.Shown to our room on the top floor and all facilities were to our liking.Stayed 3 nights and the Peace and Quiet was just out of this world with our room being at the rear of the premises.The high standard of decoration and cleanliness was a credit to Dot and Brenda.
A fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: The quieter you want it the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 480Lachlan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Stay in many hostels through work and this one is bar far the best I've ever stayed in.

Rooms are spotless, comfortable beds, great linen and towels (free) and with flat screen tvs.

Great big comfy lounge are with cd selection and open fire. Seperate dining are if you choose.

Top marks girls!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keefletrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poolewe, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Warm welcome, excellent facilities, beautifully appointed rooms, spotlessly clean, and tasty breakfast. What a lovely place - we will definitely be back! It was great that we were able to bring our dog and he loved the walk along the river. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuaReidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
1.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
11.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jessie Mac's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jessie Mac's

Property: Jessie Mac's
Address: Murthly Terrace, Birnam PH8 0BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Birnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jessie Mac's you can choose your level of catering at breakfast time from self-catering in the spacious guest kitchen to continental or traditional B&B full breakfast. We have a mix of shared hostel-style rooms, family rooms and private double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jessie Mac's Birnam, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing