We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast ever!”

Birnam Arts and Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Birnam
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Scottish, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Birnam Arts is a not for profit, community owned and run centre in the picturesque village of Birnam in rural Perthshire.We offer theatre, music, comedy, workshops, art exhibitions, conferences, meetings, weddings, parties, community events, community group meetings not to mention our Beatrix Potter exhibition, foyer cafe and gift shop. Open all year round. Breakfasts from 10AM - Noon, Lunches 12-2.30PM
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast ever!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have frequented the Foyer Cafe in Birnam Arts ever since I came here to this area to live in 2008. I highly recommend firstly the Arts Centre because of the varied and highly entertaining shows that Birnam Arts host on an ongoing basis. The theatre, music and films are not to be missed; there's something to suit a wide range of tastes, from children's puppet theatre to Maasai dancers from Kenya.

The Foyer menu is good and I especially recommend their 7-item breakfast, which also makes for a delicious Sunday brunch treat. Portions are quite generous. Their Cafe Latte is prepared using foamed milk instead of cream and I found this did not detract at all from the taste. If you're on a reasonabkle budget, why no try their Soup and a Toastie, or a panini? Splash out if you're in the mood and sample the Scampi, potato wedges and salad. It is challenging to prepare scampi without it tasting rubbery. The Foyer has got it right!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ssshhh! Don't tell anyone.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stumbled across this place by accident and what a find ! A lovely space with a nice feel to it. The cafe is the best bit. It has a modern, attractive range of dishes on the menu to suit most tastes and the quality of the ingredients cannot be faulted.
But don't tell anyone, or we may struggle to get a table next time we visit as we most certainly will. It's worth going to Birnam just to take the opportunity to eat here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Worth stopping for!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely gallery and theatre/performance space.
Food is always good and coffee is great.
Staff are always very welcoming.
Some great music and theatre shows throughout the year, so it is worth checking out what is on at nights.

Helpful?
Thank Soundtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely wee gallery”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the Birnam Hotel across the road. I read Beatrix potter books as a child and was interested to learn more about her life. As an art teacher I also enjoyed the exhibition space upstairs showcasing local artwork. The shop is fantastic, a little on the expensive side but a must for fans of the author. The building itself is impressive, modern but keeping within the natural quaint village feel.

Helpful?
Thank helsbels8644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birnam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good coffee no fuss”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Good coffee, easy parking, no fuss menu and quality food. Tasty granola and bacon sandwich on breakfast menu and good cakes, perfect when meeting friends and work colleagues. Free wifi for customers makes business meetings easy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birnam Arts and Conference Centre also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Birnam Arts and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing