We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Find - Ideal en route to/from St Malo”
Review of Le Vieux Moulin.

Le Vieux Moulin.
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Hede
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
channel islands
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Marvellous Find - Ideal en route to/from St Malo”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My driver was heading determinedly to the drive-in MacDonalds just outside St Malo, which seemed a dreadful waste of our last meal in France before catching the ferry home.
Scanning Tripadvisor in order to avoid the above, I found this restaurant and persuaded him to at least have a look. Situated in La Vallee des Moulins which runs close to the new main road into St Malo, this lovely old inn has an ample car park attached so we felt safe leaving the loaded car there. From the old world exterior you step into cleverly refurbished interior which combines features of the past with a light and agreeable present.
Despite arriving in the middle of Sunday lunch service we were welcomed in an seated at a nice window table. Our meal was delicious - the chef has a light hand and uses good local produce, the staff were charming.
I wish we had had time to explore the rest of the building and see a bedroom but we certainly plan to stay here next time we travel this way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Britannia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quite Simply Outstanding....”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a real gem of a place; a wonderful hotel in the process of being updated by the delightful owners, Fergal and Virginie. Virginie is mostly front of house (with all the other jobs associated therewith) and gives a tremendous warm and friendly welcome. The rooms are light and airy with all the necessary things for a comfortable stay. The high point of this place is the restaurant, under the extreme talent of Fergal, who produces some of the most sublime cooking imaginable. Beautiful little amuses-bouche arrive with pre-dinner drinks, warm crusty bread, excellent mise-en-place with each dish looking a feast for the eyes before you taste the first memorable mouthful. Right up to the last mouthful of the evening, one's palate is being thrilled and surprised with each morsel. Superb! We have stayed here several times now and can't wait to come back for the next visit. Really worth your while stopping here.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professore3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Hanborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“unexpected delight”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

we came across this restaurant on our way back to the ferry after 12 days in France, and were delighted by the quality and value of our lunch. the food was fresh, freshly prepared, exquisitely presented. the service was friendly, perfect English spoken, efficient but not rushed. we were so impressed we made a note to return for a full evening dinner one day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramsay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A fine end to the holiday - or start!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Le Vieux Moulin is perfectly situated en route to/from the Ferry at St Malo and I can thoroughly recommend it as a stop-over place to rest and enjoy a good evening meal. The hotel is being refurbished and the new rooms are looking great. The restaurant has retained its old charm and the menu continues to deliver on quality and value. There is also a nice patio/garden area at the back to enjoy a quiet read in the sun with a G & T, while planning the route to the sun...or the return to the clouds! JLR Score 35/50

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoseRomanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channhel Islands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, great service & great hospitality”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We received a very warm welcome on our arrival. As we were staying overnight, we were shown to our room, which was bright, light and airy. Complimentary wifi was also very welcome.

Pre dinner drinks were served with some complimentary nibbles, which was a nice touch.

The food here is just amazing. Just €25 for 5 courses and some of the most amazing food I've tasted. In our view we were served Michelin Star quality food for the price.

Needless to say, we highly recommend this fine stablishment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJB26210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Vieux Moulin. also viewed

Tinteniac, Ille-et-Vilaine
Tinteniac, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Hede, Ille-et-Vilaine
Hede, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le Vieux Moulin.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing