We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a sunday carvery not to be beaten”

Brockie's Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiltarlity
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brockie's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kiltarlity B&B and Inns
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a sunday carvery not to be beaten”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

every year on our holiday in Scotland we visit Brockies Lodge for a meal, this year our party numbered 15 including family and friends, so we booked into Brockies for Sunday Carvery, phew, we walked in and waddled out, the food was fantastic, the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, once again we were not disappointed, what a great place for a fantatsic family lunch

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    9
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

... stopped off for a bite to eat last weekend on way further north and had a really decent feed. Meats were welll cooked and veg was wonderfully fresh tasting, good service and reasonably priced. We'd put this above the standard pub grub bracket, but not quite into gastropub (not that it's a bad thing), it just seems that they do what they do well. We'll stop back here on the way back down on friday. Can't go wrong really, give it a go!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were out the other side of Inverness from normal and had a voucher for a free main at Brockie's Lodge so thought we'd give it a try. Quiet when we arrived, only two other tables being seated, but a wedding was due to sit down in about 45 minutes. Pleasant service from the staff and a varied menu with plenty to choose from.

The food didn't stand out but neither was there anything to complain about. The portions were however good sized.

Service dropped off a bit when the wedding guests (30 or so?) arrived and the hall/door you leave the hotel/restaurant from goes through the edge of the conservatory where the wedding party were. The hall was packed with the wedding guests and you had to push through them to get to the wedding guests in the conservatory prior to being able to leave. Anyone arriving for a meal only at that stage would have been put off and just turned about.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellERennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great value on a Groupon voucher, but would happily return as good enough value anyway. Tasty and filling fish and chips/ partner steak pie . Ideal for a chilly day. Comfortable surroundings and very friendly service. Not pretentious or haut cuisine- just good food, well presented.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docrioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Four of us decided to go for an evening meal based on good recommendations. The staff couldnt have been more friendly however, the food was a disgrace. The steak and haggis pie was extremely watery or swimming in grease. The medium steak looked grey in colour as though it had been boiled in hot water. The beef burger looked the part but was full of grizzle and very dry. I ordered the macaroni which also looked the part but there was no cheese taste at all. The chips were obviously frozen bulk bought chips which is all good and well in certain places at certain prices, but for four starters and four main courses, almost cost almost £80 which we felt was way to high for the standard of food. Such a shame when there are so many good reviews, but on reading them, there couldnt be more of a contrast. We wont be wasting our money there again im afraid. We all left feeling very dissapointed.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Food was yummy and great value on a groupon deal. Not sure what regular prices are like but it seemed like there must ve a deal for pensioners as they made up vast majority of people there. The steak and haggis pie was really tasty and we left full!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank laurenzo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We decided to eat out and we chose the Brockies Lodge, it was the first time we had visited despite being fairly local and we were very pleased.
Despite not having booked, we didnt have to wait too long for a table despite the restaurant being fairly busy.
There was a good choice on the menu, something to suit all tastes and the food was delicious and portions were large.
Service was very good and the waitresses were all very pleasant and couldnt do enough.
Only slight disapointment was the cheesecake on the special which was a bit on the runny side, I still managed to eat it all though hehe.
Well worth a visit, we will definately be back SOON. well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brockie's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockie's Lodge Hotel

Property: Brockie's Lodge Hotel
Address: Kiltarlity, Kiltarlity IV4 7HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Kiltarlity
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kiltarlity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brockie's Lodge Hotel Kiltarlity, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing