We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brockies Lodge”

Brockie's Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiltarlity
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brockie's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kiltarlity B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a great time at brockies lodge. The rooms were nice and tidy and the owner and staff were very friendly to us. Also, the breakfast was really nice. The owner even gave us a free ride back to our car which was parked about half an hour drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 194Travelling86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed one night and must say the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Will stay again next time I'm in the area. Really nice bar and chatty bar staff. It makes a stay worthwhile when the hotel is friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert444888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

called in here purely because they have a new chef,who makes the biggest Yorkshire puddings ive ever seen ,i have to say the food was out of this world and the service could not be faulted,it was a Saturday evening and the place was heaving,even old colin had a smile on his face(you have to take him with a pinch of salt apparently) the waiting staff were fantastic,and after bumping into the chef in the hallway(David) he explained the magic behind his huge yorkies,we will certainly be back,and will tell all our friends brockies is the place to go,where ever this chef left to come here,must be cursing because his food was excellent,we will return soon.

Room Tip: didn't stay at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After a not so warm welcome by a staff member, a brief chance to mention we had a reservation for 7pm and a previous phone call to the hotel we were promptly advised to "get a menu" & sit in the bar because they were "very busy" and our table was probably not ready yet. There was also an ignorant comment made about the fact we called the hotel for a taxi number prior to arrival - what do they expect, we are tourist's!
We decided to let it go and went into the bar for a drink. On the second attempt of trying to be served we were greeted by an elderly male member of staff, who in the process of being disreapectful to another colleague said to us 'what do you want?' in a very unfriendly manner might I add. It was at this point we decided we were not going to stand for the rediculous customer service and excuses of being "too busy", which might I add was a complete exaggeration.
I thought customer service was paramount whilst working in hospitality - obviously doesn't apply to some people.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KB2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie S, Owner at Brockie's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

First of all I should say how sorry we are that your experience of Brockies was not as we would have hoped for. However, I feel I have to make a few comments starting with your interpretation of "too busy" as this was an unusual night with a completely unexpected influx of customers exasperating a situation where we were short of staff due to illness and holidays and had only two waiting staff available, one of whom is a trainee with only three weeks experience. On the night we served in excess of eighty meals with no other unfavourable comment. For two people to do this I would say is good going.
I, personally, took the call regarding the taxi and arranged for the party to be picked up but on calling back to inform them this had been done I got no reply having said previously I would call back. Had I been able to make contact I had intended to inform the customer of the situation at the hotel and that there may be a short wait for their table. Taxi driver also got no reply.
This review should be read in conjunction with previous "Don't go here" as they are quite obviously written by the same people.
While there can be no excuse for any rudeness I am certain that if customers had stayed they would have thoroughly enjoyed their meal as did all the other diners on the night.
James P - Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We went in here today to book a table for night, for four people at 7pm. When we went in we was rudely spoken to. We arrived in the evening a bit early for our table to be told that they was really busy, we went to get a drink, where the bar man said do yous want something or not, we was all completely mortified and decidied to leave. We heard the way the waiting staff was talking to other tables and was again mortified. Don't go here if you are looking for a relaxing atmoshphere and a few drinks with friends. We was just visting the area and sadly this didn't make us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A very run down property . Public rooms ok but guests areas shabby . Carpets greasy with dirt in the Guests area . Our bedroom was over the kitchen which left the room smelling . The paper was grubby and that on the ceiling was split on the joint and the paper needed repainting . TV only had one channel and when asked we were told we were lucky but we could watch the TV in the bar if that was working . Shower door didn't close and sink leaked flooding the bathroom where the flooring didn't fit and rose in the middle . To end it all there were dirty clothes left in drawers from previous occupants . Food was OK but staff took 3 attempts to bring us our breakfast . In the end they brought everything on the wrong plates and another plate held stuff they couldn't remember where it was to go . Dreadful ! It's not cheap ! Don't waste your money there must be far better in the area .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went on a Sunday and we had a choice of the traditional carvery or items off the set menu. The carvery was a very generous helping and mostly OK. However, the salmon linguine was terrible. It was a mountain of spaghetti (not linguine) which had been obviously cooked in the water from the carvery vegetables. There was an overpowering flavour of carrot in them and small fragments of broccoli and carrot in it. The sauce was overly sweet and was just dolloped at the side of the plate, rather than over the pasta. The salmon was covered in charred bits that looked like it had come out of a dirty frying pan.

The desserts were part of the carvery and they had not replenished the dish, so we were given the scrapings of the pudding which were tiny portions.

It wasn't too expensive, but there are far better places to go for lunch locally if you drive a little further afield.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brockie's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockie's Lodge Hotel

Address: Kiltarlity, Kiltarlity IV4 7HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Kiltarlity
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kiltarlity
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brockie's Lodge Hotel Kiltarlity, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing