We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous night away!”
Review of Arkell House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arkell House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and I went to stay for a night on Rathlin Island and chose Arkell House. We stayed in the top bedroom suite which had beautiful views of the harbour and a telescope which was fun! The room was absolutely beautiful with an extremely comfortable wrought iron bed, duck feather duvet (bliss!) and beautiful antique style en suite. Hilary and Alan were most welcoming and we got a delicious homemade breakfast in the morning. Will definately be returning and would recommend to others!

Room Tip: The top bedroom suite is very spacious with beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cee-jay-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

From the moment I made the booking over the phone to the minute we left on the ferry our hosts Hilary and Alan made myself, my sister and my friend feel so welcome. This wasn't just a B&B, it was a beautiful guesthouse in the true sense of the word where we were treated like special guests but also like friends. We joined the other guests for a delicious home cooked evening meal. Alan and Hilary couldn't do enough for us. They adapted to our needs and our timetable which allowed us to make the most of our short stay on beautiful Rathlin. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The room was spacious and beautifully decorated in our hosts individual style with a wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at Arkell House. Hilary and Alan are really excellent hosts; warm, friendly and really welcoming. The room was perfect, food was delicious and you get a real feel for island life staying in their home. This is what staying in a B & B should be like.
Rathlin is a must see for everyone - it is absolutely stunning and if you are going to go, I recommend you here. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosieposiepud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

With only a 100 inhabitants stay overnight on this beautiful island and after the last ferry has left, have the whole island for yourself to explore and enjoy. Arkell House is a very nice house on walking distance from the harbour and hostess/owner Hillary is most willing to pick you up from the ferry. We stayed in the turret room with windows on all sides, spectacular view (and telescope in the room). Besides being most friendly, knowing everything about and everyone (ok that last part is not too difficult) on the island, Hillary is also a great cook! Out of season with no place to go for dinner on the island (but always something to get at the nearby cafe) she can make you a fabulour dinner and/or picknick basket. If you're not looking for a B&B ask Hillary if you can rent one of her gorgeous cottages which are scattered over the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3511nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My sister and I stayed in Arkell House for two nights , and the one downside was that we couldn't stay for longer. The room was beautiful , and Alan and Hilary treated us more as friends than paying guests. After a real disappointment with food at McCuaig's Bar on Saturday evening , Hilary cooked us a delicious meal on our second evening. (She also provided a plate of fresh salmon sandwiches for us to come back to on the Saturday evening.We will definitely be back , and for longer next time , the welcome and service we received was second to none.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eviegorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SybilleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Arkell House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkell House B&B

Address: Arkell House B&B Rathlin Island 1 Church Bay Rathlin Island, Rathlin Island BT54 6SA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Rathlin Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathlin Island
Price Range: £65 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arkell House B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arkell House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkell House B&B Rathlin Island, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing