We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class weekend”
Review of Arkell House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arkell House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Beautiful accommodation in a stunning location with gorgeous food and first class hosts!! Only thing they cannot guarantee is the weather lol!! The hospitality is second to none! Wonderful relaxing weekend where Alan and Hilary treat you like long lost friends!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fionaaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for one night at Arkell B & B after reading the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed! Hilary and Alan were exceptional hosts. From the first telephone conversation with Hilary when making the booking, we were made to feel like welcome guests. Hilary met us from the ferry and invited us to relax outside and take in the views of the hub of the island. The B&B is next door to the pub and opposite where the ferry docks. It is also just beside the tearooms, shop and chip shop (none of which seemed to be open during our stay). Hilary returned with tea, fresh baked scone bread and homemade jam and she and Alan filled us in on the history of the island over a couple of pots of tea, introducing us to locals and guests who passed by.

We set of in the early afternoon to explore the island by bike. Rathlin is really accessible on foot or by bike and we rarely met anyone as we visited the three lighthouses at each corner of the island, some ruins, the bird sanctuary (unfortunately closed for the season), spotted some sunbathing seals, visited the two churches and enjoyed a picnic lunch.

We had preordered dinner at the B&B and enjoyed a three course homemade meal with wine at a very reasonable price before taking a walk along the shore and heading for a pint in the local bar which was reasonably busy but lacked both atmosphere and entertainment.

We stayed in the 'suite' on the top floor which we would highly recommend. It was really spacious and tastefully decorated with a really comfortable iron framed bad, sitting area with telescope to take in the fantastic views. It also boasted an ensuite antique bathroom suite with a separate shower room which had an impressively powerful shower.

It was lovely to wake up to beautiful views out of the many windows in our room the next morning and enjoy breakfast in the kitchen/dining room as Hilary chatted to us while preparing it.

The experience of staying at Arkell B&B is what a real B&B should be like - warm, friendly hosts who enhance you stay with their knowledge of the island, great food and a comfortable room with scenic views right on the doorstep of everything Rathlin has to offer. Although none of the local ammenities were open, as long as you are aware of this, we would recoommend Rathlin for a day trip off season and if you are lucky enough to stay over for a night or two, don't stay anywhere except Arkell B&B! We plan to go back in the new year and are also buying a voucher as a birthday gift for a friend.

Room Tip: book the suite for the lovely decor, beautiful views and your own antique en suite with power shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I arrived on Rathlin with nowhere to stay... Hilary and Alan really did look after us. Although they were fully booked, they still went out of their way to get us somewhere to camp, provided a beautiful breakfast, borrow books and all sorts! My wife and I really enjoyed their hospitality and their wealth of knowledge of the island. We have returned many times and still receive a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denver50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Had a great nights stay. Hilary and Alan are great to stay with the rooms are great and the breakfast was fab homemade bread and jams ceral and a fry couldn't have asked for better. If you want to know anything about the island ask Hilary or Alan they both know the history and paths of island and are lovely people to talk to will deff b back next year

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for one night with our 2 children and it exceeded our expectations. Amazing hosts, beautiful room and superb food. Alan and Hilary were great with our kids, had a brilliant knowledge of the island and had great stories to tell over a glass of wine after a delicious home cooked evening meal. It is worth a trip to the island just to stay at Arkell House.
Hopefully we will be back soon.
Aine and Brian

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and I went to stay for a night on Rathlin Island and chose Arkell House. We stayed in the top bedroom suite which had beautiful views of the harbour and a telescope which was fun! The room was absolutely beautiful with an extremely comfortable wrought iron bed, duck feather duvet (bliss!) and beautiful antique style en suite. Hilary and Alan were most welcoming and we got a delicious homemade breakfast in the morning. Will definately be returning and would recommend to others!

Room Tip: The top bedroom suite is very spacious with beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cee-jay-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

From the moment I made the booking over the phone to the minute we left on the ferry our hosts Hilary and Alan made myself, my sister and my friend feel so welcome. This wasn't just a B&B, it was a beautiful guesthouse in the true sense of the word where we were treated like special guests but also like friends. We joined the other guests for a delicious home cooked evening meal. Alan and Hilary couldn't do enough for us. They adapted to our needs and our timetable which allowed us to make the most of our short stay on beautiful Rathlin. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The room was spacious and beautifully decorated in our hosts individual style with a wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathlin Island
6.3 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
703 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
300 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#16 of 24 in Ballycastle
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Arkell House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkell House B&B

Address: Arkell House B&B Rathlin Island 1 Church Bay Rathlin Island, Rathlin Island BT54 6SA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Rathlin Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathlin Island
Price Range: £64 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arkell House B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arkell House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkell House B&B Rathlin Island, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing