We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantactic skiing Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantactic skiing Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The location of the chalet is very good for skiing. The transportation to the slopes is very flexible, we were able to start each day from different locations and therefore ski the vast area the lift pass covers. The accomodation is extremely good and the catering was exceptional. We enjoyed our afternoon tea and cake when we returned from skiing.
Mark, Emma. Tom and Nicky made us feel very welcome. The hot tub was an added bonus!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamL505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We just loved this friendly and cosy chalet. The challenge was to get my husband back loving skiing again and it didn't fail to deliver!

Everything was organised very well right from the initial email. The chalet was very clean, with a large pretty room with balcony. Probably the best thing was the fabulous food...no 19 year old would-rather-be-out-partying chalet girl here. Tom and Nicky obviously have a lot of pride in their food, and it far exceeded our expectations. Every single 3 course meal (and the wine) was delicious. Nicky also makes a different cake for afternoon tea after a hard day on the slopes. Breakfast were great too, with a wide range of options.

Emma and Mark couldn't be more welcoming and helpful, chauffeuring us wherever we needed to go, and mealtimes were always flexible and friendly.

It was perfect for anyone: a couple, a group (am sure it would be very fun to ale the whole chalet), and older and younger people alike. The only downside might be if you were hoping to go out to après ski into the small hours, then you would need a taxi home, but in our case it wasn't an issue. The team can pick you up after a few drinks off the slopes too...at which point you could slip into the hot tub to relax.

We thoroughly enjoyed it and would really recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

A mixed group of 8 friends stayed here for 4 nights over a long weekend in March. The whole booking process was straightforward and it was possible to get the accomodation, lift passes, ski hire and transfers all sorted out with no fuss at all and at competitive prices, communications from Emma were excellent.
We were a little worried that we were slightly out of the main resort area, but that soon faded when we realised the superb convenience of being chauffered right to the lift in the morning and picked up from apres ski in the evening, we hardly had to walk anywhere with our ski gear and we could choose our lifts in the morning, this was a revelation and I will be looking for this in the future.
The accomodation was a lovely old quirky building with tons of character, all the rooms were of an excellent size with good bathroom facilities, the beds were comfy and the bedding of excellent quality the fluffy towels and bathrobes just adding to the whole quality experience. Lounge was of a good size and downstairs there was also a games room with pool and darts which was excellent fun keeping us amused on the quieter nights we stayed in. It was great to have an honesty bar where we could just grab a beer or soft drink for a very reasonable amount.
So we get onto the food service, this really was great, the breakfasts were comprehensive, fresh croissants, fresh bread, cereals, juice, coffee and freshly prepared bacon and eggs every morning.
There was some cake every day when we returned and the evening meal was sublime, high quality food, just the right amount, salmon en croute was my favourite and some excellent desserts like the red berry pavlova. The wine that came with the meal was also very enjoyable.
The hot tub was also the best way to relax after a hard days skiing and we made good use of it another thoughtful feature in an excellent chalet.
We all agreed that if we come to the Portes du Aoleil area again the first place we will be looking to book is La Veille Ferme as we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the excellent service provided by the owners and the chalet hosts made the holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Staying in La Vieille Ferme was just perfect. Mark, Emma, Nicky and Tom all made us feel so welcome and catered brilliantly for us in every way. A fantastic place for a family, with adjoining rooms, and well thought out. Ski hire, passes all sorted for when we arrived. Food fantastic, hot tub great fun and amazing location for a lot of skiing in the surrounding area. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelsCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

7 of us stayed here for 4 days from 7th February. Mark & Emma were so helpful and happy to sort out transfers to the slopes at times to suit us - still smiling when we were an hour late for our pick up! We thoroughly recommend it, just wish it was ski in ski out. Tom & Nicky's food and hospitality was also great - thank you

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere for a week around Christmas 2012 and had a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were nice, the bathrooms were nice, the lounge area was nice and the food was excellent. The kids (young and old) enjoyed the games room. It was great to be transported directly to the slopes and to be collected (at a flexible time) later in the day. Plus the skiing areas accessible are many and varied. Good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentoopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I have stayed at La Vieille Ferme on a number of occasions over the past three years, sometimes with my boyfriend and sometimes with friends. Living in Geneva it really is the perfect location to come for a short stay and enjoy the weekends either skiing (in winter) or mountain biking (in summer).

Mark and Emma are fantastic hosts. They make sure everything is perfect. The rooms are really cosy, perfectly clean and comfy. The food, whether it be afternoon tea or a delicious three course meal, is always absolutely delicious. Mealtimes provide a lovely opportunity to meet other guests & get to know your hosts; Mark, Emma, Tom & Nicky.

Alpine Adventure always make our trips totally stress free, helping us organize ski hire which is delivered to the door and kindly transfer us to the slopes & back each day. The hot tub is a wonderful place to relax and unwind after skiing and is perfectly complimented with relaxing afterwards with a glass of wine in front of the fire in the cosy sitting room.

La Vieille Ferme really is a perfect find. I look forward to many more stays in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmilyRWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Jean d'Aulps
5.9 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chalet Philibert
Chalet Philibert
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Sapins
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere

Property: La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere
Address: 856 route de la Moussiere D en Haut | Near to Morzine, 74430 Saint Jean d'Aulps, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint Jean d'Aulps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Vieille Ferme De La Moussiere France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing