We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere
Nearby Hotels
Chalet Shufu(Saint Jean d'Aulps)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet la Moussiere(Saint Jean d'Aulps)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
78
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpine adventuresgreat fooda hard day's skiinghot tubgreat hostsmemorable holidaylift passeswhole teamowners and staffchalet hostson arrivalcourse meallook no furthershort staybooking processfamily and friendscouldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were recommended La Vieille Ferme by another chalet company. We had a fab stay and all the owners and staff made us feel extremely welcome and really looked after us. Every detail was sorted out from our ski hire when we got there, through to great food in the evening, bubbly in the hot-tub on our first night and to very clean and spacious rooms. I was a little concerned when we booked about not being near the slopes but Mark it actually works out well with Mark on hand to drop you when and where you want (and pick you up from a pre-arranged bar) so we got to ski several different ski areas without walking anywhere in our boots! Definitely looking at going back next year. Its a real owner led company and that shines through in the service provided.

Room Tip: Emma showed us all the rooms and they all looked really lovely and spacious so you can't really go wrong.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our second time visiting. Chalet is spacious, clean and the service provided by Mark, Emma,Dawn and Dougal was fab. Food was exceptional - I ended up putting on weight instead of loosing a few pounds! Wine was good & the boys loved their meals and both Dawn and Dougal were very attentive to our needs. We had the lovely Evian room, with view of the mountain and the boys' room (aged 10, 7 and 5) was adjoining with their own en suite. We didn't use the hot tub as mainly had nice hot baths to relax tired legs. The boys loved the CD collections - (Happy Gilmore and 007 films) and made great use of the pool table. I woudl definatley recommend this chalet to anyone, but perhaps not for those looking for a 'mad' lively trip. Would def also recommend the service provided by Door Step Ski Hire as very handy to have gear delivered to chalet. We would consider going back for a 3rd time as Les Gets / Morzine is just great for families, with great skiing, but I would also like to try something else. Who knows I may end up booking for a 3rd year as it is hard to beat - good food, wine, service, clean accommodation, friendly hosts (without being too familiar), and also good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmadbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here Saturday to Thursday in January. From start to finish our group of 6 workmates were treated to high quality service in a friendly and caring environment. Nothing's too much trouble for all of the team and the skiing was expansive and high quality. It's the second time i've been here and we've already booked the group trip for next year as well as looking to take family there during the summer. This is a gem of a holiday destination and my only concern is that when reviewing such a flawless experience everyone will rush to book it and we'll have a job getting in! You will not be disappointed...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This chalet is amazing and its ownersand staff can't do enough for you. It is a picture book chalet, with amazing large rooms, hot tub, fantastic food and wonderful. The team, Emma, Mark, Dawn and Dougal could not do enough to ensure we had a perfect holiday - whilst juggling a 6 week old baby (whom we never saw/heard unless we asked!)

The flexibility they offer is perfect for a family - our son (9) made friends with the other children in the chalet and spent a lot of time having fun in the play room so we had timeto relax as adults as well as family time. Children could eat earlier at 6pm or at 7pm with us - and this could be agreed on a day by day basis - which meant we could plan based on tiredness etc.

On Christmas day they made dinner earlier for us so we could all eat with our children earlier - such thoughtfullness just comes naturally to them.

The food was totally fantastic, and where people had special requirements, the alternatives appeared wihtout any need for prompting. There wasn't a day where the food wasn't brilliant and the great wine that came with dinner just kepy being refilled by magic!

Waking up in the morning to the smell of freshly cooked croissants really didnt help the waist line but the personal drop off and pick up at any ski lift in the area made working it off easy. The ski areas, at different levels, meant there was great skiing and lots of snow as well.

We stayed in the two double rooms, with our son having his own room, and these were amazing. I would go so far as to say the most comfortable beds we have stayed in away from home.

The whole holiday was so easy from booking, with airport transfers, ski lesson bookings, ski and boot hire to the door, all being arranged by Emma. if you are looking for a great family base (or couples/friends) you need look no further - ever again!

I can't recommend this chalet enough - it was so great we had already booked our return Christmas trip before we left!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You will be hard pushed to find a better chalet any where, Mark & Emma will make you feel most welcome and at home. Comfort, good food and great organisation of lift passes, lessons and transfers Airport and daily around the Portes Soleil area.
We will be visiting again.

Room Tip: They are all super
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews