We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real find - beautiful Chalet in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Beinn

Summer at Chalet Beinn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer at Chalet Beinn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Summer at Chalet Beinn
Kitchen
Fireplace
Dining Area
Room 2
Room 3
Room 4
Room 5
Floorplan
TV Room
TV Room
Local abbey
Living Area
Garden
Dinner at home
Guest PC
Ski Locker
Entrance Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint Jean d'Aulps, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
galwaygir...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real find - beautiful Chalet in a great location”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I spent a week in Chalet Beinn in December 2012, and absolutely loved it.

Very clean, bright, open house - there were 10 in our party and we had loads of room whether we wanted to sit together at the table or in the lounge area, or go off for some quiet time in front of the TV... The bedrooms were bright and airy and all en-suite. We hit the jackpot getting a downstairs bedroom with an en-suite with a bath, which was brilliant for aching muscles after a day skiing.

There's a bus to Morzine about a 3 minute walk away or the village is just a 5/7 minute walk in the other direction. It was a great location as Saint Jean D’Aulph had some great restaurants and the pubs were quieter than Morzine (which is great if that’s what you want!) – it’s worth walking down in the morning to pick up the Choc au Pains for breakfast and you’ll have a choice of patisseries for that (Le Petit Mitron was the most popular with us).

The kitchen is large and had everything we needed like pots and utensils - we actually ended up eating in most nights and taking it in turns to cook, as the living space was very sociable... There were books, board games and DVDs left for us but we spent a few evenings just sitting by the fire with wine and chatting – 10 people were easily accommodated and it was very relaxing as everyone was exhausted from skiing all day... I’d say it’s gorgeous in the summer just sitting around in the sunshine!

We got from Geneva airport to via Skiidy Gonzales which was a great service but in hindsight we should have hired a car as there were so many lovely villages around us would have been great to go sight-seeing a few days and it would probably have been easier transporting skis & boots to the piste everyday. There was also a huge Carrefour just a few miles away on the road to Morzine but luckily other people in the chalet had a car for grocery shopping.

We’d no issues at all with booking - it was very easy and professional. The place was spotless and no-one in our party had any complaints or gripes at all.

Chalet Beinn was really spacious and everyone was happy with their rooms & the location. The place was warm and welcoming with a homely feeling and was lovely to come back to in the evening. I’m glad we booked Chalet Beinn as it was very luxurious compared to similarly priced chalets – overall it exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood fire in the living area, the kitchen, the den upstairs
Liked least: Nothing really, but should have hired a car to make more of the area.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVcouple
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay with a group”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in January in Chalet Beinn as part of a group. We were staying for a shorter time than rest of group who arrived before us. We used Skiidy Gonzales bus transfer to get to the chalet and were really impressed with the door to door service (also note there is 10% discount for Skiidy on Chalet Beinn’s website). We arrived to the chalet and felt at home immediately (due in no small part to the roaring fire the rest of our party had going!). The kitchen/dining/sitting room area felt so cosy and was bright, warm and welcoming. Our room was upstairs and we were pleasantly surprised with the en-suite and the large double bed. This was one of the beds that is joined in middle but unlike other places we’ve stayed before there was no gap in the bed and a very comfortable nights sleep was had. Our en suite had a shower but had we wanted to use it, one of the rooms had a bath in their en suite. The kitchen was very well equipped and had a great gas cooker/electric oven as well as toaster, microwave, dishwasher etc. There was more than enough cutlery, glasses, plates etc for everyone (group of 10). The bar was a lovely touch too and the separate fridge in this area was very handy for beer etc so meant the fridge-freezer in the kitchen could be used for just foodstuffs. Although the full group of 10 adults used all 5 bedrooms in the chalet, it never felt crowed as each room has its own en-suite & there are a few different living spaces to use. There are plenty of books, board games & DVDs if you need a break from the skiing, but we mostly used the large table to socialise around. Other handy facilities were the wi-fi, desktop PC & separate ski locker. Looking our the balcony you also have a good view of the slopes so can judge the weather ahead of you for the day.
As we had no car we relied on public transport to a degree and the chalet was very handy in this regard too – just a 3 minute walk to the bus stop that is near the Abbey (note the bus stop is about 200 yards further on from main abbey entrance). The buses stopped here on average every hour and a half (and were always on time) and took you into Morzine for just 2 euro (a mulitpass of sorts can be got at tourist office that gives discount if you buy multiple tickets). There was another bus that went from tourist office St Jean D’Aulps (5-10 minute walk) but we tended to take the bus that was closer. There are a few restaurant and bar options (all very good) and there is bakery, mini Carrefour etc so you can get pretty much all you want in the village itself. There is a larger Carrefour just a few minutes further on from St Jean D’Aulps as you go towards Morzine.
You can get your skis delivered and collected directly from chalet with doorstep skis and again we availed of this service. They were a little slow in arriving but the service was very good overall.
All in all we found the Chalet more than met our needs and one could feel immediately comfortable there. We are planning a trip back there again next year. We will probably use a car then as while it is more than manageable with public transport, it is easier with skis to have a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy overall feel
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali T
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second stay, just as good as I remembered”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

First stayed at Chalet Beinn over Christmas 2011, and was very impressed with both the location and the quality of the accomodation.
Christmas ski holidays can be difficult to organise for a large group, but the owner made it a very smooth and simple process from enquiry through booking, and was also willing to answer any questions we had before travelling. Owner was able to offer recommendations for reliable transfer companies, ski hire locations etc which is very useful for anyone who hasn't been to the area before.
The chalet had been decorated for christmas with a tree, and for self catering groups the kitchen had everything needed to cook large christmas meal for big group.

Returning this year was an easy decision after such a good holiday the first time.
The chalet is perfect for a large group; clean with all the comforts of home, rooms are all en suite and can be set up as twin or doubles, never any problems over sufficient hot water at the end of a day on the slopes, the large open dining area has plenty of space for eating and socialising, convenient for ski bus should you not have your own transport, television area for relaxing, ski locker to keep all equipment safe and out the road.

St Jean D'Auld itself is a lovely town, with options for eating out and shops for buying in food/drink. There is a ski area very close to the town, and easy access to the larger Porte Du Soleil region through a short bus/drive to Morzine. The region is suitable for all standards of ski and snowboarding, with plenty of variety.

Would highly recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open dining area with wood fire
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the holiday
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Communication with owner; open plan living area in the chalet
Liked least: The smell of tartiflette in some of the restaurants....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$177
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing