We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tavern
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surigao City
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here one night as I missed my boat to Dinagat island. Had a lunch here. Nice menu at a reasonable price. Room was ok. Only down side for me was that the room had a single bed. Not slept in one of thesed for a longtime. Always felt I was going to fall out. Breakfast buffet was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    62
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
36
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel is located on the Surigao foreshore beach road. Front lobby overlooks the bay, nearby islands and fishing boats. Hotel lobby and reception area look great with friendly welcoming staff and reception personnel. Check in is a fairly smooth process. Hotel rooms are newer above the reception than on the far wing. Far wing rooms are fairly dated with very noisy air conditioners and old bathroom facilities. Hotel rooms above the reception feel much fresher and have been renovated. Water facing rooms are quite noisy during the night due to the revving motorbikes up/down the drag strip. Hotel provides free WIFI but coverage is ordinary and only works well in or above reception reception area. Restaurant menu and breakfast selections are both great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The facilities and restaurants were great. The price was affordable and there is great value in it. The help staff was friendly and very accomodating. However, the office staff was not so friendly. When we had questions regarding our stay, they were smiling but not forthcoming with the information. I felt as if we were getting in the way of their daily routine.

I manage a team in a customer service field and can tell when staff are just trying to get you out of their hair and when staff are really into helping out.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean. Pay extra and get a beautiful view of the sea and townsfolk. Be ready t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jking2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isladiver, Owner at Hotel Tavern, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your keen review, particularly on the service standard at the Front Desk. We do have a guest relations desk but that too may have not provided you enough information that you needed. We have made adjustments, and can assure you of a better reception during your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surigao City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

the hotel is 5-10 minutes away from the airport, it is situated near the sea thus whenever i book in this hotel i always reserved the room with a sea view balcony. the lobby where the reception is, is very spacious, the staff at the reception booth are quite friendly however, when multiple clients are in order, they cant handle it all well. the room is clean and neat and well maintained the only thing that made me angry is when i requested a dish-out it took them the next day to get the said dish out of my room! but its good to note that i had a good night sleep. the bathroom/comfort room is spacious and provided with toiletries. the room rate is affordable and the buffet breakfast is a good one, more variety of food to choose from. the hotel is near the surigao city pier. the hotel restaurant is just fine with me.

Room Tip: booked the rooms with sea view dont ever consider booking the rooms with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Location: Quite far from the airport but very near to the city, market and very accessible to public transportation.

Ambiance: A 5-star Hotel-look alike lobby with narrow space following to the reception. Great access to restaurant, elevators.

Hotel service: Limited time offer only, if you are in a hurry and has no prior reservation - not reliable. Better take a public transport to take you in your next destination.

Rooms: Take the one with balcony seaside view - so you will see the nearby islands at sunrise and sunset. Although, toilet and bath did not have complete set of a woman's need - like lotion, shower gel and conditioner, they should have this next time as an added value to guests.

Staff: Very nice, ladies keep on smiling even I have few additional requests to ask. Just need to have more trainings in knowing the nearby places in Surigao. Happened to visit the tourism office to inquire.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhengArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombes, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Despite that the lobby is new and modern, everything in the rooms (furnitures, bathroom, even towels) is dilapidated. The standard room is very small and the suite not well arranged.
The window was not even closing well, so you can here everybody and all motorcycles passing in the street.
No fridge / safe deposit having. You can also let your passports at the reception but no space for cameras / electronics.

Cockroaches seen in the lobby and the bathroom.

Cocktails at the bar are awful !

Positive side: Location in the city center and sea view. Breakfast buffet is fine and changing everyday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tibo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff and they find ways to make their guests satisfied,contented,happy, feels like home..they treat their guest special like me...i really cant forget the staff in this hotel.unlike other hotels they dont care what they feel to their guest.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surigao City
2.2 mi away
Parkway Hotel Surigao
Parkway Hotel Surigao
#2 of 5 in Surigao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Philippine Gateway Hotel
Philippine Gateway Hotel
#3 of 5 in Surigao City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
42.5 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.3 mi away
Go Hotels Butuan
Go Hotels Butuan
#2 of 8 in Butuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Almont Beach Resort
Almont Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in Surigao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Surigao Tourist Inn
Surigao Tourist Inn
#11 of 16 in Surigao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tavern

Property: Hotel Tavern
Address: Borromeo St. | Surigao Boulevard, Surigao City, Mindanao 8400, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Surigao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surigao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tavern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern, as it was formerly called, is now Hotel Tavern Surigao. The name Hotel Tavern Surigao serves to unite both the rich history and modern purpose of the hotel. The new Tavern, located at the scenic boulevard, is the premier hotel of Surigao. New structures are slowly being constructed to anticipate the modern Surigaonon life. While new foundations are being built, Hotel Tavern rekindles its role as the place to be when in Surigao, whether its guests come for business or pleasure. With its efforts to keep up with the times, its goal in comfort is to please each guest. It aims to host the creation of new wonderful memories through the quality of service all guests richly deserve. Hotel Tavern Surigao remains to be the only high-class and full-service business hotel in Surigao that has well-trained staff, buffet breakfast, restaurant and cafe, glass elevator, fire-emergency spray system, guarded parking, function rooms of all sizes, free wireless internet, and free airport service. In 2013 we are developing our valet car service and upgrading our free wireless internet to be accessible in all our rooms and function areas-all designed to better serve your business needs. We continue to be the pioneer in hotel services in Surigao. The hotel is poised to take her place as the premier hotel of Surigao - not only its first and favorite, but also becoming its finest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing