We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Town”
Review of Hotel Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tavern
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surigao City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is, far and away, the best hotel in Surigao City. Very well kept, clean with good amenities, including a personal safe in each room. The location is excellent, overlooking the ocean right on the "boulevard," Surigao's most colorful night time walking street. Live music nightly at the club next door. Also, Tavern has a very nice American and Filipino-style breakfast every morning included with your room. My only complaint is about the Wi-Fi which, though it generally works in the lobby, can be spotty in the rooms. On our most recent visit it seemed to have improved somewhat, so maybe they are working on it.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to sounds at night, get a room on the city-side of the hotel facing away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The plan was to venture from Cagayan de Oro City to Siargao Island. Since, we were told that there would be no more ferry trips in the afternoon (all trips are from 5:30am to 12:30pm) to the said island, we come up with the idea of staying in Surigao City for a night. My boyfriend stayed at Hotel Tavern before while i heard a lot about it from my friend who always travel within northeast of Mindanao. She highly recommended this place because of its ambiance and the amazing balcony facing the open waters or what they call the sea view balcony.
On our way to Surigao City, we were trying to book online (agoda.com) but due to some technical problems, we were unable to successfully booked ourselves. when we reached the place, the front desk told us that there were a bit difference with the rates online and the walk in bookings (maybe because of promo rates). Since my boyfriend wants to book online, they let us use their common computer and continued our bookings there. Unfortunately, another technical problem occur and we cant do it online. After a long conversation and make the long story short, they agreed to gave us the agoda rates. We got the penthouse standard sea view balcony on promo rate and it comes with free breakfast too.
From the entrance to the elevator view up to the room was totally light, refreshing, and amazing. I agreed with my friend's idea about the hotel. It was totally awesome, specially the scenery at the balcony, it kicked the stress away with a little help from a comfy hot shower.
We were also looking for a particular lens filter (77mm circular polarizer) for my boyfriend's camera, since he left his' at home. We were just glad how the staff were helping us to contact stores in the city as well as some of their personal acquaintances for referrals. Even though we were unable to purchase the item in that said city, we're really impressed with their effort as well as their willingness to help.
At twilight time, we went right next to the hotel's entrance, a resto-bar with live band. It's a restaurant and a bar at the same time but i believe it is not part of the hotel amenities because the hotel has their own restaurant. We ordered seafood and it was indeed great and satisfying. They also deliver, if you just want to eat in your room.
Since we were leaving early the next day and they cater transportation (airport and seaport transfer), we arranged to take the earliest ferry ride. They gave us a strip of paper with the list of ferry trips, schedule and their respective ports.
After the 4 o'clock wake up call, they gave us a ride, from the hotel to the pier, which was just at the back of the hotel in line with the boulevard. They also sent us some sandwiches and bottled waters since we'll miss the free breakfast (served from 6am to 9am).
We had a great time at the hotel and we went back after 2 weeks and stayed their for 3 days more. The weather condition on our 3-week vacation was not really good but it was indeed an experience.
Whenever we'll be in Surigao City again, Hotel Tavern will always be our first choice along with the sea view balcony.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on higher floors with sea view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sw8Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Hotel Tavern is located near to the Harbour and the embarkation quay of the ferries to Srigao Island (known for surfing). The hotel has a new and an old part. I was staying in the old part. The room was clean and soberly furnished. The bath room was clean but somewhat old and exhausted. Internet connection was free, but was hardly working.
The Tavern Restaurant seems to be one of the best in Surigao. Affordable local, Western and Chinese dishes are served. Next to the hotel is an open Tavern; popular with the local folks, serving simple grilled or deep-fried food. A band plays from 08:00 PM till late deafeningly loud music. The breakfast is tailored to the local taste.
The sea promenade, which is also the acces road harbour is in front of the hotel. The road is used as overnight parking for trucks. Small stalls offer simple snacks and cheap booze.
Although the hotel is located by the sea, there is no way to swim. The tavern hotel is an alternative to the Park Hotel which is located at the airport. Guests of the hotel are mostly Filipinos or expats working in the mining companies. Surigao does not offer much to a tourist, but is mainly a transit point to Srigao Island as mentioned above.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

There was lots of Mosquitos and ants, which was not ideal for such a nice hotel. Wifi very rarely works in the room you have to go to the lobby, which is a bit of a nuisance. I would recommend take your own shampoo and conditioner with you because they provide a sachet shampoo and that's it.

Breakfast was a highlight, always deferent options I really enjoyed that. And staff in there are friendly. I found the staff in the restaurant down stairs to not be very friendly.

Prepare for a lot of blackouts that was also another point off.

But you have a beautiful view of the ocean and you can always go for a walk by the boulevard it's very nice. Night time you can always go downstairs to EJs garden where they have people singing very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aralee_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at Hotel Tavern in Surigao City, April 2014. I would have stayed more if I had the chance. A very nice place to stay with a beautiful overlook of the ocean and boardwalk.

I recomend getting an ocean view room up as high as possible. The sunrise in the morning is worth it. This was one of the few hotels I have good things to say about over my 2 weeks in the Philippines. I would recomend this place to anyone. At aust $50 usd, it is worth it. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewFromMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a very pleasant 1 night stay. We booked this hotel before flying back to manila from siargao. The room was very nice, comfy bed and small but clean bathroom, the restaurant was very good, foods are very tasty. All in all, lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina021726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I love to stay @ Tavern when I am in Surigao city. The rooms have balconies and the water views are simply stunning. You can watch sunrise and sunset from the boulevard or from your room balcony. There are small boats across the hotel for guests to visit other islands. I would recommend Siargao Island. The restaurant @ Tavern is average but there are couple of restaurants in the area. Guests can enjoy the breakfast buffet and the food is good. They also have airport transfer but you have to advise them ahead of time for your arrival and departure. There are no taxis in the city but plenty of multi-cabs and tricycles to take you places. The hotel is close to Surigao Market where you can buy fresh fruits, grilled fish or any kind of food. It is also one multicab ride to Gaisano mall where you can buy other necessities. Strip of fast food chains like Mcdonald's, Jollibee, Chowking, Greenwich Pizza and etc. can be found near the vicinity of St. Paul University, Rizal St. not far from Tavern Hotel. There are two Mercury Drug stores in Rizal St to buy water, sodas, juices and medicines. Spas and beaches are nearby. For more info and anything else just ask the hotel concierge and they will help you. Overall Tavern is a good place to stay in Surigao city.

Room Tip: higher floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surigao City
1.3 mi away
Philippine Gateway Hotel
Philippine Gateway Hotel
#4 of 5 in Surigao City
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parkway Hotel Surigao
Parkway Hotel Surigao
#2 of 5 in Surigao City
57 reviews
42.5 mi away
Nay Palad Hideaway
Nay Palad Hideaway
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Almont Beach Resort
Almont Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Surigao City
35 reviews
45.1 mi away
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
#9 of 43 in Siargao Island
146 reviews
45 mi away
Patrick's on the Beach
Patrick's on the Beach
#14 of 43 in Siargao Island
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tavern

Address: Borromeo St. | Surigao Boulevard, Surigao City, Mindanao 8400, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Surigao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surigao City
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tavern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern, as it was formerly called, is now Hotel Tavern Surigao. The name Hotel Tavern Surigao serves to unite both the rich history and modern purpose of the hotel. The new Tavern, located at the scenic boulevard, is the premier hotel of Surigao. New structures are slowly being constructed to anticipate the modern Surigaonon life. While new foundations are being built, Hotel Tavern rekindles its role as the place to be when in Surigao, whether its guests come for business or pleasure. With its efforts to keep up with the times, its goal in comfort is to please each guest. It aims to host the creation of new wonderful memories through the quality of service all guests richly deserve. Hotel Tavern Surigao remains to be the only high-class and full-service business hotel in Surigao that has well-trained staff, buffet breakfast, restaurant and cafe, glass elevator, fire-emergency spray system, guarded parking, function rooms of all sizes, free wireless internet, and free airport service. In 2013 we are developing our valet car service and upgrading our free wireless internet to be accessible in all our rooms and function areas-all designed to better serve your business needs. We continue to be the pioneer in hotel services in Surigao. The hotel is poised to take her place as the premier hotel of Surigao - not only its first and favorite, but also becoming its finest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing