We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful relaxing place for a 'slow', green...”
other travellers have booked this property
Solar heated pool with spectacular terrace dining area above and showers and changing rooms below.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Solar heated pool with spectacular terrace dining area above and showers and changing rooms below.
Poolside dining is easy, with a well-equipped, lit kitchen bar, fridge and BBQ … Al Palazz sits at the heart of a tiny hamlet (bells ring only twice a day).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Solar heated pool with spectacular terrace dining area above and showers and changing rooms below.
Poolside dining is easy, with a well-equipped, lit kitchen bar, fridge and BBQ …
Al Palazz sits at the heart of a tiny hamlet (bells ring only twice a day).
Geraniums line the villa’s entrances; the garden gate is just around the corner.
Lots of relaxing seating in an acre of spectacular private south-facing landscaped gardens.
Enjoy the fabulous view with a bottle of local wine.
It’s easy to spend whole days and evenings on the terrace by the pool.
The pool (11 x 4m) is solar-heated with a cover, and the pool area can be lit at night.
Relax until the sun goes down and the stars come out!
The kitchen is traditional Tuscan style and fully equipped for cooking.
The dining room and snug provide a cool retreat on hot days …
… and there’s always time for a drink on the kitchen terrace.
Large windows in the big beamed sitting room offer spectacular views.
The master bedroom with wall hangings also looks over the valley.
All bathrooms have 4-piece suites and the master bathroom has a whirlpool bath.
Beds are king-size and comfortable - the second bedroom looks over the square.
In the ground floor cantina apartment contemporary design complements 14C walls.
Take the rose arch path to arrive at the pool, which sits in the sun all day.
There’s also a path down to the pool area from our private car park.
There are lots of enchanting small towns to explore and many good place to eat.
Florence, Pisa, Parma and Genoa are easy day visits with many sights to see …
… and the Italian Riviera and Cinque Terre villages are just 45 minutes away.
Your first glimpse of Al Palazz, nestling in tranquil hills 1km above Bagnone.
Al Palazz – pretty as a picture!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bagnone, Province of Massa Carrara, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LeeTaylor...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful relaxing place for a 'slow', green holiday”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We wanted as green a holiday as possible, and travelled there by train. It all worked out well - pick ups from local station, travelling on buses, using the local village as our base. The shops, cafes and restaurants there are great; we ate and drank very well during our stay, especially as it was chestnut and mushroom season: really enjoyed cooking local dishes discovered from the many cookbooks on the shelves. The information provided by the owners on the house, and things to do, and the support whilst we were there were terrific, especially as our command of Italian was modest. We enjoyed walking from Al Palazz - castles, churches, woods, rivers, other hamlets and villages accessible from the doorstep, and wonderful views. The house is very well equipped and comfortable, and the swimming pool with its panoramic views most enticing. It was good not having to jump into a car; I think you probably need to be reasonably fit given the living is over three floors and the terraced garden/pool area, and the walk in and out of the village, but this was all part of it being good for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners providing such good support
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A special place for a special birthday.”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was an important family holiday that was a year in the planning to celebrate my 60th birthday with my wife children and their partners.  We wanted somewhere memorable and special. Al Palazz is both of those. The views!  The location! The house is so comfortable and very well equipped - it has a wow factor but is unpretentious and very very pretty.  The website pictures are great but nothing can beat waking up and looking outside down to the valley below.  The spacious and wonderfully sited house suited our needs in every respect and I can't wait for another excuse to go again.
Nothing is left to chance and all needs and requirements are anticipated and catered for. The days out guides are great and the house manuals comprehensive. A nice touch is the fact that unlike many rentals the house comes with all the essentials for cleaning and a good selection of basic food ingredients so you don't waste time and money getting the house set up. It's all there for you to use and replace as you go along. If there is a weakness its that you really need two weeks not one to do this area and Al Palazz justice.  
The owners had very helpfully assisted us to organise a family birthday Sunday lunch at a nearby restaurant - Locanda Gavarini.  It was simply brilliant  -  the food and the venue superb and the staff so so helpful and accommodating.  Delicious food and talk about value for money.  Do go there – (closed Mondays) a good 5 course meal for around 30Euros and a bottle of local wine for 15Euros a bottle. Other than that it was a little bit of touring to see nearby towns and villages but it was the pool area and the terraces at Al Palazz that were so relaxing.
The only advice I would give is just remember to take everything with you when you go to the pool - it's a long haul back to your upstairs bedroom just to pick up you sunglasses - especially when you reach 60!! You definitely need a car for convenience and to get to see some of the surrounding areas. Great walking - challenging gradients in places - but the views and locations are worth it.
 We had a great holiday and the owners were brilliant in helping make it a truly memorable fantastic week. I would  - and have unreservedly recommended Al Palazz as a brilliant family high quality villa for a trouble free totally relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the terraces at the villa
Liked least: Its set on a steep hillside so its a bit of a climb back to the house but not a real problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous village house and garden in a great location”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 for a stay in September 2011

Pre-holiday service was excellent. The website is very informative and comprehensive and directions and instructions arrived well in advance.
The house is old and has been restored to the highest standard, largely in traditional Italian style. It is comfortable and well furnished and the sitting room, which is on the first floor, has fantastic views. The garden is lovely and the pool area is very well equipped.
This part of Tuscany is great for walkers but it is also close enough to the coast and major tourist attractions for day trips. If you don't like driving there is a train service from Villafranca. The local small town is walking distance and provides all your daily needs. There are plenty of good restaurants for eating out.
We loved just sitting in the garden listening to the bells across the valley.
The only drawback with this property is that there are lots of steps so its not for anybody who has difficulty climbing them!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Garden and pool
Liked least: All the steps.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portwineb...
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, lovely grounds, lovely time”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My trip to Al Palazz in June 2011 was actually my second visit to this lovely property. I first visited in September 2008 when my cousin had an unexpected vacancy in her small group rental of the property. I loved it so much at that time that I dreamed of going back...In early 2009 I met the woman of my dreams and I started thinking about taking her somewhere romantic...Al Palazz was the first place to pop in my head.

The building abuts a church and in the evening (and Sunday) you are treated to the church bells ringing. A magical moment. We attended the Sunday services in the church with about 15 other local villagers (i think about 30 live in the village where Al Palazz is.) Everyone was kind to us and made us feel welcome.

The home and property at Al Palazz are the real treat though. The basement of the villa has the most amazing stone walls and is the oldest part of the home. The apartment in the basement is modern and beautifully designed. I stayed there in 2008. The upstairs bedrooms/kitchen and living rooms are also amazing. Opening the windows in the living room/master bedroom and gazing out into a Tuscan vineyard, wine in hand, cow bells ringing, telling time by the church bells (is it 4pm already?) across the valley...I still visit this place in my mind when I want to relax.

The grounds at Al Palazz are fantastic. The stepped English Garden leads to an amazing gazebo with a BBQ grill fit for a king. Below is the solar heated pool, complete with changing/shower rooms and toilet. Complete and total privacy in the back yard allowed us to have a romantic and relaxing time.

The owners, David and Jane, have put together an amazing "house book" with so many suggestions for day trips, local visits, hikes, etc., that we could have spent a month and still not hit all their suggested sites. We took a hike behind the villa and stumbled upon an ancient stone bridge that passed over a stream and rock pools. Stunning.

We both hope to return to Al Palazz and my last holiday there was the nicest vacation my girl and I ever had. I can't recommend this villa enough for someone looking for an affordable, luxurious, somewhat remote Italian vacation rental. Extra bonus, this part of the countryside gets very few American tourists and many people went out of their way to talk to us when they found out we were from the US.

I literally cannot say enough good things about Al Palazz. This review hasn't done it justice. David and Jane are lovely, helpful and may in fact love Al Palazz just a little bit more than I do. Just a little bit though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and pool
Liked least: parking a rental car wiht manual tranny on a hill, but my girlfriend knew how and i just let her do it
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
120813v
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just another gorgeous house....”
Reviewed 25 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

What sets this lovely vacation rental apart from other houses (other than the spectacular views, the pool and gardens, and the lovingly restored house) are the carefully prepared written materials provided by the owners that allow guests to get a really intimate knowledge of this amazing area of Italy. Owners David and Jane Wolfson have actually written a book that goes with the house; it tells guests how to explore every nook and cranny of this area by foot, car, and train. Follow paths down behind the house to discover waterfalls and secret wading pools; walk on ancient paths to visit nearby hill towns; discover local museums--or take a train or car to nearby Lucca, Lerici, or the Cinque Terre. Return in the evening to the luxurious house and discuss your day....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2011
Thanks for your lovely comments. We have not yet met you, but we hope to in 2012 when you've booked to return to Al Palazz (thank you!) Jane and I are passionate about Lunigiana, and we are always on the lookout for additions to our House Books. We are glad you like them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing