We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property in a beautiful, peaceful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Solar heated pool with spectacular terrace dining area above and showers and changing rooms below.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Solar heated pool with spectacular terrace dining area above and showers and changing rooms below.
Poolside dining is easy, with a well-equipped, lit kitchen bar, fridge and BBQ … Al Palazz sits at the heart of a tiny hamlet (bells ring only twice a day).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Solar heated pool with spectacular terrace dining area above and showers and changing rooms below.
Poolside dining is easy, with a well-equipped, lit kitchen bar, fridge and BBQ …
Al Palazz sits at the heart of a tiny hamlet (bells ring only twice a day).
Geraniums line the villa’s entrances; the garden gate is just around the corner.
Lots of relaxing seating in an acre of spectacular private south-facing landscaped gardens.
Enjoy the fabulous view with a bottle of local wine.
It’s easy to spend whole days and evenings on the terrace by the pool.
The pool (11 x 4m) is solar-heated with a cover, and the pool area can be lit at night.
Relax until the sun goes down and the stars come out!
The kitchen is traditional Tuscan style and fully equipped for cooking.
The dining room and snug provide a cool retreat on hot days …
… and there’s always time for a drink on the kitchen terrace.
Large windows in the big beamed sitting room offer spectacular views.
The master bedroom with wall hangings also looks over the valley.
All bathrooms have 4-piece suites and the master bathroom has a whirlpool bath.
Beds are king-size and comfortable - the second bedroom looks over the square.
In the ground floor cantina apartment contemporary design complements 14C walls.
Take the rose arch path to arrive at the pool, which sits in the sun all day.
There’s also a path down to the pool area from our private car park.
There are lots of enchanting small towns to explore and many good place to eat.
Florence, Pisa, Parma and Genoa are easy day visits with many sights to see …
… and the Italian Riviera and Cinque Terre villages are just 45 minutes away.
Your first glimpse of Al Palazz, nestling in tranquil hills 1km above Bagnone.
Al Palazz – pretty as a picture!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bagnone, Province of Massa Carrara, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
helenmart...
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property in a beautiful, peaceful location. It was difficult to leave.”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The most relaxing holiday I have possibly ever had! I stayed here in July with my husband, 2 daughters, aged 5 and 8, and my parents in the adjoining flat and had the most wonderful family holiday.
The house is set in a small hamlet of villages at the top of a hill. The second floor of the property, as well as the gardens, has the most stunning view of the local woodland, which is only infrequently disturbed by the chiming of bells (either church or cow bells!) We spent very little time in the house itself as the garden and pool area are just so beautiful that we lived almost solely outdoors for the majority of the holiday. The pool being heated was brilliant and my girls swam for almost 6 hours a day. The outside kitchen with table, chairs, table tennis table is superbly equipped with additional plates, cups, glasses, kettle as well as an outdoor fridge and the BBQ so there was little need to use the main house kitchen except for the occasional trip back to retrieve additional supplies! This was the ideal compromise for my husband who loves to camp and enjoy the outdoors and myself who enjoys a few more home comforts. We were initially worries about the garden being slightly separate to the property across a small cobbled alleyway, but am so glad that this did not put us off booking as caused no problems.
Jane and David couldn't have been more helpful from start to finish of our whole Al Palazz experience, from providing local information to assist with our decision, directions, booking local restaurants and assisting with any issues once we were there. The most attentive owners, who are keen to help, but also allow you to just get on and enjoy once you are settled in.
If you get chance a visit to the Cinque Terre is an absolute must. A dip in the local rock pools is beautiful, if a little chilly. Overall some unforgettable family memories were made and we would dearly love to return one day.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
So pleased you had a relaxing holiday! You're right, the outdoor living in summer is wonderful, and adding the separate ground-floor apartment is great for gathering larger family groups in one place. We hope you'll come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An ideal base for exploring or for simply recharging the batteries”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The owners of this villa seem to specialise in second-guessing your every need, whether this be for information on local eateries or places to shop, or for a range of sights to see near and far. And if you simply want to stay put, you have not only a very, very comfortable house but also a wonderful garden and pool, and incredible views. We drove there, but, as the owners point out, it's well placed for at least three airports should you prefer to fly-drive. We mixed trips out (to places like Genoa, Lucca, Portovenere and Cararra) with days exploring locally but quickly realised we would never get to see everything we would like to see. This is not mainstream tourist Tuscany, but is within striking distance of some classic Tuscan venues while still feeling like a more authentic piece of Italy (we only heard one other British accent locally in the two weeks). This area - Lunigiana - is a real find for us. Ten out of ten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable house and fantastic garden with pool.
Liked least: It's an interesting experience when the church next door rings its bells!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
So pleased you had a great holiday. We'd love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBAMS
Cambridge, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Engagining retreat - yet close to it all”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family (husband, two teenage boys and my Mom) spent a week at the villa. Plenty of space, everything we needed to make ourselves at home and feel like we could unpack and relax. The villa is well appointment, comfortable and spacious – everything we needed was there. The view, however, cannot be captured in words or pictures. The distant church bells, cow bells and breezes filled the valley air to provide natures music once the windows are thrown open.
The grounds and flowers are beautiful and the pool was a balmy 92 degrees!
The villa is perfectly situated to have easy access to the bigger destinations either by car or train. But when not engaging with other tourists – the location provides a peaceful retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experirence of living in a Tuscan village in a villa
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2016
That's a perfect description of Al Palazz! We too think it's great for three generations to share. So pleased you had a great time here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceri f
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous village house with amazing pool area”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful week at this beautiful house in August. The pool area is absolutely amazing and would not be out of place in a small boutique hotel, with shower, changing area, toilet facilities, outdoor kitchen, table tennis and BBQ facilities. Just across the road is a small restaurant which was full every lunch time and evening and at about 13 euros a head, including wine, for a home cooked 3 course meal you could completely understand why. There are some lovely restaurants in the nearby town which is a 5 minute drive away and we used the location as a base to visit Palma too, which was gorgeous. The pool is huge, and warm, and most evenings our three children were in the pool until late into the evening, the views are incredible and the house is very well equipped and spacious. A very special house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Agreed - there's nothing to beat relaxing by the pool, taking in the view, or swimming by starlight! And dining at Al Vecchio Podere is a real Italian experience that we enjoy on every visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Size12
Lancs Uk
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing views and all the comforts of home!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Al Palazz ticked all the boxes on paper for us and we were not disappointed with the real thing when we arrived!
Firstly, it is within an easy, if Italian, drive from Pisa airport and the directions provided were spot on, even down to warnings about speed cameras. The roads leading upto the small village were in good condition so no worries on the rental car wheels etc.
The villa is situated between a quiet B&B property and a mostly quiet Church. The bells are occasional and interesting! (but didn't sound at night). The website correctly described the rooms and facilities so I wont go over them again. We found it a lovely place to stay and although there is no air con, there are fans, and if you follow the guidance about how to use the window blinds (like a local) we found the 34C heat manageable!
The gardens and pool area are great and a lot of time and effort has been (and still is) made in their upkeep. A pool side fridge is a great idea that others could do to follow!
Jane and David have produced books to help visitors get the most from the area and we managed to use the local trains and restaurants with their guidance. The house is well stocked with books of all sorts and also lots of maps. Oh and the teenage essential of wifi worked fine all the time...

All told we had a great 2 weeks there and would be happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, pool, lounge area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thanks for your feedback - and thanks also for the couple of good suggestions you gave us for next year's house books. Our aim is always to help guests have the best stay possible!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKay1246
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“A Picture Perfect Spot”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

You won't find a more authentic experience in the Tuscany countryside. Everything exceeded our best hopes. The owner was so easy to work with and answered other questions about the area. It is close enough to do easy day trips. The views are breathtaking. Be sure to have dinner at the neighbor's farmhouse restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa came with three notebooks full of information about the house, the grounds and the area nearby.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're delighted we were able to answer all your questions - and that you had such a good time. Our aim is always to help people have great holidays!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MisterSB
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing week at Al Palazz. A week did not seem enough - we did not want to leave! The house, pool and gardens are incredible. The website photos are great, but seeing is believing - the views and surrounding countryside are amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing