We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raetihi Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$255
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Scenic Hotel Marlborough(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,168
US$978
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlborough Vintners Hotel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel d'Urville(Blenheim)
US$142
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
171 on High Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blenheim Palms Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
153
50
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
50
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste mahiakenepuru soundmarlborough soundswater taximusselsqueen charlotte trackmountain bikesowners and stafftwo nightsgames roomtop qualitytable tennisnew zealandan adventuregreat escapefresh ingredientsrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We arrived after a slightly nauseating drive from Nelson and a quick water taxi ride to be met by James, an owner and as we found out, do-it-all worker :). We arrived a bit early, so we went for a short walk down a wonderful, quiet, tree-lined path. Back at the lodge, James took us to our room- first impressions: very roomy with good water view, but very boring rooms - no art or anything on the walls. A little local art would go a long way.
We loved the little fridge in the room, great for our bottle of wine & snacks, but there was really no where to put anything down. A small table & chairs would be good, there was definitely enough space in the room for it. Also the bathroom could use a shelf and a fan that turns off when you turn it off, not 5 minutes later.
One of the "tests" I use as to whether to return or not - the bed, and unfortunately this was a no-go: it was way to soft for mine and my husbands backs, and the pillows too mushy. Perhaps a choice of pillows?
We brought our own bikes, and as we found out, there is enough climbing and somewhat technical riding to get your heart rate up!. Going in the water for a swim, though calm, was cold -another heart racer in November!
The restaurant was very nice - good art on the walls, attentive (but not overly so) staff, and most of all good food and decent wine list. The one item I would have liked to see was a choice of New Zealand cheeses - a cheese board can be a wonderful finish to a meal or even a light meal in itself and NZ has some of the best cheeses going!
We took the mussel tour one afternoon, and were the only ones on the boat, so we had a chance to not only pick up some fresh-from-the-water mussels for that evenings dinner ( and a few oysters to eat immediately :) but also take a little extra time to learn about the history of the area. Well worth the time & $$.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Raetihi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Raetihi Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your constructive feedback about the room so that we can address the issues mentioned wherever possible.
At Raetihi, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We will take your comments regarding the bed, and bathroom shelving & extractor fan into consideration when planning future improvements to the property. We have just recently purchased new tables and chairs to go into our rooms and are just waiting on delivery which will hopefully be in the next couple of weeks. We are also sourcing artwork to go into our rooms, but given the nature of the property we want to ensure that we get the right artwork and are trying to source this from local artists to support the region. Given the size and number of items that we require for the Lodge, this does take a bit longer than buying readymade prints but we believe that it is worth the wait. We appreciate your comments about the cheese board and will be looking into the option of adding this onto our next menu.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back to the property in the future.

Sincerely,
James Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

we spent 3 nights in dec, and were concerned the food would be average since its quite remote. Surprisingly the 2 young chefs provided some of the best food we had in South Island during our 3 week stay, comparable to pegasus bay and amisfield and witherhills, and definitely better than plato. We loved the mussels - treated so lightly with white wine, garlic and chilli, letting the fresh catch shine, we had it at almost every meal, so thats 5-6 times! so food was the best part. we took the water taxi in the end, to avoid the gravel road, and loved the long hike to the telecoms tower. loved the quiet reads and the naps in between. all in all, quiet, idyllic and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bonniesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Raetihi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Raetihi Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and thank you for your fantastic comments about our food.
I will share your comments with our team, especially the chefs. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
James Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We are visiting from Australia and had the pleasure of staying at this lodge for two nights. The weather was not the best but it did it stop us getting out and about on the kayaks and doing some bush walks. We even went on a mussel tour with one of the local operator's and that was fantastic.

The food is to die for - I had the beef on the first night and it was melt in your mout stuff. The chocolate tart is to die for too.

Both my husband and I had massages with Juli, that was an experience in it's self - we would return just for them!

James the Manager did agreat job of taking are of all our needs.

Keep up the good work, we will recommend and be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNash625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Raetihi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Raetihi Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and thank you for your fantastic comments about our food and service. I am glad to hear that the weather didn’t stop you from exploring the area.
I will share your comments with our team, especially the chefs and Juli as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
James Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Accessible by water taxi, float plane or Gravel Road (not for the faint at heart), If you want to relax in a beautiful bush clad water front luxury Lodge, with ocean views from your verandah, fabulous food, attentive staff ,then this Lodge is for you. Bush walks, golf, kayaking or simply fishing from the wharf or dingy, or a quite read of the Ipad in the lounge beside the open fire with a Latte or wee Dram, James and his staff will only too pleased to assist. would we do it again ... defiantly.

Room Tip: Turn the fridge off at night,.... noisy, use a night light to go to the bathroom to avoid the extractor fan wakening your fellow guests.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantabonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Raetihi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Raetihi Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your constructive feedback about the noise from the fridge and bathroom extractor fan in the room so that we can address the issues mentioned wherever possible.
At Raetihi, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I will share your comments with my team as it is always great to hear our efforts are appreciated.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Sincerely,

James Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at Raetihi on our third night walking the Queen Charlotte Sound track, having transferred across from Portage Bay by water taxi. James the manager met us at the wharf and carried our bags up to the lodge and the service was just as good for the rest of our stay.

The rooms are serviceable and clean though not particularly luxurious, but who needs a luxurious room when you have the world's best view from your room's verandah? The sound is incredibly beautiful and the grounds and views were spectacular from our room and the bar and restaurant as well. Only one small note for improvement - the robes provided were clean and comfortable but one of the two was very worn and old and needed retiring - a very minor gripe in the scheme of things. The free wifi worked well too, which is always a plus.

The food was first class - can thoroughly recommend the eggs florentine for breakfast and the rib eye for dinner. The service was great - even with a small wedding party in residence we never felt neglected or imposed upon as an independent couple. James and the other staff were always friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Overall, a very memorable overnighter and would definitely stay here if ever in the Sounds again.
David and Christine Gribble

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Raetihi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear David & Christine,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Raetihi Lodge we truly appreciate them. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
James Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews