We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded luxury”
Review of Raetihi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raetihi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secluded luxury”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was a lovely place to go to for two nights near the end of our holiday. Hardly relaxing as we did the 15k round trip walk to Telegraph Hill and back. But we needed to do something to compensate for the absolutely first class evening meals and breakfasts we enjoyed in the restaurant.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful too.

Terry and Sandy London UK

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    44
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
129
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Feb8th2013.
Del from Havelock water taxi's delivered the wedding party to the Raetihi and Hopewell Lodges.
Arrival was like going to a tropical island, and its all yours.
The venue, meals, staff were just wonderful Our guests were so happy. it was great to experience the kayaks, walks, swimming,and just relaxing all before the wedding on the Saturday. The rooms at the Raetihi Lodge very nice, not cluttered, clean and well looked after.

James and his team (what a tremendous job). Lynley and Mike at the Hopewell, just awesome hosts. A long weekend to remember by all. We were so lucky with the stunning weather, stunning venue and stunning couple getting married.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the sound, pulll back the curtains each morning and what a view!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We feel so lucky to have stayed here for 3 nights in February 2013. From start to finish it was perfect. We were taken from Picton on a water taxi across the beautiful sound, picked up in a mini bus and taken across the hill to another water taxi to Raetihi. It reminded us of the Maldives - isolated and peaceful. We were met and shown around the hotel and to our room which was everything we could hope for. Doors from our room led to a terrace with chairs and a view of the Sound ... bliss. Food was wonderful, they have a very talented chef. The seafood platter was one to remember. We spent our time relaxing and walking - so beautiful and peaceful. We were sad to leave, but the water taxis back across the sounds were again fantastic... what could be better?

Room Tip: We prefer seaview room, but garden view rooms also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We called in here by boat for a few hours and had a wonderful time. Moored at the Jetty and were welcomed by James, we then had a nice coffee and couple of beers in the lounge overlooking the sounds as the two girls went off for a massage each. They said the massages were the best they have had and both came out feeling incredibly refreshed and relaxed, thanks to Juli.

The service was excellent at all times and we were made feel very welcome. The lunches were also very good, the desert outstanding! We all had a beef burgers which were fresh and tasty with some nice seasoning. Served with some great wines and beers.

Only a three hour stay but highly recommend to visit if you're out boating and fancy an upmarket lunch and massage. We had a quick look at the accommodation which by all accounts is also lovely, the views alone are worth the cost in my view and the absolute tranquility of the Marlborough Sounds. I will return without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HammondNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. The staff is lovely, rooms are clean and spacious and the sea view room has a magic view. The food was excellent, we had the seafood platter for dinner and we recommend it if you love fresh seafood! The lodge offers kayaks, boat trips can be arranged or go hiking or swimming at any little beach you like. HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea View rRom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melita v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My friend and I came here from Wellington and I totally fell in love with this lodge. Infact I came all the way from Cairns Australia for a holiday in Wellington and my friend suggested we come here. January 2011 it was. We did Wellington to Picton on the Interislander Ferry and then drove to the Queen Charlotte Sounds where we caught the water taxi to the wonderful Raetihi Lodge.

And what a grand little lodge it is and in paradise. This was solitude and I swear you could hear a pin drop. So quiet. We were met by one of the friendly staff who showed us around and then took us to our room. The room was quite clean and the bed very comfortable and very warm as well. My friend actually like reading so ideally suited to the no noise and peaceful surroundings while I ventured out everyday taking photographs of the beautiful Kenepuru sounds and the farms. And would you believe it they have WIFI so we weren't totally isolated although abit slow, very slow. But that was minor I have to say. What a beautiful spot as you will see from my photos I took.

I have to admit the food everyday at breakfast and dinner were just unreal for a place this remote. I expected it to be good but not great with the remoteness but what a nice surprise. Great Chefs they have to be honest. And even though quite remote this was a unique experience and well worth every cent. There is also quite a lot to do here like hire a boat and cruise around the Malborough sounds, visit mussel farms on the other side, go swimming if very brave, fishing, kayaking and trekking or walking which we did on the second day. We also wanted to do the kayaking but it rained on our last two days so we opted out.

The weather was fantastic on the first two days, so we manage a 1.5 kilometre walk up past Telegraph point with spectacular sceneries of the Kenepuru sounds, all the way to Skiddaw farm and back. A spectacular walk with tons and tons of fantastic sceneries of the sound and farms in every direction. What a great place and the staff well, quite exceptional and very friendly. They made our stay quite remarkable and so memorable.

A truly unique experience in an heavenly setting. Outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balilje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed at Raetihi lodge using a Grabone voucher so got really good value for the room. However, you need to consider the cost of getting there from Picton by boat ($170 NZD return pp) or float plane ($200 NZD return pp). Plus there are no restaurants or shops near by so you have to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner from them (which wasn't always a good thing).

So was it worth it? We think that it was just about given the whole experience.

Our trip started and ended being floan by Allister on his brilliant float plane. While expensive we definitely thought that it was worth the trip. It gives you an great perspective of Marlborough Sounds.

Raetihi Lodge itself is really lovely. The rooms are newly decorated. They're spacious and the sea view rooms has one of the best views that you'll ever have. The rest of the property is just as nice and the restaurant has possibly the best view of any restaurant that I've ever been in.

The food isn't cheap and is very hit and miss. Breakfast was lovely and definitely good value. Dinner was a different story. We had the seafood platter the first night and everything on the plate was over cooked. Very disappointing. The desserts were super tasty though. The second night I had the fillet steak. It was the toughest piece of steak I've ever eaten which is unbelievable for what is meant to be the most succulent cut. The reason? It had most definitely been plucked straight from the feezer and stuck in the microwave to defrost which cooked the outside and made it tough and kept the inside blue. That's how it came to the plate. I was very close to dropping the rating to 3 stars because of this.

However, the lodge manager, James, was probably the best host that we've ever had. He is a consumate professional but also very friendly. He reminded me of Basil Faulty only because he seems to do everything. Depsite spreading himself thing he's very good at everything. Overall, we loved our stay even though it was expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Raetihi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Raetihi Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your constructive feedback about the quality of the food during your stay so that we can address the issues mentioned. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip into the lodge with Allister and it is definitely a fantastic way to view the Sounds.
At Raetihi, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I have followed up your comments regarding the quality of the food with our chefs as we normally get great feedback about the quality of our food. We chose our suppliers to ensure that we can offer a quality product to our guests and due to your comments we following up with the supplier of our steak. We do try to keep our food prices at a reasonable level, even though our food costs are higher due to the location and transportation costs. We believe that we have achieved this given that our breakfast prices range from $14-$22, and our main meals at dinner range from $29-$36 which we believe is comparable to most restaurants that offer a high quality food. We do have our menu on our website so guests are welcome to have a look prior to arriving at the lodge and our chefs are very accommodating in dealing with any special dietary requirements. And of course as you noted, we have stunning views from our restaurant overlooking the sounds.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back to the property in the future.

Sincerely,
James Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough Region hotels
11.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
4.2 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
623 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.8 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raetihi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raetihi Lodge

Property: Raetihi Lodge
Address: 7124 Kenepuru Road | Double Bay, Kenepuru Sound, 7282, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Marlborough Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Raetihi Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquillity and sense of being 'at one' with the native bush, the expansive water views and birdsong of the Sounds, coupled with the feeling like you're sitting in the comfort of your home, being spoilt with the service of a boutique hotel, is what luxurious Raetihi Lodge prides itself on. Extensively rebuilt and re-modelled with new interior design concepts throughout, our accommodation, restaurant and facilities are rated 4-Star Plus Hosted Qualmark with luxury and comfort amidst the serenity and nature of the New Zealand native beach trees and bush. Our new floating jetty makes accessibility a joy. A waters edge retreat with stunning views over the water, Raetihi Lodge sets its own standards for gracious and unsurpassed hospitality and excellent dining. The Marlborough Sounds attracts local and international visitors who share a passion for activities such as boating, fishing, hiking, bush walks, sailing, kayaking, bird-watching, photography and just relaxing enjoying the finer things in life. Nestled in a secluded bay of extraordinary natural beauty in the Kenepuru Sound, Raetihi Lodge has built a reputation as one of the most popular destinations in the Sounds dating back to the 1930's. ACTIVITIES 'The Sounds' are simply New Zealand's foremost marine playground for yachting, fishing, swimming, sailing and sight-seeing. Why not consider: • Walking Tracks: Queen Charlotte Track and Nydia Track • Fishing: Half day or Full day Guided Trips • Boating: Half and Full-day Skippered Sailing trips, plus Bareboat Charter facilities, Boating Safaris in your own outboard motor boat, Mussel Cruises, Historical Tours of the Sounds • Scenic Flights and transfers: by helicopter or float plane • Marlborough Wine Tours AROUND RAETIHI LODGE Relax with a wide variety of recreational options available. • Complementary mountain bikes, kayaks and stand-up paddle boards (SUPs) are available for your enjoyment • Complementary use of fishing rods and dinghy rowing boats, or try your hand fishing off the jetty. • Treat yourself to a relaxing massage • Follow one of the bush-walking tracks over the Nature Reserve • Take a swim in the bay • Retire in the guest lounge to read, play board games or watch TV, or lounge by the warmth of the fire with a good book • Ever-changing light conditions present stunning photographic opportunities, as evidenced from the Photo Gallery in the Lodge. • The marine environment and natural bush provides amazing opportunities to observe native birds, flora and fauna. • Play 12-holes of golf at the Nopera Golf Course nearby, which is sheep grazed with fenced greens. (Nominal green fee and golf hire available) • Enjoy a game of Boules or croquet on the French Courtyard and lawn • Picnics can be supplied from our restaurant for any of your activities. CUISINE, WINE & DINING Sitting by the water's edge, dine on an ever-changing feast of seafood, mouth-watering New Zealand meats and fresh local produce, themed to suit the season and complemented by the finest regional wines in New Zealand. Everyday dining at Raetihi Lodge in the Marlborough Sounds is informal but elegant and relaxed, the epitome of fresh New Zealand cuisine. Our Restaurant welcomes casual diners for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Our new floating jetty makes accessibility easy, and you can tie up without hassle. GETTING THERE By Boat • Our skipper and Guest Transfer boat, Miss Raetihi Lodge, can collect you from Te Mahia Jetty or Portage in the Kenepuru Sound, OR Waterfall Bay or Torea in the Queen Charlotte Sound • Private boats are welcome to use the floating jetty and tie up on one of our moorings (Mooring fee if staying overnight) • Water Taxi • Kayak to us for lunch or a coffee! By Air • Float plane from Picton or Wellington • Fixed-wing plane from Wellington, into Nopera Airstrip • Helicopter from anywhere, landing on our Helipad By Road • Drive the very scenic Kenepuru Road directly to Raetihi Lodge • Cycle, if you're keen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raetihi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raetihi Hotel Marlborough Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing