We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Freindly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clipper Shipp Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Pocologan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We travel every summer from Massachusetts to Cape Breton and look forward to staying here on the way up and back. It's not quite halfway but it is definitely not just a place to stay; it’s part of our vacation. When we cross into Canada via Calais, ME we stop and by a few groceries to cook on the grille we know we will have on the deck of our room. The views are fantastic and there is a fence separating each guest room on the decks; our dog can sit out on the deck with us and not bother anyone. The wood floors make it ideal for a pet friendly motel which is spotlessly clean. I can’t say enough good things about it and the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a pleasant surprise. When we arrived we were a bit concerned because of the appearance from the road but we soon learned that this is a well maintained motel with pleasant owners. We only spent an afternoon and night in the motel but we would have enjoyed more time. The rooms are very nicely furnished, very clean and spacious; more the size of a small apartment. The view from the deck was great. The owners spend money on the motel and they are interested in making a pleasant stay for their guests. We wanted to stay again on our return trip but our schedule didn’t allow for it. If in the area again we will certainly stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Wow wow wow!!! What a great and beautiful place to have decided to stay at. It has everything beautiful and new. Red couches that are lazy boys, sleeps 6 in the room we had. It really was like our own little apartment but on the beach. We will definitely be stopping here again, and honestly can not wait to come back. This time we will bring stuff to BBQ as there is a beautiful deck off the rooms with all the amenities. The only down fall for us is the fog rolled in as we were pulling in so we couldn't really see out on the water. But hoping for a glorious sun rise in the AM.
We highly highly recommend this place, it is very reasonable in price which is a great bonus for someone on a budget.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were on our way back home from a vacation in Nova Scotia. We had just left St. John, NB, heading for the American border, and needed a place to stay for the night. We saw an accommodation sign on the highway, and followed it to this charming little motel.

At night, from the parking lot, it looked like a typical motor hotel. When we woke up in the morning, though, we were greeted by a SPECTACULAR view of the Bay of Fundy from the balcony off the back of the room. We could watch our kids playing on the beach while in the hotel room, from the room's balcony, or from a deck on the lawn down below.

The rooms are actually suites, with a full kitchen and bathroom, and very well kept. A new highway was built that bypassed this motel a few years back, so it doesn't get much traffic now, except from those 'in the know'. A hidden treasure. When we return to the Maritimes, we will definitely make this our 'home base' for exploring the New Brunswick coast of the Bay of Fundy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartySulek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

May doesn't seem to be a busy time, and I had the choice of a few rooms. There is a good selection of different rooms. Small rooms, two or three bed rooms, and rooms that are basically brand new.

Location is right on the Bay of Fundy. And it use to be on the main highway, but that has since changed. A new highway was built and this motel is now less than 5 min off highway 1.

Rooms have full kitchens. Stove/oven, full fridge, microwave, dining table, queen bed, couple couches and kitchen sink. In my particular room the kitchen sink is in the bathroom next to the bathroom sink, which is kind of weird and out of the way, but I got use to it.

The tv is dated, the satellite had basic channels and was old and slow. But they worked. There is wifi around the motel but I didn't get it in my room. There was a land line in every room, so the owner brought a wifi router from another room and hooked it up in my room.

40min drive from Saint John and less than 15 min to Saint George. Saint George has a grocery store, home hardware building center, Tim hortons and a few other common amenities that one needs for an extended stay.

Price of the hotel is reasonable for what is offered, but adds up quick.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Wherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Two of us hauled 4 horses to the Maritimes, and had one more night to stay before heading back. We decided - let's go to the Bay of Fundy, then we can just head north next morning. We had lots of time to get over there, however, flooded roads altered our trip by a few hours! So here we are, travelling down roads we do not know, in the dark, in fog, and not even knowing if anything was going to be open this time of year. A gas station recommended the Clipper Shipp, just down the road, and yes, it would be open. We are now 9:30 at night, so their big sign was off, and with the fog we almost missed the place. Anyway, got checked in, and allotted a room with lots of parking (big truck and 4 horse trailer.) Hoping that it wasn't going to be a "Bates Motel" type of place (we couldn't see anything due to fog) we parked in front and opened the door. We could not believe our eyes! The largest, most beautiful unit you could imagine - clean as a whip and beautifully furnished, TV, WIFII, full kitchen, great beds, just a luxurious place. Next morning, the view was incredible. So, I will be returning to this motel this summer for a few days!!

Room Tip: We had room 47, in the new section. There was a good spot to park the truck and trailer in front, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our family has stayed at the Clipper Shipp many times over the last 30-40 years - whenever we travel to New Brunswick we make sure we spend at least a day or two at the Clipper Shipp. Early on, it was the place to stop for a layover on our way to PEI. Then we decided we liked it so well, we started spending our entire vacation there. Whenever I find myself back in Canada, the Clipper Shipp is like "coming home." We had a number of years where we didn't make it up, and when we returned in 2012, we were quite surprised with the newly constructed motel additions. We were always quite comfy in the older units, but the new rooms are really beautiful. However, I still love the old part of the motel too. I have many fond memories of this place, and I'm always just happy to be back to the Pocologan coastline. It used to be that you couldn't miss the Clipper Shipp, because it was on the main throughway, but there is now a new highway (it was under construction when I was last there) and hopefully there are signs directing people here. It's a place you don't want to miss. I'm planning my next visit as we speak! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocologan
24.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 19 in Saint John
122 reviews
11.5 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
102 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel
23.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
379 reviews
19.8 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper Shipp Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Shipp Beach Motel

Address: 1312 Route 175 | (Exit 69 from Route 1), Pocologan, New Brunswick E5J 0B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Pocologan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pocologan
Price Range: £60 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clipper Shipp Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clipper Shipp Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing