We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richond Restaurant below average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Richmond Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Bo'ness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is a review of the restaurant and not the hotel as we haven't stayed there, however as the restaurant it not listed as such we have had to put our review on here. We made the mistake of booking for dinner in this restaurant recently. It was not a good experience. We had booked but they we not ready for us even though there were only 2 other tables occupied. When we were seated we were not offered a menu and had to ask for one - then we were handed just on between us and this was a A4 laminated sheet. After some huffing from the waiting staff we finally got two full menus. We were going to leave at this point but decided to give them a second chance - our mistake. The food was bland and badly over cooked. We believe that is either bought in frozen and reheated or prepared in advance then microwaved or deep fried. Either way it was not fresh and not good. We didn't finish our meal - no one asked if everything was ok, so we had to draw their attention to the fact that it really wasnt eidible. We left without leaving a tip and feeling very let down.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lturner_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

Hotel was clean with large rooms. Breakfast was nice and the attached dining was convienent. I agree with a previous reviewer that the toilet was really difficult to flush and took up to 6 tries each time it was used. Being used to chain hotels that provide about 3 different locks on the doors, the doors made me a little nervous. The room (located in the annex) had an exterior door with a push-button type lock and a second interior door that did not latch properly.
Overall, however, it was a nice stay for the cost. It was a quiet and convienent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This review is being composed at 5:15 a.m. in the darkened locked lobby of the Richmond Park Hotel because that is the only place that I have been able to obtain even a poor Wi-Fi signal. There is no one on duty and the lights are off except for one small desk lamp.

The Richmond Park Hotel offers a warm and dry bed for the night but not much more. The facility is modest even by Scottish standards. It is located about half way between the great Stirling Castle and the Edinburgh Airport.

The double room we booked was large with very basic cheap furnishings. The bed had a thin mattress that did not adequately soften the coiled springs. The Internet Wi-Fi signal was not available in our room. The TV cable signal was also poor and not available on all channels. The shower fixture fell off the wall. There was a burned out ceiling light in the bathroom.

There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel which is convenient.

The price for a double room was 74 pounds including breakfast.

We have been quietly advised that a wedding reception in the hotel this evening will make sleeping more of a challenge. We don't plan to test that possibility.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ancient_Mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Booked a family room which has double bed and sofa bed. Sofa bed was so horrendously uncomfortable (springs poking through thin mattress and it wouldn't fold out totally flat) that there were fights over who wouldn't have to sleep in it.

Bathroom was functional though I had to call for help when the shower wouldn't run hot, only for it to do so as soon as the repairman arrived, he claimed it was just an airlock (like I should have known). There was a mass of yucky gunk behind the bath taps which a good small brush would surely clean out? The toilet was very difficult to flush and neither of my children could manage it.

TV reception was virtually non-existent, wardrobe was missing one sliding door and the entrance to the annexe accommodation is more reminiscent of a block of council flats than a hotel, though clean and quiet at least.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant and the food was pleasant enough though the bacon in the morning had more fat than meat, which is not my preference.

We had dinner one night and it was very nice indeed and good value for money with large portions and a nice children's menu (good food, not junk).

On the subject of money, the hotel's system would not process either of our two Visa Debit cards (accepted all over the world) and we had no option but to leave without paying as we had no other means of doing so. It has taken countless expensive (roaming mobile charge) phone calls to try and ascertain the problem - my bank insists it is not their end and the hotel insists it is not theirs either. This situation is having to be remedied at my end at considerable additional expense.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyGuy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

A great night. Excellent food. Great service both for meal and drinks. Great cabaret and disco.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Rooms moderate... If your happy to pay for service without a smile, it's definitely the place to go... As a paying local you are treated like a second class idiot.. 10 minute wait at the bar, staff just stand about chatting,.. even when almost empty... STAFF GIVE YOU PLENTY OF EYE CONTACT WHEN ENTERING THE BAR, THEN IGNORE YOU ON APPROACH... The restaurant took 15-20 mins to approach just to take drink orders, another 15 to take menu orders of 1 sirloin and 2 fillet steaks, cooked medium-medium rare, all were well done. as we were discussing our meals an aggressively toned waitress overheard what we were saying and approached us and asked us about our meal in such a fashion that we were put on the spot with others looking at us. WE FELT SO EMBARRASSED AND UNDER PRESSURE,.. THAT WE COULD NOT SEND IT BACK....
ABSOLUTELY NOTHING FOR KIDS... THEY ARE JUST DYING WITH BOREDOM....

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank sharon1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

we went as a large group and despite being a crowd nothing was too much trouble for the staff all of whom were freindly helpfull and chatty the meals were excellent and plenty of choice steep hill to get to town its not far but would get a taxi back up rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet had a really good sleep bar prices not bad for a hotel have been here before and will go again

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldertravellerFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bo'ness
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
321 reviews
4.3 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
244 reviews
7.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
5.2 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Park Hotel

Address: 26 Linlithgow Road, Bo'ness EH51 0DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Bo'ness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bo'ness
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Park Hotel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing