We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay in a stunning location”
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A small modern "boutique" hotel, although the building is designed to look older than it really is. It is set in a stunning valley surrounded by forests and mountains. The welcome is warm and genuine. The bedrooms are light and airy and have all of the modern conveniences that you would expect of a far larger and more commercial establishment. The food served here, with evening meals requested at breakfast time, is designed around your own preferences, is cooked to perfection and is simply delicious. Fresh local produce is used wherever possible which includes a good selection of excellent local wines. BEWARE! Watch out for your waistline!!
Hosts Di and John are a fount of local information as to where to go and what to see and do in the local area. We loved our stay at this friendly, comfortable "home from home" and we have already recommended it to several of our friends. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cork oak and chestnut forest clad hills - the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 173Adrian_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our stay in Los Castanos, was a very relaxing experience, the setting of the hotel was magical,

and the hospitality was very good. Comfortable rooms, and a very nice home cooked evening

meal. I would go again.

Sally P

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I booked a surprise 2 night stay for my partners birthday as I thought it would be something different.
We were not disappointed, the hotel is in a small Spanish village and is so tranquil. amazing views The Hotel itself is beautiful, it has so much character and as soon as you arrive you feel comfortable and relaxed. Our room was beautifully decorated with a very comfy large bed, walk in shower and some lovely local toiletries! We had a mini bar in the room and tea and coffee making facilities.
We were just going to eat at the hotel for the first night but the food was absolutely wonderful so we ate there the second night also! I am a vegetarian and used to being fed quite boring bland food but this was so different. Stuffed aubergine, chicpea cakes with cous cous and chicory with blue cheese sauce, how could I choose a favourite! My partner had Magret of Duck and said it was the best he has ever tasted and he has eaten in many restaurants!
For my partners birthday after a delicious breakfast we walked from Cartajima to the next village, Parauta through a very picturesque valley. On the way we were fortunate enough to spot some very large birds of prey. In Parauta we stopped for a tasty lunch and a few drinks before heading back to the hotel. It was a great day out in the fresh air.
Di and John are very friendly and welcoming and very informative about the local area.
We both loved the hotel and will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We had an amazing mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantelle B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at Las Castanos for a week. Di and John made us feel very welcome and their knowledge of the area enabled them to offer very helpful advice on where to go and what to do. John even provided his own walking notes to supplement the guide book we had. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and its decor gives it a peaceful and relaxing ambiance. Our bedroom had a wonderful view over the mountains. The meals were varied and excellent and we enjoyed meeting in a relaxed and informal way with other guests beforehand. We have stayed at lots of places but this one is right there at the top in terms of its friendliness - we had a truly memorable stay and would strongly recommend the hotel to anyone. Gary and Frances B

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Excellent location for independent holiday making activities. The most distinctive aspect of staying at Los Castanos is the personalised welcome and attention given by Di and John. Food is of a very high standard and a friendly relaxed informal schedule with a nightly gathering for before dinner drinks. Either my room balcony or the sun roof both looking out over chestnut wooded valleys were ideal places to spend the late afternoons. Contacts can be made through the hosts for special interest trips and walking advice and route notes are on hand.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

On occasion one finds a rare gem such as Hotel Los Castanos in Cartajima, one of the "pueblos blancos" in the Andalusia region of Spain. This unique hotel is the perfect location to anchor yourself and explore the beautiful towns and villages of the region. If you are looking for a distinctive, beautiful hotel situated in a stunningly beautiful area, Los Castanos is the perfect destination. There are seemingly limitless options of things to do/see in the area, from exploring the region to hiking in the countryside. And, at the end of your memorable day, you have the option to come home to Los Castanos and enjoy a fabulous, intimate dinner. The hosts of Los Castanos, Di & John are extremely knowledgeable about the region, and take pleasure in helping you plan a memorable day. Los Castanos is one in a million.
Andrea McManus, Milton, GA

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at Los Castanos for three nights and had an amazing time. A big thank you to our hosts Di & John for making our stay such a memorable one..Los Castanos is the perfect place to stay to explore this picturesque area of Andalucia. We had a gorgeous bedroom with a king size bed, balcony to enjoy the view and a cup of tea (provisions & a fridge were in our room), spa bath to relax in after a day of exploring, luxurious towels and robes. We ate at the hotel for two nights which is an absolute must as Di is an amazing chef. She even cooked a beautiful tagine of beef & and almonds on our last night as she knew of my fondness for Moroccan cuisine. John was the perfect host pouring us glasses of wine at night and suggesting some wonderful walks to do in the area with written directions & photos too. I cannot recommend Los Castanos highly enough and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
6.7 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
277 reviews
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 69 in Marbella
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 69 in Marbella
363 reviews
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
6.6 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia 40 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range: £97 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing