We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I recently went with a group of friends to Hotel Los Castanos to celebrate my birthday. We all lead hectic lives and, having stayed there previously, I knew we would be escaping to peace and tranquillity. We were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome from Di and John - it was more like staying with old friends in their home than being in a hotel. We couldn't have been looked after better; they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. Every meal was delicious and obviously prepared with great care and attention to detail, including dietary requirements, as I have a wheat intolerance. Di baked a special almond cake with no flour and a candle for my birthday. Although it is cold in the mountains in December, following a good walk to a neighbouring village, we returned to find the hotel warm and inviting. We were only there for 2 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely be going back asap.

Room Tip: Each room has its own individual quality but all are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
244
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaucaire, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Have the other reviewers of this hotel used up all of the kind words available to describe Los Castanos? 98% of the visitors cannot be wrong. I can add little to the other comments except to say that comfort, friendliness and an intangible something make it so much more than just a hotel. Unique in my experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSilvertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I went for a two-night break with four friends, two of whom had been before. I found it wonderfully tranquil with a lovely air of friendly but unobtrusive hospitality, a bit like staying in an old friend's house. My room, number 4, was spacious, comfortable and really well equipped with lots of small details you don't always find, especially in the bathroom! There was also a large variety of books, magazines and games and small corners to retire to. It was very reasonably priced too. I would love to go back again to enjoy that atmosphere once more.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but mine, number 4, has a little balcony overlooking the village r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We chose to book at Los Castanos for two reasons. Firstly the location and secondly the numerous excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Well, we were not disappointed. We stayed for three nights in October and had a wonderful time. If you want to visit Ronda and the beautiful mountains in this part of Spain then Cartajima is a perfect base. Small and sleepy, it is a picture postcard village of this region. Not that there is much to do in Cartajima itself; it is very much just a base to get out and explore either on foot or by car.

As for the Trip Advisor reviews; they are wholly justified and we could find absolutely nothing to fault about this hotel. Our room was large, comfortable and had everything we would need. The roof terrace is a great place to sit and relax in the late afternoon and watch the sun sinking lower over the mountains. The downstairs dining and lounge areas are open plan and feel more like being in someone's home rather than a hotel. But effectively you are in someone's home. Di and John are wonderful, friendly and interesting hosts and we can't think of anywhere else we have been made to feel more welcome.

On a par with our recommendation to stay here is our suggestion to eat here at well. The deal we booked included one evening meal with our three night stay. We booked this for the first night giving us the flexibility to eat there again if we liked it. Needless to say we did eat there again and the second occasion was every bit as good as the first. Of course there are one or two highly recommended restaurants in Ronda, but we really don't think anyone would be disappointed by dining at Los Castanos. In a nutshell; Di is just a wonderful cook.

We hope we get an opportunity to return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at Los Castenos on a week's walking holiday and had a wonderful time. There are just 6 bedrooms which means you get personal service from your hosts and get to know your fellow guests. Ours was room 4 which was a very large room with minibar, well-stocked with reasonably-priced drinks, comfy chairs and a queen sized bed! The en-suite had twin basins and a double-sized shower, bidet and wc. We were pleased with the tea & coffee-making facilities, however, in this part of Spain you can only get UHT milk which although not our favourite did not spoil our early-morning cuppa.
Breakfast was served @ 9am which is quite late but this was because at the time of or visit, it did not get light until about 8.45am. We ordered a packed lunch most days, very useful if you're hiking in the mountains like we were. Di is a fabulous cook and in the evenings we enjoyed a most varied menu over our weeks stay and savoured some of the local wines. We sat up on the terrace most sunny afternoons, plenty of chairs and a couple of sun-loungers, and did not get bored with the amazing views.
Los Castenos is fantastic if you want to stay off the beaten track in a traditional Andalucian village and rate personal service and hospitality above swimming pools and private car parking. We loved it as we were looking for an escape from our normally busy lives but it may not suit you if you're seeking non-stop entertainment.
The most wonderful thing about Los Castenos aside fom Di and John of course, is that I recognise absolutely everybody who stayed there during our week from their rave reviews on Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a tiny balcony. Ours did but only got sun in the mornings. We would still recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manilva
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

An exceptionally charming and well run Hotel. The room was well designed, clean and spacious, with unusually good attention to small details such as the decent choice of teas provided. The bed was large and very comfortable. The choice for breakfast was surprisingly good and with prompt friendly service. We often stay in small villages in Andalucia and this hotel stands out both for its professionalism and the helpfulness of its owners.
We visited during a local festival, and the double glazing of the room's window and terrace doors was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have returned to Los Castaños for the third time and this hotel withstands the test of multiple return visits. With return visits it´s posible that the reality does not equal the memory. But not in the case of this B&B. It is charming from top to bottom, and the service and attention that one receives from owners Di and John is wonderful. This is a small and carefully tailored inn...each room has distinctive detail, the common spaces are comfortable and welcoming, Di serves a lovely breakfast each morning, and her dinners are delicious. The town of Cartijima is a beautiful example of southern Spain´s white towns with walks and hiking easily available right outside the front door of Los Castaños. We always leave our stay at Los Castaños feeling happy and rested. This inn is one of the best finds in all of Andalucia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
7.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Property: Hotel Los Castanos
Address: Plaza Pintor Miguel Martin 3 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing