We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chestnut Heaven!”
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Obviously, "castaño" means Chestnut in Spanish, hence the hotel's name, which is very apt because all around the little village of Cartajíma are woods thick with chestnut trees. These give the hotel, poised above the tiled rooftops of the ancient little houses it's unique character. The changing seasons offer a different vista every time one visits, fluffy bloom in Spring, deep lush greens in Summer, gold and bright browns in Autumn and in winter, columns of blue smoke curling into the sky. And the smell! There is nothing like the smell of a mountain village in winter. Every home has a wood burning hearth and of course a plentiful supply of firewood. Di and John have captured this atmosphere brilliantly in their little hotel, combining rustic ambiance with almost decadent comfort, both in the charming rooms and in the "living" spaces. Every taste is catered for, birdwatching, walking, painting or just relaxing with a professional massage. Every time I visit, Di spoils me (and everyone else) with her imaginative cooking and generous portions, followed by a relaxing chat by the fire. If that isn't "chestnut heaven" I'd like to know what is!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Los Castanos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Inspired by the positive reviews here, my friend and I stayed at Hotel Los Castanos as our first stop on a trip around Southern Spain. It was absolutely the right decision! Both being weary from the flight and new to this part of the world, the easygoing hospitality of Di and John instantly made us feel at home. The room was delightful, and the range of locally-produced beauty products in the en-suite was a distinctive, thoughtful touch. One of the highlights for us was our remarkable 3-course meal. Both being vegetarian, this might have set some people an unenviable task, but Di pulled it off with flair. Three mouthwatering courses which were unsurpassed on the rest of our trip. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank VforVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The deeper you travel into the mountains, the less chance there is of finding accommodation that is anything other than fairly basic. So when you stumble across Hotel Los Castanos, you really have discovered a gem. This boutique hotel in the tiny Andalucian mountainside village of Carjajima, is the very essence of comfort and style on a par with any big town or city hotel. The difference is in the hospitality of the owners, Di and John, who live in the hotel and who have such an easy way with them that by the time you leave you feel you have made a couple of new friends. Di also cooks up a storm of most amazing food I've eaten anywhere in Andalucia, and all served with local wines in the splendid dining room with a log fire roaring in the corner. There are only six spacious bedrooms, and each one is furnished with the utmost attention to detail, from the well stocked minibar and shelves lined with books to the fantastic showers and fluffy white towels to relax in after a long day walking in the hills. The little white village of Cartajima is like stepping back in time and I'd wager that not much has changed in it for hundreds of years - perhaps as it's a couple of hours drive from the Costa del Sol it hasn't been over run by tourists, which for me makes it just about perfect. The village has a couple of restaurants and bars, and a few miles drive across the valley will take you to some other very special restaurants. But for me, it it's the Hotel Los Castanos which is the major allure, and on a sunkissed afternoon, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather be than resting on the roof terrace with a glass of wine while gazing across the red rooftops to stunning views of the valley. It's so tranquil, you can hear the grass blowing in the breeze, and in that kind of atmosphere you might just find the peace you've been searching for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annasmith186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I recently went with a group of friends to Hotel Los Castanos to celebrate my birthday. We all lead hectic lives and, having stayed there previously, I knew we would be escaping to peace and tranquillity. We were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome from Di and John - it was more like staying with old friends in their home than being in a hotel. We couldn't have been looked after better; they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. Every meal was delicious and obviously prepared with great care and attention to detail, including dietary requirements, as I have a wheat intolerance. Di baked a special almond cake with no flour and a candle for my birthday. Although it is cold in the mountains in December, following a good walk to a neighbouring village, we returned to find the hotel warm and inviting. We were only there for 2 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely be going back asap.

Room Tip: Each room has its own individual quality but all are equally good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Have the other reviewers of this hotel used up all of the kind words available to describe Los Castanos? 98% of the visitors cannot be wrong. I can add little to the other comments except to say that comfort, friendliness and an intangible something make it so much more than just a hotel. Unique in my experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSilvertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I went for a two-night break with four friends, two of whom had been before. I found it wonderfully tranquil with a lovely air of friendly but unobtrusive hospitality, a bit like staying in an old friend's house. My room, number 4, was spacious, comfortable and really well equipped with lots of small details you don't always find, especially in the bathroom! There was also a large variety of books, magazines and games and small corners to retire to. It was very reasonably priced too. I would love to go back again to enjoy that atmosphere once more.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but mine, number 4, has a little balcony overlooking the village r...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We chose to book at Los Castanos for two reasons. Firstly the location and secondly the numerous excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Well, we were not disappointed. We stayed for three nights in October and had a wonderful time. If you want to visit Ronda and the beautiful mountains in this part of Spain then Cartajima is a perfect base. Small and sleepy, it is a picture postcard village of this region. Not that there is much to do in Cartajima itself; it is very much just a base to get out and explore either on foot or by car.

As for the Trip Advisor reviews; they are wholly justified and we could find absolutely nothing to fault about this hotel. Our room was large, comfortable and had everything we would need. The roof terrace is a great place to sit and relax in the late afternoon and watch the sun sinking lower over the mountains. The downstairs dining and lounge areas are open plan and feel more like being in someone's home rather than a hotel. But effectively you are in someone's home. Di and John are wonderful, friendly and interesting hosts and we can't think of anywhere else we have been made to feel more welcome.

On a par with our recommendation to stay here is our suggestion to eat here at well. The deal we booked included one evening meal with our three night stay. We booked this for the first night giving us the flexibility to eat there again if we liked it. Needless to say we did eat there again and the second occasion was every bit as good as the first. Of course there are one or two highly recommended restaurants in Ronda, but we really don't think anyone would be disappointed by dining at Los Castanos. In a nutshell; Di is just a wonderful cook.

We hope we get an opportunity to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,189 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
345 reviews
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia, 40 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range: £102 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing