We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay”
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I spent seven nights at Los Castanos in early April. We chose it for several reasons: reports of the great food, the beautiful setting, and the numerous possibilities for activities close at hand. All of the reports were certainly justified. The food was fresh, delicious, and varied--Di was unfazed by my husband's vegetarianism and cooked especially for him without a thought. The village and the surrounding area were breathtakingly beautiful. And, Di and John were so happy to suggest activities, to provide maps and directions for hikes, to recommend restaurants for lunch, etc. Their personal interest in our impressions was genuine. A bonus was being so close to Ronda, which we found to be an beautiful and interesting town. Our room was lovely and spacious, and we were very comfortable and relaxed during our week at Los Castanos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We did not come to Los Castanos because of all the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, as I don't always entirely trust them after all I have no idea who the reviewers are or what their standards or expectations of a hotel are. However in this case I am in complete accordance with the views of almost everyone else (has there been less than a 5 star review?) Hotel Los Castanos is probably as good a small intimate hotel as you will find anywhere, and I mean anywhere! Di & John who run the place are quite simply fantastic hoteliers and their desire to make your stay welcoming is out of the ordinary to the extent , on our visit, to preparing an excellent meal for 10 with Di's right hand in bandages following a nasty accident with a car door. Both they and the hotel deserve all the plaudits they get and you can believe them all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We can only reiterate what others have said : Di and John are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is full of charm and character, the view from the roof top terrace is stunning and the food is delicious. We hope to return again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking to stay in a tranquil Andalucian village.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a small balcony with mountain views, king size bed and a large walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ten of us spent three days at Los Castanos after a two week trip to Morocco. It couldn't have been a better place to process our experience after being on sensory overload. We arrived at midnight after a series of travel delays, and Di had a wonderful meal on the table for us.
The keys to a guaranteed good time at Los Castanos are Di and John's attention to detail, genuine hospitality and extraordinary cuisine.. Each room is unique and comfortable, and it is very tempting to relax on one's own balcony, or on the rooftop deck, and take advantage of the well stocked library and bar. Cartajima is a beautiful village, and well situated for visiting the white cities of Andalucía. And Di and John are very helpful with recommendations for daily itineraries, destinations and restaurants. It was with great reluctance that we headed down the hill to the airport at Malaga for the long trip home to California. Thanks for a wonderful finale. We'd love an encore.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and comfortable. One is on the ground floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graphil34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our first visit to this part of Spain and what a find! Los Castanos is situated in Andalucia's Alto Genal with magnificent views and great walking area. The Hotel, which is more like an extension of Di & John's home, has been designed with a Moroccan theme throughout and all you could possibly want for a most comfortable stay. John, with his expert knowledge of the area, devised our walks with detailed help, complete with the weather forecast for the day. Di, has the gift of presenting the most tasty meals ever. We were thoroughly spoilt throughout the whole week and only wish we could have stayed longer.

Beautiful hotel, wonderful hosts, fantastic food...what more do you want?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our second visit to Los Castanos and again everything was faultless. Di's cooking is fantastic - she will always present you with something special after making sure you don't have any allergies or food that you simply don't like. The location is perfect for walking or touring the many interesting villages in the area. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable with all needs catered for and the mountain views spectacular. Di & John are the perfect hosts. This is the perfect place to relax and be spoiled with great food,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at Los Castanos in late February and in terms of the warmth of welcome, the accommodation, the food and the overall ambience of the hotel together with detailed help and advice about what to do and where to go we could not have done better. Super area for walking, wildlife and photography and coming back to a lovely log fire was great. Thank you both for making our stay such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewartA90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,497 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
350 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia, 40 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range: £104 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing