We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Los Castanos
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sierra Hidalga(Ronda)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Gabriel(Ronda)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Ronda(Ronda)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Plaza de Toros(Ronda)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
402
13
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
13
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceother guestsgreat hostswhite villageslocal walksan excellent cooknearby rondasmall hotelandalusian villagepeter jonesperfect retreatshort drivecharming hotelvisit rondasouthern spainwonderful staycomfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at Los Castanos at the end of a 10 day vacation in Spain. This was the perfect ending to our trip. We were really taken back by the beauty of Cartajima, and Di has done a wonderful job building a beautiful retreat in this quaint town. The hotel itself feels like a home, and Di and John are the perfect hosts, making us feel like we were staying with family or friends. Our room was large and beautifully decorated. We sat on the rooftop terrace every day, enjoying the views and just relaxing. We did have dinner at Los Castanos one night (it was my husbands birthday)...what a wonderful experience. The food was incredible, and no details were overlooked. Di's attention to detail is seen in so many ways, and makes for a very special stay. We truly loved our stay, and hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ree-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a delightful and picturesque area of Spain. Cartajima is a sparkling white village set in the mountainous Serrania de Ronda and the town of Ronda, a short distance away, is well worth a visit. Di and John gave us a very warm welcome and provided everything we needed. Their help re local walks and information was invaluable. Evening meals,cooked by Di with fresh local produce, were both delicious and very varied. Our room was very clean,comfortable with king sized bed, large bathroom with pleasant smelling olive oil toiletries provided and there was a small balcony over looking the village. We recommend this truly remarkable hotel to everyone and have already told all our friends and family about it. Thanks Di and John for making our first holiday in Spain so memorable.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel. Ours was room 8 and very good. We had a lovely view across the village and chestnut plantations. We have no experience of the other rooms but are sure they are equally as good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Los Castanos is wonderfully situated on a lovely hillside with splendid walking from the door. The house is brilliantly designed with lovely sitting and dining areas, a sweet little patio and a fine roof terrace with amazing views. Bedrooms are very comfortable and well equipped . Di's cooking is excellent and she provided us with delicious meals, lots of variety, tasty appetizers and freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. John and Di are marvellous hosts - very friendly and full of local information and the hotel attracts a very interesting and eclectic mix of guests, so there is lots of laughter with everyone mixing and thoroughly enjoying a house-party atmosphere.
We will most certainly return in the foreseeable future

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granny6Monmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we had a perfect three days here...lovely rooms, views, walks, food ...we have stayed in many similar places in Andalucia..this place is one of the very best......Di and John were fabulous hosts Di's dinners were memorable.......we can't wait to go back...hoping to do so with friends next spring

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies those at the front have wonderful views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a fabulous time staying at Los Castanos. -we are back home and looking at pictures and definitely hope to go back some day - and will recommend to our friends . Beautiful detailing in the common rooms and bedrooms. Food exceptional. Di and John were very helpful in identifying places to visit and make our trip a memorable one

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews