We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONce in a life time”
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Los Castanos is in the mountains, nestled in a village that stood still centuries ago. The boutique hotel itself is new, and is both open and cozy, with bright spacious rooms and bathrooms ,all with mountain and village views. It was so relaxing sitting on the roof top terrace gazing at layers of mountains and sipping great Spanish wine. Di and Denny, the owners, were so warm and interesting and could not do enough for you. The only drawback was you needed a car and had to navigate a very windy road for about 4 miles up a mountain. YOu really have to see this village and enjoy Di and Denny's hospitality! The food was just fabulous also!
Judy Repke, Alexandria, Virginia

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2006

My wife and I (Aussies resident in the USA) stayed with Di and Denny for 5 days in the first week of July 2006 - just perfect, and so peaceful. Magnificent views from our little balcony. We experienced the first opening of a coffee bar to be run by Di's daughter Lu, situated underneath the main hotel and entering off the square near the church. Great drinks and some neat gifts as well to purchase. The village location is wonderful for exploring other white villages (we walked to one or these and back through the valley - great experience but very hot at this time of the year), and drove to many other villages as well as to Ronda which is no more than 30 minutes away. Perhaps our best experience was the simplest one - walking to the local restaurant in Cartajima (about 5 minutes away from the Hotel) and sitting outside in the evening with the locals, eating wonderful simple food and looking out over the valleys as the sun disappeared. Definitely recommend this Hotel and this area to escape to and really relax. Any time of year would be great although I can imagine how superb it would be in the spring or fall when the weather would be better for walks.

Donna and I loved our stay so thanks to you all and best of luck with the Hotel, coffee shop etc.

Jon and Donna Sedgwick

2  Thank ossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Formby, Liverpool, UK
12
Reviewed 7 July 2006

Well we returned and as expected it is still a wonderful place to stay. The only thing different this time was the weather, it was beautiful and gave us the opportunity to use our terrace each day.

As my husband 'the avid birdwatcher' from Christmas 2005 said, he thought he had 'died and gone to heaven'. Booted Eagles, Short Toed Eagles, Griffin Vultures, Bee Eaters, Nightingales, Golden Orioles, to name just a few of his very large 'tick' list and many were spotted from our very own terrace! Bird Watchers everywhere, this really is the place to stay. Walkers would also love it, the walks around the hotel are beautiful and the wild flowers just take your breath away.

For me (none-bird watcher), I was able to have breakfast on our terrace, use the splash pool, relax and read my books and have an unforgetable lunch on the main terrace with Di and Denny and family ( just happened to be around - nothing planned).

As for Di and Denny, nothing has changed, they are still the most wonderful hosts and leaving them was not too bad this time because we know we will be back again very soon. Our friends who accompanied us last Christmas have already booked to stay again in September and they very rarely return to the same place twice - very good sign! I hope Di remembers to double her order for Gin !!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mclean, VA
537
Reviewed 17 April 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AliCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TonyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,513 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
6.7 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
208 reviews
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia 40 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range: £86 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing