We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent relaxing weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Grove Log Cabins
England, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for a weekend in the "Woodpecker" log cabin at the end of April 2014 to celebrate my wife's birthday.

We were given scones with jam and clotted cream as a welcome which was a lovely surprise since we'd not read other people's reviews. Sorry if that spoils the surprise for you!

The park is located away from busy roads, surrounded by farms and woodlands. Indeed, much of the park is woodland, making it a fantastic place for children of all ages to explore, find dens and enjoy being outdoors. The log cabins are nestled in the woods, surrounded by Rhododendrons and trees.

The cabins are solid wood log cabins, not prefab or wooden panels. The cabin was clean, bright (despite the weather) and spacious. There is a very solid feeling to the cabins. The sky lights kept making us think we'd left a light on in the main bedroom or dining area. The bed linen was clean and fresh. The thick, soft, white towels were perfectly clean and there were more than enough for our family of four. The beds, table and chairs, sofas, rug, chandeliers and other fittings and furnishings have clearly been quality selections that will last. Everything in the cabin is of a far higher specification than we've found in other cabins.

The main bedroom has a double bed with a firm mattress (perfect for me), large chest of drawers and a wardrobe with bedside cabinets both sides. We didn't use these as we were only there for the weekend. The second bedroom has two single beds with cabinets and a wardrobe. Beware; you can hear every word people whisper in the other bedroom, which amused our teenage kids no end when my wife whispered "No hanky panky then".

There was a large basket of hardwood and a large bucket of kindling and newspaper which provided us with a number of lovely warm fires over the weekend. The wood burning is easy to manage with vents above and below and a tool on the side to shake ash through the grate that doubles as a means of operating the door handle that becomes hot and the handle for the ash tray. In a corner of the lounge there was a collection of novels and DVDs. There's a TV on a swing arm that plays DVDs and has TV channels though we only watched a few DVDs. (Who wants to know what's happening in the real world when in such an ideal setting?)

The kitchen was well equipped with pans, utensils, cutlery and plenty of crockery for more than four people. There was a four ring hob above a full size cooker which was simple enough to operate. We grilled sausages and bacon and cooked a roast chicken perfectly. Beside the oven was a dishwasher that we used once because we prefer to wash and pack away in one go. Beside that was the bin cabinet which is below the sink with washing up bowl. There was a sponge and washing up liquid as well; everything we needed. Beside that is the cabinet with the boiler for the hot water and central heating. The microwave is in the same cupboard.

To clean up at the end of our weekend, there was a vacuum cleaner in the main bedroom wardrobe, a broom behind the bathroom door, and a dust pan and brush in the cabinet where the microwave and boiler are.

We had a great weekend. We enjoyed a walk on the Saturday and an outing on the Sunday. The weather wasn't great, but that made it all the better for being in a cabin with a log fire rather than a tent. Richard and Helen were very friendly and welcoming.

We're telling all our friends how lovely it is and we're planning our next visit in Winter, possibly near Christmas so we can enjoy the log fire again. Then a again a Summer break would be nice too.... :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a well deserved break and we all really feel better for it, Alpine Grove log cabins are the most comfortable well appointed self catering accommodations we have ever stayed in. The living room, bedrooms and bathroom were spacious and warm, the beds comfortable and the linen spotless. Set in the woodlands full of wildlife to watch which living in the city we don't normally get. Well Done
Pam Bill and Jack Evans April 2014

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for a week in the Roe Deer log cabin and the cabins are fantastic really well equipt and clean and we were blessed with fantastic weather which made the week. It was a lot quieter than expected and smaller but in some ways that was nice as peaceful. The children loved it and made friends and enjoyed the woodlands and park onsite. All in all would go back but wish you could guarentee the weather as that certainly made the holiday :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed over Christmas. The log cabin was decorated for us and it was probably one of the best and most relaxing Christmas's ever. We arrived on a stormy day was lovely to hear the forest around us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights to look around the area whilst house hunting. The log cabin is lovely and very warm. The rooms are a reasonable size and the bathroom huge with a fantastic shower. The kitchen is adequate and there is a good size dining table. The noise of the rain and twigs (it was very windy when we stayed) on the Velux window was a slight problem but ear plugs work well at night! Richard was very friendly and helpful. Plenty of good places to eat near by and shops in Chard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane-line-dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked to cabin to de-stress after a hectic Christmas and Boxing day 2013. We found the site nestled in a quiet down in Somerset. The site is set in a privade wooded area and has a very secure entrance with electronic gate. We were greeted kindly by Richard who served us some mince pied and cream on arrival which was a lovely touch!! We stayed in the Roe Deer cabin for 3 nights and were very lucky with the weather, the site was nicely laid out and the cabin was lovely and spacious for a family of 5 with a young infant, it was also very safe for our little one without too many items he could hurt himself on or cause any damage. We visited Longleat safari park during our stay as well as exploring the woods and surrounding area with the children. All in all a lovely quiet getaway that we will definitely repeat. would not hesitate to recommend to our friends!!

Room Tip: We stayed in roe deer cabin which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_Gillitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for four days over October half term 2013. The log cabin was new and in great condition. Very clean and all modern equipment. Warm and welcoming. Lots of thought put into the decor and the biggest surprise was the large size of the bedrooms and bathroom. Three children and two adults and we didn't feel squashed in. Very peaceful location, secluded cabins for privacy and great playground for children. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
0.0 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 15 in Fordingbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpine Grove Touring Park
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Grove Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Grove Log Cabins

Property: Alpine Grove Log Cabins
Address: Forton TA20 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Forton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Solid Wood Scandinavian Log Cabins are set in a mature oak woodland which are fully furnished with all modern facilities. The cabins are fully centrally heated plus have a real wood burner.On site is a heated outdoor pool plus play area with table- tennis area, and a small shop. We are ideally situated only 9 miles from Lyme Regis beach (fossil hunters paradise)and on the borders of Dorset, Devon & Somerset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Grove Log Cabins Forton, UK - Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing