We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpin Grove Log Cabin Highly recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Grove Log Cabins
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently stayed at Alpine Grove in one of their log cabins.
The weather was ok ish but as we had all mod cons in our cabin it was no problem, plenty to do on site for the kids.
Would highly recommend this if you are thinking of staying in a log cabin, dog friendly too !
One nice touch was the cream tea waiting for us.
This is the only site that I would definitely go back to again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a midweek 4 night stay and can only say that it was not long enough! The site was beautiful and we were blessed with brilliant sunshine. There is loads to do in the surrounding areas and the beaches are gorgeous. We had a dog friendly cabin, and I was so impressed with the cleanliness, we had stayed in dog friendly places before and the standards were pretty poor, but here, you wouldn't know. I have booked to come back in 6 weeks time, hopefully the weather will be as good...although to hear the rain on the roof of the cabin and on the trees would be pretty magical I imagine! I recommend this to anyone seeking a quiet, friendly, picturesque site for their holiday base. It's amazing :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for a weekend in the "Woodpecker" log cabin at the end of April 2014 to celebrate my wife's birthday.

We were given scones with jam and clotted cream as a welcome which was a lovely surprise since we'd not read other people's reviews. Sorry if that spoils the surprise for you!

The park is located away from busy roads, surrounded by farms and woodlands. Indeed, much of the park is woodland, making it a fantastic place for children of all ages to explore, find dens and enjoy being outdoors. The log cabins are nestled in the woods, surrounded by Rhododendrons and trees.

The cabins are solid wood log cabins, not prefab or wooden panels. The cabin was clean, bright (despite the weather) and spacious. There is a very solid feeling to the cabins. The sky lights kept making us think we'd left a light on in the main bedroom or dining area. The bed linen was clean and fresh. The thick, soft, white towels were perfectly clean and there were more than enough for our family of four. The beds, table and chairs, sofas, rug, chandeliers and other fittings and furnishings have clearly been quality selections that will last. Everything in the cabin is of a far higher specification than we've found in other cabins.

The main bedroom has a double bed with a firm mattress (perfect for me), large chest of drawers and a wardrobe with bedside cabinets both sides. We didn't use these as we were only there for the weekend. The second bedroom has two single beds with cabinets and a wardrobe. Beware; you can hear every word people whisper in the other bedroom, which amused our teenage kids no end when my wife whispered "No hanky panky then".

There was a large basket of hardwood and a large bucket of kindling and newspaper which provided us with a number of lovely warm fires over the weekend. The wood burning is easy to manage with vents above and below and a tool on the side to shake ash through the grate that doubles as a means of operating the door handle that becomes hot and the handle for the ash tray. In a corner of the lounge there was a collection of novels and DVDs. There's a TV on a swing arm that plays DVDs and has TV channels though we only watched a few DVDs. (Who wants to know what's happening in the real world when in such an ideal setting?)

The kitchen was well equipped with pans, utensils, cutlery and plenty of crockery for more than four people. There was a four ring hob above a full size cooker which was simple enough to operate. We grilled sausages and bacon and cooked a roast chicken perfectly. Beside the oven was a dishwasher that we used once because we prefer to wash and pack away in one go. Beside that was the bin cabinet which is below the sink with washing up bowl. There was a sponge and washing up liquid as well; everything we needed. Beside that is the cabinet with the boiler for the hot water and central heating. The microwave is in the same cupboard.

To clean up at the end of our weekend, there was a vacuum cleaner in the main bedroom wardrobe, a broom behind the bathroom door, and a dust pan and brush in the cabinet where the microwave and boiler are.

We had a great weekend. We enjoyed a walk on the Saturday and an outing on the Sunday. The weather wasn't great, but that made it all the better for being in a cabin with a log fire rather than a tent. Richard and Helen were very friendly and welcoming.

We're telling all our friends how lovely it is and we're planning our next visit in Winter, possibly near Christmas so we can enjoy the log fire again. Then a again a Summer break would be nice too.... :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a well deserved break and we all really feel better for it, Alpine Grove log cabins are the most comfortable well appointed self catering accommodations we have ever stayed in. The living room, bedrooms and bathroom were spacious and warm, the beds comfortable and the linen spotless. Set in the woodlands full of wildlife to watch which living in the city we don't normally get. Well Done
Pam Bill and Jack Evans April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for a week in the Roe Deer log cabin and the cabins are fantastic really well equipt and clean and we were blessed with fantastic weather which made the week. It was a lot quieter than expected and smaller but in some ways that was nice as peaceful. The children loved it and made friends and enjoyed the woodlands and park onsite. All in all would go back but wish you could guarentee the weather as that certainly made the holiday :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed over Christmas. The log cabin was decorated for us and it was probably one of the best and most relaxing Christmas's ever. We arrived on a stormy day was lovely to hear the forest around us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights to look around the area whilst house hunting. The log cabin is lovely and very warm. The rooms are a reasonable size and the bathroom huge with a fantastic shower. The kitchen is adequate and there is a good size dining table. The noise of the rain and twigs (it was very windy when we stayed) on the Velux window was a slight problem but ear plugs work well at night! Richard was very friendly and helpful. Plenty of good places to eat near by and shops in Chard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane-line-dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alpine Grove Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Grove Log Cabins

Address: Forton TA20 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Forton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Forton
Price Range: £47 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Solid Wood Scandinavian Log Cabins are set in a mature oak woodland which are fully furnished with all modern facilities. The cabins are fully centrally heated plus have a real wood burner.On site is a heated outdoor pool plus play area with table- tennis area, and a small shop. We are ideally situated only 9 miles from Lyme Regis beach (fossil hunters paradise)and on the borders of Dorset, Devon & Somerset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Grove Log Cabins Forton, UK - Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing