We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Blue friendly country hospitality.”

Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forsayth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest
Ranked #1 of 1 Forsayth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2011

You have to stop in at the "Goldfields Hotel" for a coldie and or a meal. Helen is a local lady, the new publican and is one of the friendliest faces in town, not to mention being a wealth of knowledge about the area. Nothing is a problem at the Goldfield's Hotel. The Goldfields Hotel has lovely shady trees at the front and is really cool, relaxing and inviting veranda to plonk yourself on, read a book and have a drink. i stayed here at the pub on my recent train trip on the Savannahlander train. The rooms are out the back of the pub, are quiet and look out to a shady garden. The rooms are clean and comfy, with Helen's homely touch. Some of the accommodation have ensuites and are set up for families. My room even had a double bed and was clean and comfy.

THE GOLDFIELD'S HOTEL is family operated and so so friendly. This hotel suits everyone of all types and is especially great if you are planning a family trip from Cairns with young children. There is so much to see out there in the area, especially the likes of Cobbold George and old historic mine sites in Forsayth itself. The meals are great at the Goldfields Hotel, the atmosphere is relaxed, unpretentious and friendly. There are some historic photos on display and an old bottle collection and agate display. Can't wait to come back to the Goldfield's Hotel in Forsayth and spend some more time just having a look around. Next time i'll bring the kids. Oh and nearly forgot to say that you see some of the most magnificent sunsets from sitting on the front veranda of this hotel, especially at winter time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Funnygirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitforsayth4871, Director of Sales at Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Hi Funnygirl68, thank you for your lovely review. The Goldfields Hotel is now under new management and welcomes you back to enjoy your country hospitality once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Helen and her son have just taken over the pub. Helen worked at the pub for 20 years before being given the chance to take the pub on herself. Friday night the pub is rocking and their is a variety of lovely meals on offer. If you want something cooked on other days just let her know in the morning so she can prepare.
We had a magnificent steak and salad meal for $15 and was the best we had had for a long time.
Her pub has an interesting collection of agates and jewellry from around the area as well as some old relics from the past on display.
There are plenty of places to choose to eat...a beer garden out the back, inside in the restaurant or out the front verandah.
We arranged with Helen for breakfast the next day and had a yummy bacon,eggs,sausage and tomato plate.
Service is great and friendly as a country pub should be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mistysong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitforsayth4871, Director of Sales at Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Hi mistysong, thanks for your review. Great to hear you had a wonderful time at the Goldfields Hotel. The pub is now under new management and we welcome you to come visit us and once again enjoy our country hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The publican at this remote Queensland hotel appears to have had a 'personality bypass.'

He was 'distant' to our grou[p: not rude - more like stulied indifference.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitforsayth4871, Director of Sales at Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear Victorianlad, thank you for visiting the Goldfields Hotel in Forsayth. We are sorry your experience was not a memorable one. The Hotel is under new management as of October 2014 and we welcome you back to visit us and this time round, enjoy our country hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alessandrosart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitforsayth4871, Director of Sales at Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldfields Hotel & Finnigan's Rest

Address: Corner First and Fourth St, Forsayth, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Forsayth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Forsayth
Price Range: £23 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing