We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the lap of Nature”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pinewood (HPTDC)
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barog
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In the lap of Nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is a Himachal Tourism hotel in Barog on Chandigarh- Shimla highway,close to Solan.It is beautifully set on a hillock in the Shivalik range of mountains.It is a large property,housing a cafateria,restaurant,walking track,some playing facilities for kids,swings for all age groups and mood swings
.
We went with family,stayed there for three days and three nights in June 2014.

Food quality,service,locale all very good.This time weather gods were not very happy.It rained,but scantily.So temperature was pleasant in the mornings and evenings only.Last year around this time,it was quite cool.Then it rained intermittently.

It is a place where one can stay in peace and tranquility,in good comfort and care.Even if one doesn't want to visit nearby places,this property is a perfect sanctuary for a brief holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a much better view of mountains and ever changing skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuldip20012001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    64
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

we stated our trip from Delhi. as we headed towards kinnaur and kalpa it was on the list. the hotel is very good. it is near chail. moreover the nature is peaceful and tranquil here. and the accommodation of this hotel and the service is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamika31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The main attraction for this hotel is location. This is close to Chail, Shimla, Solan. The view is not so great due to the trees around the property, not at least from the room I got (110?).
They can improve a little bit on cleanliness of the carpet and the bathroom.
Food in the restaurant is not the best but it's not bad as well. Quite good in fact if one compares it with the places around.
In general, HPTDC hotels are well maintained and this is no exception. The staffs are quite friendly, again I had similar experience in other HPTDC hotels.
I stayed in this hotel a couple of times and don't mind staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdsmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nice property with not so great views because of lack of altitude and vegetation around.........if you're particular about views, choose Barog Heights that's right above Pinewood, perched on the mountain top.

Bang on the main road can be a bit of disturbance expecially if you're looking for a 'quiet place' to spend time.

One thing that deserves full marks is the indoor restaurant and outdoor cafe (that's open during daytime). Preparation is finger licking good, compared to little options around and the warmth that's extended during the service.

Don't miss to try their amazing 'Chana Bhatura' for breakfast or anytime during the day, that comes with generous serving of chana and extra bhaturas if need be.........far far better than all my previous experiences with this dish. I even got a few plates packed for my friends in Solan town to give them a feel of great taste.

In a nutshell, if you wish to have best of both the worlds i.e. great location & great food .........suggest you stay @ Barog Heights and eat @ Pinewood.........you won't regret.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoop_Singh_Attri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a nice place for one day of family vacation. good outdoors, nice gardens and very well located.
Food is good and staff as usual which is hallmark of hptdc , every staff member is warm and friendly.
Not much to do beyond one day though good place to just cut off and submerge in books and nature.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Columbuspioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

In close proximity to Chandigarh, this can be a good retreat option if you don't want to travel a lot (30 kms before Shimla) and stay away from the crowd. Owned by HPTDC and hence a prime location. Construction and rooms are not that great considering the rentals but the awesome scenery is hard to tell.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are cheaper and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid_Deb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Noida, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

1. Decent Cost
2. Easily available, depending on time of the year
3. Proximity to Solan, Chail etc.
4. Excellent location and each room facing the road has a great view of the mountains
5. Food is tasty and served with a smile, cost is appropriate too
6. Maintenance/Upkeep is an issue as with all Government Owned / managed properties
7. Staff is helpful, but the attitude is "Sarkari", with a huge dallop of "Chalta hai" steeped in
8. The restaurant and the snacks areas are well stocked but the level of service leaves a little to be further desired
9. Rooms are airy and well appointed
10 Additional care to the grooming in many rooms would be advisable. A periodic (frequent) cleaning of carpeted rooms is a must. I suffer from dust allergy and the carpets were not too helpful to my condition
11. Toilets MUST be better maintained for a hotel of this standard
12. Most Indian hotels MUST be encouraged to stock better sanitary ware and associated toilet kits and this place is no exception.

Room Tip: Select any of the road facing rooms. The Rooms on the opposite side are dead locked and have no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srivas_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barog
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barog Heights
Hotel Barog Heights
#2 of 3 in Barog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shivalik Hotel & Resorts
Shivalik Hotel & Resorts
#3 of 4 in Dharampur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Whispering Winds
Hotel Whispering Winds
#1 of 4 in Dharampur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Kasauli Continental Resort
4.6 mi away
Sunrise Cottage
Sunrise Cottage
#13 of 16 in Kasauli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.7 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#1 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinewood (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinewood (HPTDC)

Property: The Pinewood (HPTDC)
Address: Barog 173212, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Barog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
The Pinewood (HPTDC) Barog, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing