We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
28
69
21
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
69
21
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice locationdecent propertytrain stationfirst floorrooms are spacioustable tennispinewoodhptdcshimlasolanweekendhighwaynatureambienceheaterjourneybilliards
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We ordered food. While on wait time, we saw some old time photos on wall.
They were fabulous.
Old time shimla photos, solan and many more.
Train and snow in solan train station in 1869. So beautiful...

Food was also good.
Many point to click Photos in park area.

Very good time.
Happy with service, food and photos..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ankit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is right on the highway and easily approachable. Stopped here for lunch. The food was excellent and grt value for money. We ordered Mix vegetables that were crispy and very tasty. The hotel ambience is also relaxed. The hotel grounds have a lot of space to sit around.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raj064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Location of the hotel is excellent on main highway to Shimla. Parking is available. The place is designed using the different levels. The interior of the hotel is excellent and the behavior of the staff is very curtious. The hotel have arrangement for all types of food including drinks and Continental. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank vsyadav65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We were actually heading for Chail and had over bookings at Chail palace hotel which is also an HPTDC property, however the main route to chail was blocked and the alternate route was having a dead-lock traffic jam, So we decided to head a bit back and stay a Barog instead. The HPTDC staff were understanding enough to accommodate us to the pinewood hotel at barog instead of chail, and w only had to pay the difference of the room prices.
There is not much to do in barog so we spent most of our time at hotel, since we were relatively large group so we had fun..
The food was good and the coffee shop is a nice place to sit out and have warm sun..however the hotel and the rooms were quite old fashioned and seems to be in need of a lot of maintenance. The bed covers & blankets didn't seems to clean and were very dusty as well. For the price we paid, in my opinion was not worth it...

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ReviewerIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Got the hotel on the way to chail.
No elevator, means we bring our own luggage upstairs (I wasn't that fit that day)
the room was spacious but a bit outdated. The balcony are the same. I guessed it will take a lot to upgrade the entire premise. I have impression that there are no attraction nearby as well.
However, this hotel have a good staff, great garden and I am fine with it.
I have to say that this is a decent stopover hotel indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelinDewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews