We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Sunday Lunch Great Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Pickhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
thirsk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family Sunday Lunch Great Experience!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We booked a family Sunday lunch at the Nags Head for me, my husband and our two young children. We had a warm welcome on arrival and we were shown to our table which we had pre-booked in the Bar. The menu is seasonal with a good choice of dishes for all palates. The waitress was very knowledgeable and children's portions wasn't a problem. Both me and my husband opted for a starter and they were happy to bring the children's meals with our starters. The food and service was of excellent quality and cannot be faulted at all.
We enjoyed our Sunday lunch and would highly recommend the Nags Head to anyone who enjoys good food, fine wines/ales and a good overall dining experience whether it be with family, friends or a more intimate dining experience.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank the6fletchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    39
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
74
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

What a find! This delightful little inn with residential accommodation has not disappointed us on two separate visits this year. A very well equipped and comfortable bedroom with lashings of hot water and a magnificent view ensured a good night's sleep on a journey from the north to the south. (It is about two miles off the A 1 but temporarily more difficult to find if going north rather than south due to the interminable road works). Good selection of beers in the cosy bar and really excellent dining room with imaginative cooking apparently using quality local produce. The best breakfast we have had in terms of both food and service for many a day! Well worth seeking out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank much_travelled819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

First visited Nags Head in early 80's and thought it was exceptional then, but somehow never returned untill we recently retired, never thinking the owners would be still there. We were very pleasantly surprised and memories came flooding back. Our long weekend was thoroughly enjoyable, very comfortable and clean room and a large bathroom to spread out in. Two of our evening meals were taken in the bar and a third in the dining room where all breakfasts were served. The extensive menu covering all courses needed at least two gin and tonics worth of consideration. The range of offerings included for starters, crispy whitebait and plump cod cheeks in garlc and seeweed to die for, mains included, breast of grouse, wild hare, pheasant etc and numerous fish and seafood choices. Desserts (if could manage one) spoilt you immensely. To wash it down, a good range of wines from around the world, at reasonable prices. We chose a South African red, which was unbelievably smooth, leaving you gasping for more. An excellant selection of after dinner drinks and liqueures was also available as a night cap. It was also good to see Edward serving a customer 'Hendricks' gin correctly (with a slice of cucumber, not a lot of bar personnel know this).
The owners were perfect and interesting hosts at all times, making us very welcome throughout our stay. Also complimenting the team were the dining room staff who were extremely pleasant at all times. Having returned from such a superb weekend, we have recommended the Nags Head to all our friends and would continue to do so to anyone. If you like to enjoy high quality superb food and wine in pleasant surroundings with interesting hosts, go and "fill your boots", go on spoil yourself, you deserve it.

Room Tip: We were given room 27 which had a large bathroom and we had no complaints. Although room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredlayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Having stayed here before, we knew what to expect, and we were not disappointed. Having read the recent reviews we were surprised by some of the negative comments, especially about the food and service. We found the menu to be varied and interesting, and the cooking was of the highest standard. The bar and restaurant, rather than being "drab" was full of character and atmosphere. The service we found to be exemplary.

The rooms are a little dated, and could do with a make over, but they were clean and satisfactory, although I was surprised that the TV had no "digital box" so viewing was limited to the terrestrial channels.

Overall a very pleasant stay, and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllinghamTripod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We recently returned from our 12th weekend at the Nags Head in the last 4 years. This most recent trip was for my wife's 40th birthday - I had offered to take her to Venice but she chose the Nags Head instead as she wanted to be sure of a memorable time. It didn't disappoint and it never has. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are welcoming and knowledgable and the food is superb. We are looking forward to our next trip in 4 weeks time and to many more trips in the coming years.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We went in a large party of 12 to the Nags Head last Sunday for lunch. The food was delicious and we sat in the dining room which was very homely. There was a great selection on the menu but we all had the Roast Beef which was cooked to perfection. The two girls serving us were very friendly and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easty Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed one night here and had dinner in the restaurant. The room was drab and dated. For £93 I expected a much nicer room. The main problem here though was the awful food and the miserable staff. My seafood pancake starter was horrible, the sauce tasted like it came from a packet and the pancake was thick and stodgy. The seafood smelt really bad. My maincourse was not much better, I had Grouse wellington and the pastry was moslty white and soggy, the mashed potatoe it came with was probably the worst i have tasted. I ate about a quarter of my food. When i mentioned it to the waitress she went to see the chef, and i never saw her again except when she threw the dessert menu in front of me. Needless to say i dare not risk any more bad food, so went to bed very hungry. When we left the following day she refused to take anything off the bill, she didn't even apologise making out that it was me who chose wrong. she said they had tasted the food in the kitchen and it was ok. If your time is precious like ours and you can not afford to waste your time and money on bad food and bad staff attitude then do not go here!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickhill
3.9 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
721 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
129 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
464 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
906 reviews
16.7 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Address: Street Lane | Thirsk, Pickhill YO7 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pickhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential Country Inn situated one mile east of the A1. A feasting and meeting place for families, clubs and business people, a friendly local pub serving real ales and a superb restaurant where the atmosphere is relaxed whilst the service is impeccable. 7 en-suite bedrooms. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn And Restaurant
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Pickhill
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant Pickhill, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing