We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Pickhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south tyneside england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stop off lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We found this lovely inn on our way back home today from a weekend stay in Manchester it's a little off the regular routes but well worth the 10 min drive from the motorway.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was lovely we will probably return the next time we are in the area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Milller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    38
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
71
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, evening out , avoid this place! Saturday, night, we had organised to meet a couple of friends for dinner. Within minutes of arriving, greeting our friends, and ordering our drinks, we were approached by a very abrupt lady, wanting to take our food order. We hadn't even seen the menu. She continued to stand over us, pen in hand, while we chose. Having been told they were very busy, we were promptly, ushered to our table, in the restaurant. Occupied by only 2 others, we waited, a good 20 mins before any food arrived. The food was very good may I add, but no sooner had coffee arrived, we were presented with a bill on the table. Offering to pay, we were abruptly told to pay in reception. Just to cap it all, I produced my debit card, only to be asked if I would like to make a donation for the service. All in all, service was rude, rushed and very inhospitable, to say the least. Thought dining out was meant to be leisure time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Having read the excellent reviews on the Nags Head we were in the area, looking at properties, and decided that it would be a welcome break to have lunch at the Nags Head. First impressions appeared good . . , good menu, lots of choice, and clean and comfortable surroundings. However, immediately after were given the lunch menu and deciding what to choose we were shouted from the bar, asking what we wanted to drink! The member of staff didn't even have the courtesy to come over to us. Despite that (and my partner questioning whether we should go elsewhere) I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and so we ordered our food. When the food arrived one of the dishes was luke warm but instead of causing a fuss we just got on and started our meal. My choice of beef pie look good but sorry to say it was almost inedible due to heavy salting, with meat was so tough that I could not finish it. In addition, unfortunately we were overwhelmed with flies at the table. We appreciate that this is a country pub and at this time of year the work on the fields means that, inevitably ,there will be flies , but this was unbearable. In mitigation the member of staff did acknowledge our discomfort and explained that they had run out of citronella to keep the flies away from the tables. All in all, we were really disappointed and, sadly, the curt manner of the member of staff just added to the negative experience Even when I simply asked for directions to the toilet I felt foolish when he just pointed behind me as if I was stupid not seeing the sign. It is with great disappointment that we have to submit such a negative report.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

A smashing place to stay in a small and sleepy village. Some have commented on bedrooms being tired and maybe old fashioned, but they are absolutely fine and definitely fine for the price charged. Spotlessly clean as well. The food here was magnificent and so well presented both at dinner and at breakfast. Real ale was well looked after. The pub inside is traditional and just as we like. The owners have a great and dry sense of humour which some reviewers have seemingly dismissed as rudeness - not at all, if you take the time to talk to them you'll find out - they are very hard working people! Will definitely be back and will probably take some friends next time as it's a safe bet that everyone will like it. A really good value place to go for a weekend or short break and so close to the A1 as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a real gem in a tiny village, the accommodation is clean and functional, the bar is great in the old style good beer and pleasant company, the food in the restaurant was excellent complimented by a good wine list, breakfast was also a treat, a most enjoyable stay. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecosse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our first impressions were not great because out bedroom was small and with very tired decor. However things picked up when we came down to dinner! The bar was friendly and local in atmosphere and then we had the best pub grub ever! Such a simple idea to take pub classics but cook them to the very highest standards. The scampi, chicken, steak pie and chips all sound a bit boring. They weren't! The best chips we have ever eaten, triple cooked and sensational! The scampi was fresh and lightly tempura battered. The steak pie was everything most steak pies are not, succulent and with fabulous shortcrust pastry on top, actually all cooked together. Dinner was fabulous. So was breakfast. What a shame the beds are so uncomfortable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Having just returned home have to say this is a gem of a place. The food is excellent, well prepared and remained that way throughout the visit. Accommodation is clean and comfortable.
The whole experience was one to be repeated in the not too distant future. Location gave easy access to stunning countryside from the nearby A1(M).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickhill
5.1 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#7 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Address: Street Lane | Thirsk, Pickhill YO7 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pickhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential Country Inn situated one mile east of the A1. A feasting and meeting place for families, clubs and business people, a friendly local pub serving real ales and a superb restaurant where the atmosphere is relaxed whilst the service is impeccable. 7 en-suite bedrooms. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn And Restaurant
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Pickhill
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant Pickhill, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing