We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of Hotel Engel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Engel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waedenswil
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Engel for three nights during my holiday in July 2013. I had booked one of the newly renovated double rooms for single use directly through the hotel, and my reservation was handled expertly.
The room was bright and comfortable, but on a warm and muggy summer's day it could do with a fan. The bathroom was small but pratical, and everything was immaculately clean. The view over the lake is stunning and the windows are good enough to keep the sound of the trains out during the night.
A fridge is definitely missing in the room!
The breakfast is a wonderful affair at the Engel, and you can sit on the balcony overlooking the lake. The spread of food is great and the fresh coffee delicious.
I also had dinner and drinks at the hotel on one night, and was impressed with the lovely menu and the good selection of wines.
The location right next to the train station is perfect for travellers without a car, and you can reach the city of Zurich comfortably in just 20 minutes. All that makes the Hotel Engel excellent value for money in a country where accommodation does not come cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingasiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Located along the shore of Zurigo lake (but railway separates the hotel from the lake), the hotel is provided of wide, comfortable and clean rooms. The absence of a small refrigerator in the room is a lack for this level of hotel. Conversely WiFi free internet is a value. Breakfast is rich and sufficiently diversified, served on a terrace on the lake. The same terrace is used for restaurant or lounge to take a drink. There is one (1) parking place outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mauribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Together with my family we booked four rooms here for almost a week. The hotel is a decent, clean three star but be prepared to pay dearly. At this hotel level, anywhere outside of Switzerland you would spend half of what they charge here. I suspect the prices are this high also because the hotel probably caters to business travellers who refuse to pay for even more expensive hotel rooms in Zurich:)

The location right by the train station is very convenient, you can be in the center of Zurich in 20 minutes and there are direct trains all the way to the airport (less than 40 minutes). The receptionist accomodated us right away even though we checked in around lunch time. Other than that, the staff was ok but nothing out of ordinary. We have not discovered an elevator so we had to carry bags and kids up and down three floors all the time.

Breakfast buffet was very weak. No hot items, no fresh cheese, very limited selection consisted of croissants, roles, a few pieces of salami, muesli, yogurt and cartoned juice. The rooms facing the lake had a nice view, standard size, clean and had a free wifi. The passing trains right below kept me from sleeping with an opened window. With the window shut it was not a big issue, though. The hotel provides ear plugs in each room so they recognize the issue.

Overall, it was a standard European three star experience with Swiss prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveToTravel3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed at Engel in August 2009. Our friends live in Richterswil which is one town over and arranged our stay. What a find. We had a large room which accommodated the 3 of us very well. We left for several days to explore other parts of Switzerland with just our backpacks. The staff stored our luggage. They even put my son's laptop in their safe so he would not worry. The hotel was clean. The staff was helpful, courteous and very welcoming. We ate at the quayside restaurant which the hotel runs and the food was excellent. The hotel itself is charming. It is right next to the train station. We did not rent a car and traveled everywhere on public transport and really enjoyed that. If you are sensitive to noise and not used to trains, this might be a negative factor. We got used to the sounds of the trains and enjoyed watching the activity. The train to Zurich runs every 15 minutes and takes about 15-20 minutes to get to downtown. We thought the trade off was worth it. The price was reasonable and we loved the hotel. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymousamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eventuell die neu eingerichteten Zimmer wählen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beatleemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wenn man nicht gerne Treppen steigt, sind die Zimmer 304-310 beschwerlicher (3. Stock)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engel

Address: Engelstrasse 2, Waedenswil 8820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Waedenswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waedenswil
Price Range: £105 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Engel Switzerland/Waedenswil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing