We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Seafood”

Kishorn Seafood Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in the Highlands of Scotland, we serve beautiful fresh local seafood, prepared simply for the fullest natural flavour.
eSamwise
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Some of the best Seafood I've had, coupled with their garlic butter dip its great food. We went with the Seafood Platter, highly recommended if you don't know what you want. We sat outside but it was busy throughout.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eSamwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    80
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great wee stop off”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have often driven past this small restaurant when coming and going to Applecross. It has never been open due to my timing I guess but this time it was timely open when my stomach was needing a refuel! I had Cullen Skink soup with some crusty bread and a coffee. Service was excellent and the staff were really pleasant and friendly. The soup was enjoyable but I have to say as a bit of a Cullen Skink fan it was a tad too potatoey for me with minimal evidence of fish. The oatcake described as accompanying it was one very tiny one and clearly from a supermarket. I also noticed when observing food being served to other customers that there was little in the way of chef work going on and salmon was boil in the bag. My soup was reasonable priced and the other menu options appeared fairly priced too. It would not in my opinion be somewhere to enjoy anything more than a cafe type meal but definitely worth a stop for a snack and a hot drink.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisysonachain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fresh cooked seafood at its best”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We make sure we visit the Seafood Bar each time we are in the Lochcarron area, and we have just had another very enjoyable lunch there. We often begin with the excellent Cullen Skink soup, but on this occasion just stuck to the seafood - mussels, scallops and squat lobsters. As always, the seafood was very fresh and, whilst Viv herself was not there this time, her young team cooked and served the food faultlessly. We will be visiting again before heading south.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the third time we have visited this restaurant whilst on our holidays in Scotland and again it lived up to our expectations. We had the seafood platter to share with extra oyster and a glass of white wine and it was absolutely delicious. The staff are so friendly and the location is stunning.
We can't recommend this place highly enough

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avril149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing little place for fresh seafood”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stopped here for lunch and had an amazing meal. Try the delicious Garlic Scallops with a croissant and the fresh Langoustines but most of all try the Squat Lobster!! An absolute delicious shellfish that is rare outside this area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abz_Traveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kishorn Seafood Bar also viewed

Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Kishorn Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing