We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strathcarron Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Torridon(Torridon)
US$584
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmacara Hotel(Balmacara)
US$156
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinlochewe Hotel(Kinlochewe)
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kyle Hotel(Kyle of Lochalsh)
US$129
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$340
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kintail Lodge(Shiel Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochalsh Hotel(Kyle of Lochalsh)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
156
91
20
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
91
20
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch carronlocal brewcullen skinkfish and chipsbar mealsvenison steakblack puddingnext morningisle of skyescottish highlandscomfortable roomsstayed for nightsporridgetwin roomcooked breakfastkyleales
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

the hotel is a fine advert for highland hospitality the owners and there customers make you feel really welcome it is a pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

thank you very much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write your review. we pride ourselves on our highland hospitality so your review just hit the spot. many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

have stayed here many times through work and loved every day of it. we were made to feel welcome by the owners and local people from day one, they could'nt do enough for us. the food was always excellent and because we worked nightshift we would get a cooked breakfast any time of day, unlike some other hotels we have stayed in since. cant wait to go back again.

Room Tip: all rooms are very clean with tv and wi fi so wouldnt matter which room.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrensuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

thank you so much for writing this review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and am looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Night-shift I reckon is hard enough without having to forgo your breakfast when you get up so we were only too happy to make sure you had a good start to the day whatever time that day happened to start:-) glad you enjoyed the food too, we are always happy to hear that guests enjoy the food as we do put a lot of care into the preparation to ensure that it hits the spot. hope it won't be too long before yourself and your colleagues return to the strathcarron hotel. thanks again for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Have not stayed at the Hotel but have had a few meals there, they were first class, generous portions, well cooked, great choice, friendly service, all in all a grand place to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmakerHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear that you have stopped off for food and have found it to your liking. we pride ourselves in providing good honest home cooked food with local produce at reasonable prices and generous portions, so your review just hit the spot for us:-) I hope that we will have the pleasure of catering for you again in the future,
kindest regards, eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great situation at head of loch, adjacent to Kyle to Inverness railway line(only 4 trains a day so no noise issues). Our double room was small, comfortable and clean, with a fine view to the loch. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the owner was a great mine of local information. Dinner menu limited, and reasonably priced. Food was beautifully cooked and presented, with good fresh ingredients. Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuoVadis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

thank you very much for your review. I am so glad that you found the strathcarron hotel to be to your liking. we do try to give good value for money and customer service is very high on our agenda too, so i was pleased to read that we had met your expectations. Our food is very important to us and so everything on the menu is home cooked using the best local ingredients available. we tend to have a variety of meals on offer and the menu changes regularly to reflect availability and seasons. In this way we do limit it a bit but this is a reflection of the fact that it is all made in our kitchen. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future and again many thanks for your very much appreciated review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stopped off here on a train trip around Scotland, its right by the staion so ideal. The staff were brilliant, rooms nice and clean and good well cooked food. They had a band on too which made our evening. We spent the next morning in the bar since our train was not until 12.30, we were made to feel really welcome and even supplied foc coffee... also a good choice of magazines to keep us entertained.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

thank you so much for your review and all the very encouraging comments that you have made. we are very fortunate to be literally a stones throw from the station and increasingly we are seeing people making the most of the railway and taking the strain out of traveling to the highlands. there are not a,lot of trains daily, but when people plan their trip, as you did, then it is easy to incorporate train travel and allows for total enjoyment of the lovely scenery we are blessed with in the highlands. glad too that you enjoyed the band. we have live music on from time to time and it goes down very well; a wee added bonus for you:-)
i hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that perhaps we will be able to welcome you back to "the strath" at some point in the future,
kindest regards,
eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews