We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Grub”
Review of Strathcarron Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathcarron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Strathcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had been travelling for some time and looking for somewhere to eat, Strathcarron fit the bill nicely. The food is basic pub grub but well cooked and well presented. We both had brie wedges and burgers which were very good but the portions were huge so we could not finish them. I would definitely return if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sm0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

I found the staff extremely friendly ,with nothing too much trouble, the location is very handy for travellers on the train ,the station is adjacent to hotel ,I arrived to late for dinner but heard good reviews from other guests ,breakfast was of a very high standard with local products been provided and a large variety ,I will make an effort to arrive for dinner on my next trip north/west,some rooms are basic but provide very good value for money.

Room Tip: One of the back rooms away from main road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We looked for a suitable accommondation for ages when we were travelling from Inverness to the isle of Skye, some were too expensive, some did not look very tempting. Very late in the evening we found this pleasant old guest house with a good price and very kind owners.

We got a small old fashioned room upstairs with a mountain view. The room, the building, the pub, the breakfast room and the surroundings were perfect for a scotland tour. All the personnel in the guest house were very welcoming, talkative and we enjoyed our stay.

The guest house also has a nice pub, where you can buy drinks with good price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatIh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the people. All, without fail, are extremely helpful and kind, and they were most flexible when we had to change our travel plans.

The food is cheap and cheerful fare, filling and well cooked. The rooms are not enormous, and are a little tired, but are clean and well equipped with kettle and a multitude of TV channels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_h_will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stopped here for two nights as part of a motorcycle tour group. We were greeted with a warm welcome from the owners and made to feel comfortable.
My room was clean and nicely decorated with a nice heater to warm me up.
The bed was comfortable and had a nice fresh linen smell. My bathroom overlooked the carpark and the railway station but there was a blind and frosting on the window to ensure privacy and natural light.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuppetW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stopped here for just a coffee on our way to Applecross and we found ourselves mixed in with the locals in no time! So much so we booked ourselves in for the night, just to try the breakfast that everybody was talking about!
Dinner was stunning and we definitely recommend the hot smoked salmon. Good variety of whiskies in the bar, fireplace and jukebox with excellent tunes made our night complete. Staff where very friendly and stayed up late just to accommodate us.
Breakfast was amazing! Stornoway black pudding, and locally sourced bacon, eggs, sausages and haggis puts it in a league of its own! You should visit this place even just to try this, if not anything else!

Room Tip: Any room has a good view, although the ones in front of the road overlook loch Carron, which is some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KStav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived in horrible cold, sleety weather whilst on a walking trip. There were no hotel rooms available but we were able to pitch our tents in the hotel's paddock opposite, and had an excellent evening in the friendly bar, with good food and beer. The staff were very welcoming, dried our wet clothes, and we returned for a good breakfast the next morning. I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJGScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathcarron
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
365 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
629 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
217 reviews
20.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcarron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcarron Hotel

Address: Strathcarron IV54 8YR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Strathcarron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strathcarron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is ideally suited for exploring the highlands and is only a 20 minute drive from the Skye bridge. We have 11 en suite rooms, including two family rooms and a triple room. At the Strathcarron we extend a warm Scottish welcome to all our guests and provide good wholesome food and a well stocked bar, which includes many a malt and some real ales too. We hope that we may be able to welcome you here in the future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcarron Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing