We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sparkling example of catering and hospitality”
Review of Strathcarron Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathcarron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Strathcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A sparkling example of catering and hospitality”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Three of us stayed overnight on the 12th March 2014 while on a rail journey from Wemyss Bay, Ayrshire to the Kyle of Lochalsh and the Strathcarron Hotel was chosen via Trip Adviser as our overnight stop. All of us agreed that this is the best small country hotel that we have stayed in for a long, long time and that their customer service is way beyond the call of duty.

While on the train and heading West we discussed what we should do with our luggage when we got to our destination at Kyle because I doubted that there would be a left luggage facility and didn't fancy dragging cases around for a couple of hours until we got the return train back to Strathcarron.
The Scotrail ticket inspector had the answer and used his mobile telephone to call ahead to the Strathcarron Hotel who arranged for a member of the hotel staff to meet the train at Strathcarron Station and convey our luggage to the hotel. I didn't even get off the train! Sadly and because of a change of shift we never got the opportunity to thank the gentleman called Osh who wearing plus-fours 'ran' back to the hotel carringTHREE suitcases. Osh if get a chance to read this you are an amazing guy.

The hotel its self is a warm and welcoming unpretentious little place where the rooms are spotless with comfortable beds and In this remote part of Ross shire not a sound is heard at night. Dinner was prepared by the owners wife and served in the bar. The menu was varied and the quality of food very good indeed.

The next morning a spendid breakfast was served in the dining room by the owner Andrew Flett who between courses kept us entertained with cheery banter and much laughter. When it comes to hospitality Andrew is at the top of his game and expensive city hotels could learn a lot from this guy.

Finally, if we had known in advance how much we would have enjoyed our stay we would have re-jigged our plans and stayed longer but we will spread the word about this super little hotel and its wonderful staff. If you are touring in the area don't miss The Strathcarron Hotel.
Thank you all for making our visit so much fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnacleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
thank you so much for your review. i am glad that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us. we pride ourselves in our highland hospitality so it made our day to read your comments. i ma glad too that Osh was able to help re your luggage etc. yes he was in his plus fours that day, on other days you mat have caught him in his full highland plaid!
thank you for spreading the word on our wee hotel; we thrive on return visits from guests, for which we are very happy. it is a pity you were not able to stay longer but perhaps next time. thnaks again for your very encouraging words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    85
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
40
82
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here for one night while walking the Cape Wrath Trail for charity, and the hospitality was truly first class. The hotel held a (food) parcel for me, which I had sent in advance. They also very kindly arranged to have my clothes sent away with the hotel laundry, which I then collected the following morning before continuing on my journey. The bar was open for snacks and drinks in the afternoon, and then in the evening I enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal in the cosy and friendly bar. The bedroom was spacious and the bed comfy. The only negative point, was that the water pressure in the shower was extremely poor, but the water was nice and hot. Breakfast in the morning was to die for. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyasj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and that we were able to help with laundry etc. sorry to read that you found the shower a bit weak on pressure. being in the highlands and fairly remote we don't have the same pressure as people are sometimes used to at home, power showers are not our thing; but plenty of hot water is always available:) we are however constantly working on upgrading the hotel in an effort to improve the comfort and enjoyment of guests so if we can find a way to improve water pressure we most certainly will! glad it didn't put a dent in your enjoyment of your stay though and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for a night while walking part of the Cape Wrath Trail.
Room was clean and spacious.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was fine but surprised there was no soup on the menu.
Breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinburghbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that we were able to tick the boxes for you as you bagged some more munroes:) We do try to cater for everyone here and so I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your veggie breakfasts. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you again when you are up in our fantastic hills again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After stopping in for a quick drink the previous night we decided to go to the Strathcarron Hotel for our evening meal the following night. We ate in the bar area which as warm and traditional with a good friendly atmosphere. The comfy surroundings and the roaring fire were a perfect way to unwind after a long day. The gentleman behind the bar was friendly and welcoming and a real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186487Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stopped for a coffee en route elsewhere & the guy behind the bar was very welcoming. He gave us great recommendations for Ullapool suggesting great restaurants, shops etc. really good service from a great guy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdhd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Strathcarron Hotel: nestled by a remote railway station of the same first name (part of the famous Kyle of Lochalsh line) and looking for all the world like a lost venue this place is actually lovely and very welcoming. We called in while walking and waiting to catch a train to Plockton and found a lovely welcome and a scrupulously clean, cosy and welcoming place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestNursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel has the comfortable feel of continuity with welcoming and lovely staff, whose sense of humour has a touch of the surreal. The bedroom facilities are well-maintained but without pretentious unnecessary updates - the undisturbed and perfectly adequate atmosphere of a proper 1960's style hotel. I got an excellent night's sleep, not even woken by the train which I was assured had passed by at the scheduled time of 7.00 a.m.

The evening meal was taken in the bar area, complete with open fire and efficient mercurial barman. Upon request, delicious boiled potatoes were provided with my tasty pie instead of the chips specified on the menu. The breakfast area was a pleasant bright room, with guests very well attended to. Unfortunately as with many hotels, it was a buffet-style cooked breakfast taken from heated metal trays - it is difficult for this to match up to the individually-served B&B experience, so this was the only slight let-down.

The hotel caters very well for pedal cyclists, with a dry secure area. Unlike other hosts along the route, the staff here were interested to hear about details of my tour.

This is an ultra-convenient spot right next to the railway station. The 8.00 p.m. cut-off for meals (near-universal in this part of Scotland) is the only thing prospective guests need to be conscious off, but I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathcarron
8.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
23.3 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcarron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcarron Hotel

Property: Strathcarron Hotel
Address: Strathcarron IV54 8YR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Strathcarron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strathcarron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is ideally suited for exploring the highlands and is only a 20 minute drive from the Skye bridge. We have 11 en suite rooms, including two family rooms and a triple room. At the Strathcarron we extend a warm Scottish welcome to all our guests and provide good wholesome food and a well stocked bar, which includes many a malt and some real ales too. We hope that we may be able to welcome you here in the future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcarron Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing