We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Trip to Orkney”
Review of Strathcarron Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathcarron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Strathcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Arrived at hotel at 5:00 pm Sat 21/07/2014.Birthday party with accordian players , banjo and guitar in progress.. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, friendly atmosphere good food ,good price. Room excellent. Highly reccomend for visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinnalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

what a lovely review and so glad you happened in on a night when there was music and that you enjoyed it:) good that everything else was to your liking as well and i do hope you had a good time on Orkney.
many thanks again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We managed to get a room here whilst on a biking trip and are so pleased they had a vacancy. This is a very motorbike friendly place and is "Bike" magazine approved. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was light and airy and had everything a weary biker would need. The food was so good that we called up our biker friends and we all stayed the following night! If you are a fish lover then the pickled herring is out of this world. Can highly recommend and most certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room... So much space and a large TV and leather sofa too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Haze R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

thank you so much for your review, and for changing your one night stay into two and for inviting your friends too:) it was great to have you here and always nice to see lovely shiney bikes in the car park!
glad you enjoyed the food and my pickled herring; such comments and feedback make it worth the extra work in pickling on the premises and it does taste so much better than shop bought.
thanks again for your review and hopefully we will get the chance top welcome you back again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Arrived after a difficult day, easy to find, very friendly welcome everything explained, including the possibility of there being some rowdy golfers in for a while. Down in the bar to try the food and stuck with fish and chips but it was so good I wished I tried some of the specials that were on offer. The golf celebration was indeed going on which I thought might be a bit boisterous but locals were all really friendly and as advised they soon headed off back to their presentations.
Was having such a good time in the bar people watching I sat and had a couple of very nice malts before heading up and getting one of the best nights sleep I've had in an hotel for a long time!
Breakfast the following morning was great, everything as I asked and some decent coffee that kept getting refilled - great stay and if I'm in the area again I will be staying here!

Room Tip: I had the room at the front but traffic was so light I was able to sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

thank you so much for your review and i am glad that the golfers did not cause any disturbance:) the tournament is an annual one and we see the same faces each year, although a few of them may well not remember too much about their visit!! this i think adds to the people watching element:)
we always try to ensure that guests get the best possible comfort during their stay, mattresses were all replaced fairly recently as we feel what is a hotel without a good sleep.
glad the food went down well; we don't do a lot of fancy shmancy ..... although we do some, i.e. seabass or wild venison steaks ...... but the majority of our food is simply good food cooked well so i am pleased that it hit the spot for you.
i do hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future anfd again thank you very much for you lovely review:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were on a Minibus with Elderly tourists on a day trip to the west coast via Plockton, on our way home we called in at the Strathcarron Hotel for afternoon tea, I'm glad we did, the welcome and service we received was second to none.
Thank you Andrew and Staff, you made our day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank musicmakerHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

thank you so much for your review. it was lovely to have you here and hopefully you had a great time in plockton. always good to see such happy friendly faces coming through the door; so many thanks to you to for making our job easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on a whist stop biking tour of the Highlands we were disappointed that we were not allowed to take our motorcycles into our room or use the white towels to clean our dirty bikes !
Seriously though as usual we were made to feel like returning friends by Andrew and the staff and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay comfortable.

The food is great and the bar well stocked just don't mention the war !

Already planning my next trip there !!

Thanks again for a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

what a lovely review; it made me smile, and i am so glad you left your bikes in the car park! :) lol.

glad you feel like old friends when you visit, it is a mutual thing for us too. when we see those familiar faces arriving:)

we will look forward to welcoming you back again.

many thanks,

eileen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Returned to this hotel after a two year period and got the same room. Not much difference except an improved modern TV and a new armchair. Food and service the same good standard as previously, but no Cullen Skink on the menu when we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

thank you for your review and you nice comments. the same room never stays exactly the same as you know; we are constantly upgrading and renewing things to keep the hotel the place you want to return to. we tend to do this work in the off season, so this spring all tvs were replaced by flat screens and single rooms were upgraded with leather sofa or arm chair. this winter we will replace the cream carpets that we put down a few years back; lovely but impractical so they have to go!
sorry there was no cullen skink this time. let me know when you next book and i will do my best to have it as a special for you.

many thanks,

eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Second visit here and once again we were greeted with a cheerful welcome and followed up with excellent service,
We were travelling as a motor club on a tour of Scotland and had booked our tables in advance,
Due to a couple of minor hold ups we arrived nearly an hour after our eta, but this didnt cause a problem to the staff ( well not that we knew anyway) we were swiftly served with impeccable efficiency but also with a friendly / personal service, no mean feat when 15+ people turn up and all want feeding and watering all together,
The food all arrived correctly and within minutes of the first plate being delivered, well presented, tasty food and excellent value too,
The hotel also benefits from being situated amongst some stunning scenery too,
We look forward to returning again on next years tour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlRST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

many thanks for your review and also for choosing to come back to the strathcarron hotel on you group road-trip. we have a lot of returning trade and it is always nice to when strangers grow into familiar faces, so we are hoping that you will indeed come back yet again on your next trips through our lovely countryside:)
when we are expecting a large group for lunch we make sue that everything is organised well so that not only do you get the same standard of food you would expect as a solo traveller but also that you get it promptly and without fuss. so i am pleased that everything went to plan despite your slight delay in arrival.
i hope the rest of your trip went well,
many thanks,
eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathcarron
13.4 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
632 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
12.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
248 reviews
20.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcarron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcarron Hotel

Address: Strathcarron IV54 8YR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Strathcarron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strathcarron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is ideally suited for exploring the highlands and is only a 20 minute drive from the Skye bridge. We have 11 en suite rooms, including two family rooms and a triple room. At the Strathcarron we extend a warm Scottish welcome to all our guests and provide good wholesome food and a well stocked bar, which includes many a malt and some real ales too. We hope that we may be able to welcome you here in the future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcarron Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing