We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms are clean, but very simple and dark - helpful staff”
Review of Bijou des Caraibes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Irvine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bijou des Caraibes
Bolzano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“rooms are clean, but very simple and dark - helpful staff”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

staff is very helpful. after having picked us up at the airport judge tried to be helpful where possible. after 2 days we left, because we were not feeling like on holidays - room were clean, but very simple and very dark. the rooms offered were in the groundfloor at the back of the house - not in front of the swimmingpool. by staying there i would suggest a car. staff very racomendable, rooms not.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkecatt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cabimas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2009

After doing a lot of searching online, we found Bijoux de Caraibes, and booked one bedroom apartment, we stayed there from Sept. 11 to Sept. 15. We made the right decision. It offers high security with a personal alarm system; the apartments are very comfortable and quiet. There is a nice pool and a great garden where you can enjoy talking or reading in the sun or shade. Each apartment has a kitchen equipped with cooking utensils and dishes, fridge, stove, microwave and kettle. The place is clean and quite.
Judy deserves a special mention, she is a very helpful, friendly and peaceful lady, who makes you feel really comfortable in a foreign country, thanks Judy, you are such a special person.
Definitively our stay in Bijoux de Caraibes was a very delightful experience, highly recommend for everyone who likes an easy, comfortable en well-organized stay.
See you,
Desmond and Rusbelys

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Our experience at the Bijou can only be described a little piece of secluded tranquility, tucked away in one of the most beautiful parts of Tobago.

The people: Judy, Yves, Jan were all amazing and offered a personalized service that would be hard to find in a 5 star hotel.

On arrival we were taken to the Bijou apartments and supermarket by the ever charismatic and charming Yves, who has since become a life long friend and part of our very own family.

Judy and Jan are both wonderful, they are the type of people who would bend over backwards for you - nothing is ever too much, they are people that you can trust. They invited us into their homes and made us feel more than welcome.

The apartments: Ranging in size from studios to 2 bedroom apartments. We had a one bedroom apartment, with lounge/dining area, fully equipped kitchen and seperate bedroom. Shower room, cable tv, ac, laundry service. The rooms were cleaned daily with the added bonus of fresh towels. All rooms have out-side seating areas. Self catering apartments were perfect for myself and my partner, as food is very cheap and colourful in Tobago, it makes cooking in the Caribbean a sheer joy. It was nice to have the option of either eating out or cooking at home.

The pool: Absolute heaven (and this is from a woman who can't swim!) Set amongst the lush gardens of the Bigjou, where you can also drift away on a comfy lounger on the manicured lawn or listen to the local radio with a cold Carib (as both my partner and I did, on many a sunset evening), whilst soaking up the sunshine and gazing out at the beautiful Caribbean sea!

Security: The Bijous is completely safe, we had a number of expensive electrical items, laptops, phones, camera's etc which were just left in our rooms and were always there when we returned. Each apartment has it's own alarm, which also acts as a personal alarm system whilst you are on the grounds. The entire villa is gated and completely secure.

On our arrival we were supplied with a pay as you go mobile phone, part of our Bijou package, this was extremely handy and we purchased a $20TT card, which lasted the entire week.

Local area: The Bijou is in Mount Irvine, which for us was the perfect base to tour the island, 20 mins from Crown Point Airport, 15 minutes into Scarborough Tobago's Capital. Local supermarkets and pharmacy were only 5 minutes drive as was the nearest beach. The American style shopping mall and cinema complex were 10 minutes drive away. Taxi's ranged from 80p to £4 (and are makrked with an "H" on the number plate - so easy to spot) and we were always passing the local busses.

To sum up our stay at the Bijou, I would have to say it is a jewel in the heart of Tobago. It's secluded, romantic, comfortable, safe and affordable. Everything and little more than I could have hoped for.

Tobago is part of both mine and my partners future and we hope to stay at the Bijou with our friends for many years to come!

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, clean and secure
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirimala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2006

Caribes.

We definitely will be returning to stay with our new friends in Tobago, because we have found our JEWEL IN THE CARIBBEAN!! Post Carnival Serenity


We have been to Tobago several times and have always stayed at touristy resort type accommodations. This was the first time we have stayed in a villa and the first time we have booked directly online after researching the internet.

After a week of Carnival Fetes, and two days of chipping through Port of Spain, we arrived at Bijou des Caribes early one morning. The first thing we noticed upon
Arrival was the inviting swimming pool with beautiful flowers surrounding it. Bijou des Caribes is a very private and secluded villa high on Mount Irvine. We were met by a very cheerful staff that made us feel very comfortable, welcome and at home.

The first thing we did was take a swim in the pool. Imagine soaking in the pool with the hot mid day Caribbean sun above you, looking out across the blue Caribbean ocean at the Nylon pool…WOW, just AMAZING!!

Later that day we met Judith for the first time, and first impressions set the tone for our vacation. We had read in previous reviews that you are treated as a close personal guest by Judith, her family and staff. Now we can confidently say that that was our experience from day one. Very personable and genuinely caring would best describe our experience with Judith and her staff. We were introduced to two great young guys, Damien and Yves, who for a very reasonable rate showed us Tobago, drove to the grocery or just limed at the beach with us. Damien and Yves were very punctual, professional, courteous and friendly. Exactly what we experienced at Bijou des

  • Liked — every thing
  • Stayed March 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank islandpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2006

Everything went smooth - from the booking to the leaving where we got a ride to the airport by the wonderful hostess Judith Gemmet.

We arrived a bit late to the Crown Point airport where Judy had arranged a taxi that picked us up. Since the Bijou des Caraibes has self-contained studios with full kichen facillities the taxi driver stopped at a local supermarket and we picked up some snacks and beer for the evening.

Judith and her husband helped us with pretty much everything - from giving us lif to various beaches and into the crown point area to help finding a good resturant for breakfast (since we didnt shop enough breakfast the first evening).

The Bijou des Caraibes is a gated villa which offers high security with a personal alarm-system for each studio, fully equipped kichenettes, very clean and laundry service. It's in walking distance to the Stone Haven Bay Beach and the Mnt. Irvine golf court. The rooms has pretty much everything you can ask for: Cable TV, AC, Microwave, Phone, etc.

And with Judith as the hostess you will feel like you're at home. Her husband, Yvon, has now added wireless lan with internet so you can chat with your friends and family and use your webcam POOLSIDE. He also takes care of the pool as if it was a child.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HenrikStrindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Irvine
0.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Native Abode
Native Abode
#1 of 20 in Crown Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bijou des Caraibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bijou des Caraibes

Property: Bijou des Caraibes
Address: 3 Jacamar Drive, Mount Irvine, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Mount Irvine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mount Irvine
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bijou Des Caraibes Tobago/Mount Irvine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing