We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bargain and good location, but not perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Buccoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bargain and good location, but not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We decided to stay here based on the price and the nice location in Buccoo. Upon our arrival, Brandon upgraded us to a bigger room, which was very nice of him. The pros: our bed was very comfortable and the room was relatively clean with working AC. People here were also very friendly. However, there were a few things that really bothered us and prevented us from fully enjoying our stay: the dogs at this guesthouse that barked until the early morning, our windows' sheer curtains that faced the front of the house, a very short blanket that is not meant for two people, and a loose, finicky shower handle. This place is a bargain, but if we come back to Tobago we'll put in the extra money to stay somewhere else.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cmskzjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTobago1, Guest Relations Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We are so sorry to hear that the dogs in the neighbourhood were keeping you up at night, however Tobago in general has a lot of dogs, that is a part of the Caribbean charm. We hope that you enjoyed Tobago in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    44
    6
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
84
90
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amriswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Six months ago we had made a hostelworld booking for a private room with kitchen for 3 nights from Feb. 15 to 18, 2013 and got it reconfirmed from Fishtobabo ("See you soon") 4 days before our arrival. We arrived at 5:15 pm and Brandon (apparently the owner) had no room for us and after 30 minutes waiting in the garden he said "we have 3 houses" (implying that they all belong together) and gave us a lift to the Bellissimo Boutique Hotel 100 metres up the road. We soon realized that this hotel has nothing to do with Fishtobago, but after some discussions we got a good room with kitchen and balcony for 65 US$. The booked Fishtobago room would have been 40 US$. Brandon had all sorts of peculiar excuses and eventually implied that it was our fault because we had changed the booking in December 2012 from 4 to 3 days (confirmed by hostelworld). We got the impression that Brandon's booking records, which he seems to manage exclusively on his Blackberry, are totally chaotic and that this man is not honest. Moreover, it is uncertain if our deposit of 10% (US$ 16) will ever be refunded. Brandon pretended that the deposit was not paid to him and will only be refunded by hostelworld. So if you book Fishtobago be prepared for an unpleasant surprise.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We can really recommend Fish Tobago guesthouse. Brandon who owns the guest house is very nice and wants all his guests to feel comfortable. It is very easy to book different tours through Brandon, everything from snorkeling to island tours and boat trips. We will definitely stay here again if we go back to Tobago.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We (two german girls) stayed nearly a whole week in fish tobago guesthouse. We booked a private room and it was very clean and had a lovley establishment. In the near (5 min walk) you can find 2 minimarkets and local food stores, like fish and chicken or fresh fruits. Beaches are not far away, too. It depends on what you like. There are surfing spots, kitesurfing spots and beaches just to relax (for example pigeon point)
There are a lot of things you can do while staying in Tobago. We decided to made a boattrip along the cost, including snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, party and fish-BBQ. We can highly recommend this! Also we had a nice day in the rainforrest. The highlight was going sea-fishing with Brandon and the following fish-dinner.
Tobago also has a nice nightlife with bars and clubs. Fridays "the shades" is the place to be :).
We wished we could have stayed longer. It was a great vacation and we will come back for sure!
Maybe next time the stolen E ist not missing anymore at "Welcom... to fish tobago" :).
greets miss muff 2 ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mariaklara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

When we arrived to Fish Tobago we got a bad feeling, because of the missing E in Welcom(e) to Fish Tobago, but soon we found out that Fish Tobago is the best place for staying in Tobago! We had an an private room with private bathroom. All was very clean and spacy. We felt comfortable. In Fish Tobago you live in the Community of Bucco, what is great to. There are some bars around and can easily get food. A small supermarket where you can get the necessary is just 5 minutes walk away. Brandon helps you with everything you need. As well he offers tours and connect you to other people who offering tours. Best examples for Brandons generousity: The second day of our stay we got unexpectedly a really good fish meal, prepared by friends and family of Brandon! We also planned a Tour on a friday with frankie tours on a friday. They changed plans and it was then on thursday. They called Brandon for telling him that 1hour before the tour started. Brandon got breakfast for us, woke us up and than brought us to frankie tours!The tour was amazing, we have had missed a lot. Although he took us fishing on the see: for that he picked us up at the beach with the boat, it was a great experience. In the evening his sister prepared a great meal for us with the catched fish and other tasty things.Thanks to Brandon for his great hospitality!

Room Tip: we had a private room. Its was spacy and comfortable. We saw the dorms too, which are spacy and seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed in Fish for around 2 weeks during Carnival season. Originally planning to have a nice, relaxed, beach holiday, it got completely turned around into a lot busier and fun trip! Also met of lot of varied and interesting people.

The rooms were cleaned regularly and Brandon (the host) amicable and helpful - a man which can source anything. Brandon had organised tours for us, and even went to Carnival with us, organising our trip completely as we were just going to wing it otherwise. He regularly personally assists guests in travelling around the island or can provide advice on how to do it yourself. Andre too, is also a constant source of amusement and helpfulness.

Brandon checked us in within good time (despite us arriving early), provided safety boxes, and constantly invited us to events happening around the island.

We found the island to be most pleasant. With friendly people, beautiful beaches, cheap taxis and most importantly, very cheap alcohol in bars (£1 a bottle). Although when it comes to cuisine, Buccoo suffers from a bit of a fried chicken frenzy, even though it is amazing. Can recommend 'doubles' if you want something different.

The hostel organises regular socials, usually involving rum, beer, and lots of freshly caught and cooked fish. Socials are late at night, luckily for us as we're complete nightowls.

Only niggle was the mixed sex rooms are quite far away from the main hostel (although in a prettier location by the sea and closer to Buccoo beach). The mixed rooms also have a very loud internal water pump system which can make it difficult to sleep.

Would remind everyone that notification within 3 days of arrival is a must. Saw a couple of people turned away due to this. Email appears to be fine.

All in all, a pretty damn good hostel. Would be my #1 choice when visiting Tobago again.

Room Tip: Single sex and private rooms are generally nicer (quieter, safer, inside main hostel) than the mixed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brit_leoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just a word of warning to all of those who have "a confirmed booking does not exist", to guarantee your booking you must confirm 3 days before arriving directly with the owner via his email!..I booked through hostel brokers and the email they sent me didn't say anything about confirming the booking, however when I went back to the site and read the fine prints it was written there; even though I didn't realized this until we arrived and we were informed of our cancelled booking the owner was still accommodating, he let us stay for the night in one of the rooms and sorted us out the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaliaToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTobago1, Owner at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thanks for pointing that out Dalia. We seem to be having a few problems with this lately. I hope when we see you again you'll return the 'E' that belongs to the welcome sign.

Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buccoo
2.8 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tobago Tranquil Guest House Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#8 of 92 in Tobago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tobago Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Property: Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Address: Buccoo Point 26A, Buccoo Tobago, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Buccoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buccoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tobago Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Tobago Guesthouse is a family owned guesthouse that is a traditionally built two storey house nestled in its own spacious grounds. We are located on the western coastline of Tobago which is one of the most beautiful, unspoilt islands in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fish Tobago Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Hotel Buccoo
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Buccoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing