We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Buccoo B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Fish Tobago, and enjoyed various activities arranged by the owner. We also had some great meals courtesy of Brandon's fishing, including lobster for dinner one evening. I also particularly enjoyed having my breakfast in the garden accompanied by all the friendly colourful birds. The only thing we would have liked different is to have had some sort of clothes storage in the room. Otherwise, it was perfect!

Room Tip: The rainforest room has no windows - this is apparently to help with sleep. I was a little sceptical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    47
    6
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
92
98
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Fish Tobago Guesthouse is close to Buccoo Beach. There are some places to eat in the surroundings and also the small port which is a good place to see the fishing of the day. The guest house offers tours and fishing. The place is comfortable, anyway it is important be sure they have prepared the accommodation needed by the guest (single or double beds). WIFI only in common areas.

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms have the same characteristics.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank dcatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

When I stayed in Fish Tobago, it's really exciting and located closest to the beach, so completely amazing place. The owner so friendly and they offer allot of amazing trips to visited, I never realized been in Fish Tobago like a new experience, the guest house with completed by accommodation, Wi-Fi, fishing materials, snorkeling, etc.
When we arrived at Fish Tobago, first all it we wanted to try the beach with clean water, I thought it far but, just worked few minutes we already found the beach with clean water and amazing waves an unbeaten beautiful panorama.
The accommodation itself cheaper and affordable, it’s could save our money, spent five days in Fish Tobago seems didn’t want to go back home, by the offered tourism guide we got more opportunities to visit tourism destination on the see and also water fall.

Room Tip: "Rest-room itself large"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cardosinhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTobago1, Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Fish Tobago Guesthouse and that you had a great time on the trips with Fish Tobago Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed at the Fish Tobago and had a great experience. The owners were friendly and hospitable from the get go and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and at home.

The hostel itself is in good condition, the rooms are clean and a good size and it had all the necessary amenities like hot running water, kitchen and lounge area, wifi, etc.

It's located in a quiet fishing village but with the tours and the nearby beaches there's lots to do and keep you busy whilst you're there.

Also given that their prices are so low, staying at Fish Tobago really is great value for money.

For me, the thing that stood out about Fish Tobago is how friendly the owners and other guests were. I quickly felt comfortable hanging out with them and it felt like a home away from home.

I loved every second and my only complaint is I wish I could have stayed a month longer!

Room Tip: The female dorm is a bit small for 5 people, so if you're a big fan on having your own space, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTobago1, Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
We are very happy that you had a great time while staying at Fish Tobago Guesthouse and that we could help make your visit to Tobago a great experience. We always strive to make our guest feel comfortable so it's a pleasure to hear that it felt like a home away from home. We hope to see you back in Tobago soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

It is always a joy to find a delightful spot away from the usual tourist traps that exceeds your expectations. Such was Fish Tobago. Recently resident in Port of Spain from the UK, we took a visiting friend and our car to Tobago for a Fri-Sun long weekend. Brandon our host was very welcoming, showed us to our rooms and explained how the amenities worked, before leaving on a fishing trip. The two upstairs rooms we occupied were simple but extremely clean and with a very comfortable bed, delightful shower, very efficient air conditioning and a separate kitchen area with fridge, utensils, and a small hotplate, ideal if you want to self cater. There is also a large and well fitted communal kitchen downstairs and wi-fi available, although we did not use it.

The real joy in Fish Tobago lies in the effervescence of the host, its small size, opportunity to mingle with the other guests on the communal lawn outside the kitchen in the shade of a large mango tree and the numerous birds that feed on the flowers surrounding the property. After a short walk and an afternoon spent on Buccoo beach, we watched our host unload his catch of fish at the quayside. We returned to Fish Tobago intent on going out to eat but accepted a delicious dinner of fresh tuna cooked by Brandon (we offered to pay but it was on the house). The following evening, after a day touring the island independently, Brandon invited us to a party near Crown Point, which we enjoyed very much.

Fish Tobago feels like a top end hostel and you would not go there if you wanted all the mod cons and facilities of a hotel or to spend a lot of time in your room. For a place from which to explore fantastic natural scenery and to appreciate the local vibe through a well connected host, it offers excellent value for money.

Any downsides? I can see why some guests might complain about the short lane which is dark at night but the benefit of being away from the road and having an unspoilt view of the stars should not be ignored. And you are aware of the plumbing system and any chat downstairs at night because the area is so quiet. We'll be definitely be going back and look forward to seeing how Brandon's ambitious plans for growth develop.

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs towards the back are away from any communal noise and the one at the very bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We decided to stay here based on the price and the nice location in Buccoo. Upon our arrival, Brandon upgraded us to a bigger room, which was very nice of him. The pros: our bed was very comfortable and the room was relatively clean with working AC. People here were also very friendly. However, there were a few things that really bothered us and prevented us from fully enjoying our stay: the dogs at this guesthouse that barked until the early morning, our windows' sheer curtains that faced the front of the house, a very short blanket that is not meant for two people, and a loose, finicky shower handle. This place is a bargain, but if we come back to Tobago we'll put in the extra money to stay somewhere else.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cmskzjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTobago1, Guest Relations Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We are so sorry to hear that the dogs in the neighbourhood were keeping you up at night, however Tobago in general has a lot of dogs, that is a part of the Caribbean charm. We hope that you enjoyed Tobago in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amriswil, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Six months ago we had made a hostelworld booking for a private room with kitchen for 3 nights from Feb. 15 to 18, 2013 and got it reconfirmed from Fishtobabo ("See you soon") 4 days before our arrival. We arrived at 5:15 pm and Brandon (apparently the owner) had no room for us and after 30 minutes waiting in the garden he said "we have 3 houses" (implying that they all belong together) and gave us a lift to the Bellissimo Boutique Hotel 100 metres up the road. We soon realized that this hotel has nothing to do with Fishtobago, but after some discussions we got a good room with kitchen and balcony for 65 US$. The booked Fishtobago room would have been 40 US$. Brandon had all sorts of peculiar excuses and eventually implied that it was our fault because we had changed the booking in December 2012 from 4 to 3 days (confirmed by hostelworld). We got the impression that Brandon's booking records, which he seems to manage exclusively on his Blackberry, are totally chaotic and that this man is not honest. Moreover, it is uncertain if our deposit of 10% (US$ 16) will ever be refunded. Brandon pretended that the deposit was not paid to him and will only be refunded by hostelworld. So if you book Fishtobago be prepared for an unpleasant surprise.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buccoo
3.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#8 of 92 in Tobago
144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
1.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tobago Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Property: Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Address: Buccoo Point 26A, Buccoo Tobago, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Buccoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buccoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tobago Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Tobago Guesthouse is a family owned guesthouse that is a traditionally built two storey house nestled in its own spacious grounds. We are located on the western coastline of Tobago which is one of the most beautiful, unspoilt islands in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fish Tobago Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Hotel Buccoo
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Buccoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing