We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”
Review of Shore Things

Shore Things
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Lambeau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our family of five went to Shore Things for lunch while in Tobago on spring break. From the view of the amazing blue of the Caribbean water (we even saw a turtle) to the fun, bright lime and orange colors of the sweet terrace you eat on, this place was a real treat. Five tables (more or less) and the attentiveness and kindness of the staff give you a lovely, intimate dining experience. The fantastic desserts are second only to the genuine care of the owner for her patrons. The gift shop had some very neat and different items - Interesting jewelry to old maps of Tobago. We visited on a Tobago holiday and the owner was there on her own juggling drop-ins. She called in her "reinforcements" (a couple people to help her in the kitchen and terrace) and we felt very well taken care of. You must try the dessert - we tried 4! Each one was yummy - carrot cake, coconut cream pie, cheesecake and an amazingly decadent chocolate cake that our 10 year old devoured. This place may not have the best food we've ever eaten (although quite good), but the entire experience was one we will never forget.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scoutdog2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorethings, Owner at Shore Things, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
To all of our guests who have taken the time to write a review, taken the time to tell the staff they loved their experience or come back several times to the cafe during a 10 day visit to Tobago...Thank you, thank you, thank you ...It makes it all worthwhile to know that we are doing what we set out to do. ... give people an experience that brings a smile to their day...whether it's because of the lizard in the bird feeder ..or the coconut cream pie they thought they did not have the room for. Or just the view over the Atlantic shared with family and friends while trying to spot the turtle that bobs up when you least expect it.
We enjoy having all of you and even if you are too shy to say anything ..thank you for dropping by to the little orange cafe on the back road in Lambeau.

Giselle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure ”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We come to Tobago every year to visit family and make a point of coming to this gem of a place the food is always good & the owner is always very pleasant and makes a point of chatting to us even if she is busy. We will be visiting this gem of a place again next March ;-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Tobago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This little restaurant does it for me, nothing posh or pretentious it is what it is. Food is great for the price, dessert was amazing, warm lemon meringue pie, a must. If your looking for waiters that jump to your every whim go elsewhere this is home cooked food in a lovely setting, owner even comes and talks to the customers. Great secret hideaway!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth the trip”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

we found this restaurant on trip advisor and drove about 30 minutes to get to it. Basically I would only come here for the view and dessert - the meal was nothing to be desired and unfortunately was quite poor

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlb19702002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,107 helpful votes
“YOU MUST EXPERIENCE THIS RESTAURANT!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

WE FOUND THIS RESTAURANT ON TRIP ADVISOR AND WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED!
This was an incredible island experience

FOOD
- great variety and full of Flavour
- our meal was around $20 per plate

DESSERT IS A MUST!
- The pie was incredible and the coffee came to your table in a Bodum (French Press)

SMALL AND QUAINT
- about 10 tables on the porch
- you overlook the Ocean so there is this refreshing breeze
- bird feeder on the edge of the porch: this attracts small tropical birds. Very entertaining to watch while you enjoy your meal

THIS RESTAURANT WAS ONE OF OUR HIGHLIGHTS as we had a relaxing, romantic evening enjoying the entire experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank KevinTorontoCanada29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shore Things also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Black Rock, Tobago
 

Been to Shore Things? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing