We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary and Pat Healey This B & B has the wow factor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Kessingland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mary and Pat Healey This B & B has the wow factor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a really first class establishment. Set in superb grounds of 2 acres it has every comfort. The large bedrooms and public areas are all furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Very modern en suite shower rooms with excellent toiletries. Julie and Michael the proprietors do everything to make one feel welcome. Very wide choice of breakfast menu all beautifully prepared and served at a time you choose. A really friendly place! Very Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you, Mary and Pat, for the lovely review. We hope to see you again! Best wishes, Julie and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Within minutes of our arrival my partner managed to spill tea all over himself. Carol immediately offered to wash his clothes and they were returned the next day beautifully ironed! This act of kindness completely sums up the ethos of the Old Rectory. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
....and a BIG thank you to you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future and thank you for your good wishes. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the best B&B I have had the pleasure of staying in.
The owners, Chris and Carol show superb attention to detail without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Our room was excellent, very clean and well appointed. Our breakfast was excellent great sausages and everything cooked to perfection.
It is worth visiting just for the home made cakes!
We will be making another visit in the summer to see the gardens in bloom, the gardens have won awards in Britain in Bloom.
All in all a wonderful break and a B&B that is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scribimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Everything at this B & B is excellent, from the well equipped room to the quality and choice of breakfast. Carole & Chris are a lovely couple, nothing is too much trouble, and you are made to feel so welcome. 0ur room was so tranquil with a lovely view of the gardens, and best of all so quiet and peaceful at night. We thoroughly recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing break.

Room Tip: All rooms look onto the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie_lee000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Everything about this was excellent, the rooms were well furnished and equipped and the bed very comfortable, the choice and quality of breakfast was superb as was the evening meal. Carole and Peter made us most welcome in their home and we do not hesitae to recommend this

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinkelly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We booked this B & B as we were attending a wedding reception closeby so had no idea what we were booking.
We were blown away by the warm welcome from carole, who greeted us with afternoon tea and cake. The rooms are beautiful with fluffy towelling robes and lovely views of the gardens. As it was a sunny day we took a bottle of wine into the garden and Carole kindly lent us wine glasses.
The breakfast was very tasty, with lashings of toast and home made marmalade - which you must try! We walked it all off with a stoll onthe beach which is a short stroll away.

We slept soundly both nights and didn't actually want to leave.

We will return......

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie_posner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

This establishment is at the very top end of the Bed and Breakfast market, and will appeal to the guest who wants comfort, cleanliness and service. At £39 per person per night, it is more expensive than most, but we found it well worth the extra expense. The Old Rectory is late Georgian or early Victorian, and is full of character. It has been refurbished to the highest standards, and all the furnishings are also of a high quality. The beds are comfortable (they seem to be 2 metres, or 6 ft 7 in, long, instead of the usual 6 ft that you get in most places -- good news for those of us who are taller than about 5'10"). The place is quiet at night, although in Spring you might be woken at 5 am by a loud and exuberant dawn chorus of all the birds in the garden. I didn't mind though, it was a nice thing to experience. The garden itself is spacious and beautiful, full of flowers and shrubs. A large Rhododendron with red flowers was the centre-piece at the time of year that we were there. Notably, there was also a mature Wisteria growing up the wall on one side of the house. Guests are at liberty to stroll the garden and sit and sun themselves on one of the benches.

The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and extras such as home-made fresh-fruit salad, and Greek yoghurt with honey and almonds. No fussing around with small packets of butter -- the butter was as it ought to be, in a help-yourself lump, and the jams/marmalade (some of them home-made) were in a help-yourself pot

We really enjoyed our stay there. Carol and Chris are great hosts, who truly seem to enjoy their work running the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kessingland
5.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory B&B

Property: The Old Rectory B&B
Address: 157 Church Road, Kessingland NR33 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kessingland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kessingland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory B&B Kessingland, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing