We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely b and b on suffolk coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Kessingland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from another stay at the Old Rectory at Kessingland. We never go anywhere twice for a holiday but this place has changed our pattern! Julie and Michael have just taken over from previous owners but the warm welcome and excellent accomodation remain the same. The gardens are superb and the breakfast is just perfect, quality food and just enough rather than being overfaced with a huge greasy plate that is often the case. We will hopefully return again and see what they have done with this idyllic place.
The beach is about 200 yards walk with plenty of superb walks on your doorstep. Southwold nearby is also a big plus and anyone staying must have at least one lot of fish and chips from Mrs T's on the harbour at Southwold.
All in all an excellent place for a short break or a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which is the biggest but all the rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you Neal and Anita; we are so pleased you chose to return to The Old Rectory and that you found everything as lovely as your first visit! We hope that you will break the pattern again as we really enjoyed having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at this B and B and, if it wasn't for the fact that we had to return home, would have tried to extend our stay there. We very much felt that this is how a Bed and Breakfast should be run. The welcome from the owner, Julie, was warm and friendly and we immediately felt at home and comfortable. We had Room 2 which is at the front of the house; it was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable and the bed linen and towels of very good quality. Fresh milk in a thermos is a nice touch as were the shortbread biscuits. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful - it was good to have kippers on the menu and the porridge was superb! It was also nice to be asked what time we would like breakfast instead of being told what time would we be having it!

We felt as if we were valued guests and will most certainly be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LindaDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

.....and we wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Julie and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great few days at this lovely bed and breakfast, very accessible for Southwold. Nothing was too much trouble for Julie and Michael and breakfast was beautifully cooked. Our room was spotless with a large well equipped bathroom, both overlooking well kept gardens. The location was very peaceful yet only a short walk to the beach. We would thoroughly recommend staying here as it is definitely a five star B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoxerMadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable. We hope that you will return for more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have just returned from a second visit to "The Old Rectory" - a most delightful house, beautifully appointed in a peaceful setting, surrounded by lovely gardens. The proprietors, Julie and Michael, a warm, friendly and very welcoming couple, look after their guests expertly, with much attention to detail and go out of their way to make sure they enjoy their stay. My bedroom was spacious and comfortable and breakfasts were imaginative and delicious. I highly recommend this gem and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much Gill; we are so pleased you enjoyed your return visit and hope you come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a really first class establishment. Set in superb grounds of 2 acres it has every comfort. The large bedrooms and public areas are all furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Very modern en suite shower rooms with excellent toiletries. Julie and Michael the proprietors do everything to make one feel welcome. Very wide choice of breakfast menu all beautifully prepared and served at a time you choose. A really friendly place! Very Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you, Mary and Pat, for the lovely review. We hope to see you again! Best wishes, Julie and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Within minutes of our arrival my partner managed to spill tea all over himself. Carol immediately offered to wash his clothes and they were returned the next day beautifully ironed! This act of kindness completely sums up the ethos of the Old Rectory. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

....and a BIG thank you to you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future and thank you for your good wishes. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the best B&B I have had the pleasure of staying in.
The owners, Chris and Carol show superb attention to detail without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Our room was excellent, very clean and well appointed. Our breakfast was excellent great sausages and everything cooked to perfection.
It is worth visiting just for the home made cakes!
We will be making another visit in the summer to see the gardens in bloom, the gardens have won awards in Britain in Bloom.
All in all a wonderful break and a B&B that is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scribimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kessingland
5.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
348 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#5 of 19 in Southwold
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
The Hollies Camping & Leisure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory B&B

Address: 157 Church Road, Kessingland NR33 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kessingland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kessingland
Price Range: £102 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory B&B Kessingland, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing