We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B near Suffolk Coastal Path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Kessingland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B near Suffolk Coastal Path”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Old Rectory was our first night on the Suffolk Coastal Path in the middle of June and what a wonderful start to our walk. Julie and Michael the new owners gave us a very warm welcome. The accommodation was beautiful, as was the view of the gardens, and a lovely breakfast to start our walk. Nothing was too much trouble. All the B&B's we used along our route were good but The Old Rectory stood out as the best. Julie and Michael deserve to suceed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room which was beautiful and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much Liz; what a lovely group of friends you are and what a great way to explore our beautiful coastline. Please do visit again if you can. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
90
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from another stay at the Old Rectory at Kessingland. We never go anywhere twice for a holiday but this place has changed our pattern! Julie and Michael have just taken over from previous owners but the warm welcome and excellent accomodation remain the same. The gardens are superb and the breakfast is just perfect, quality food and just enough rather than being overfaced with a huge greasy plate that is often the case. We will hopefully return again and see what they have done with this idyllic place.
The beach is about 200 yards walk with plenty of superb walks on your doorstep. Southwold nearby is also a big plus and anyone staying must have at least one lot of fish and chips from Mrs T's on the harbour at Southwold.
All in all an excellent place for a short break or a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which is the biggest but all the rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you Neal and Anita; we are so pleased you chose to return to The Old Rectory and that you found everything as lovely as your first visit! We hope that you will break the pattern again as we really enjoyed having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at this B and B and, if it wasn't for the fact that we had to return home, would have tried to extend our stay there. We very much felt that this is how a Bed and Breakfast should be run. The welcome from the owner, Julie, was warm and friendly and we immediately felt at home and comfortable. We had Room 2 which is at the front of the house; it was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable and the bed linen and towels of very good quality. Fresh milk in a thermos is a nice touch as were the shortbread biscuits. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful - it was good to have kippers on the menu and the porridge was superb! It was also nice to be asked what time we would like breakfast instead of being told what time would we be having it!

We felt as if we were valued guests and will most certainly be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
.....and we wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Julie and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great few days at this lovely bed and breakfast, very accessible for Southwold. Nothing was too much trouble for Julie and Michael and breakfast was beautifully cooked. Our room was spotless with a large well equipped bathroom, both overlooking well kept gardens. The location was very peaceful yet only a short walk to the beach. We would thoroughly recommend staying here as it is definitely a five star B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoxerMadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable. We hope that you will return for more fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have just returned from a second visit to "The Old Rectory" - a most delightful house, beautifully appointed in a peaceful setting, surrounded by lovely gardens. The proprietors, Julie and Michael, a warm, friendly and very welcoming couple, look after their guests expertly, with much attention to detail and go out of their way to make sure they enjoy their stay. My bedroom was spacious and comfortable and breakfasts were imaginative and delicious. I highly recommend this gem and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much Gill; we are so pleased you enjoyed your return visit and hope you come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a really first class establishment. Set in superb grounds of 2 acres it has every comfort. The large bedrooms and public areas are all furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Very modern en suite shower rooms with excellent toiletries. Julie and Michael the proprietors do everything to make one feel welcome. Very wide choice of breakfast menu all beautifully prepared and served at a time you choose. A really friendly place! Very Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you, Mary and Pat, for the lovely review. We hope to see you again! Best wishes, Julie and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Within minutes of our arrival my partner managed to spill tea all over himself. Carol immediately offered to wash his clothes and they were returned the next day beautifully ironed! This act of kindness completely sums up the ethos of the Old Rectory. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
....and a BIG thank you to you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future and thank you for your good wishes. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kessingland
5.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#6 of 19 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory B&B

Property: The Old Rectory B&B
Address: 157 Church Road, Kessingland NR33 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kessingland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kessingland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory B&B Kessingland, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing