We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDERN GEM, OF A BED AND BREAKFAST ,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Kessingland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“HIDDERN GEM, OF A BED AND BREAKFAST ,”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Many thanks to Julie ,for making our first stay such a lovely and relaxing experience, we thoroughly enjoyed our room , beautiful, and so spacious, spotless, and some nice little touches in our room , and we had a great nights sleep, even with the storms,,
We have stayed in many larger well known hotel chains,, and this was our first stay in a bed and breakfast establishment, the service here was second to none, beautiful freshly cooked breakfasts, lovely choices, and the breakfast room was lovely, overlooking beautiful gardens,
Would like to say a big thank you to Julie ,who was a lovely and welcoming hoste, and we would like to wish you and your husband all the best in your new venture, , we will be returning again soon, highly recommended,

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe room, but I am sure any of the 3 rooms in this bed and breakfast are of a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
....and a BIG thank you to you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future and thank you for your good wishes. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I highly recommend 'The Old Rectory' to anyone wanting to stay on the Suffolk Coast. The owners, Julie and Michael couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are a great size with everything you would need, hairdryer, tea/coffee even dressing gowns and slippers. The grounds of the B&B are stunning. We had beautiful weather and the walk to the beach was a only a short 5 minutes. Breakfast was of a very high standard with lots of choice. I'm looking forward to going back. Thanks Julie and Michael.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
....and we are looking forward to coming back too! One if the nicest things about running a B&B is meeting so many lovely people. Thank you for your great review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is an excellent small B&B with a really nice vibe and very impressive immediate surroundings. The room was spacious and comfortable while being fairly traditional (Room 1). Breakfast was of the highest standard with some really tasty options. There was also a lovely attention to detail from the new owners and a real care about our experience as guests. Would definitely recommend this as a base for anyone wanting to explore the beautiful Suffolk coastline and villages inland and I wish Julie and Michael all the best with it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us; we certainly enjoyed looking after you. Best wishes and do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On Thursday the 3rd of July the room I'd booked for four nights was unavailable. I phoned The Old Rectory because it was close to where I needed to be for the four days. That was a lucky choice because they were able to accommodate me and in all respects it was an excellent choice.

The owners were friendly and helpful, my room was large and comfortable. the breakfasts were good and the gardens stunningly beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased we were able to help you out and that you managed to enjoy your planned weekend whilst relaxing here every night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Old Rectory was our first night on the Suffolk Coastal Path in the middle of June and what a wonderful start to our walk. Julie and Michael the new owners gave us a very warm welcome. The accommodation was beautiful, as was the view of the gardens, and a lovely breakfast to start our walk. Nothing was too much trouble. All the B&B's we used along our route were good but The Old Rectory stood out as the best. Julie and Michael deserve to suceed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room which was beautiful and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much Liz; what a lovely group of friends you are and what a great way to explore our beautiful coastline. Please do visit again if you can. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from another stay at the Old Rectory at Kessingland. We never go anywhere twice for a holiday but this place has changed our pattern! Julie and Michael have just taken over from previous owners but the warm welcome and excellent accomodation remain the same. The gardens are superb and the breakfast is just perfect, quality food and just enough rather than being overfaced with a huge greasy plate that is often the case. We will hopefully return again and see what they have done with this idyllic place.
The beach is about 200 yards walk with plenty of superb walks on your doorstep. Southwold nearby is also a big plus and anyone staying must have at least one lot of fish and chips from Mrs T's on the harbour at Southwold.
All in all an excellent place for a short break or a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which is the biggest but all the rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you Neal and Anita; we are so pleased you chose to return to The Old Rectory and that you found everything as lovely as your first visit! We hope that you will break the pattern again as we really enjoyed having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at this B and B and, if it wasn't for the fact that we had to return home, would have tried to extend our stay there. We very much felt that this is how a Bed and Breakfast should be run. The welcome from the owner, Julie, was warm and friendly and we immediately felt at home and comfortable. We had Room 2 which is at the front of the house; it was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable and the bed linen and towels of very good quality. Fresh milk in a thermos is a nice touch as were the shortbread biscuits. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful - it was good to have kippers on the menu and the porridge was superb! It was also nice to be asked what time we would like breakfast instead of being told what time would we be having it!

We felt as if we were valued guests and will most certainly be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Owner at The Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
.....and we wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Julie and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kessingland
5.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
400 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carlton Manor Hotel
Carlton Manor Hotel
#6 of 28 in Lowestoft
292 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory B&B

Property: The Old Rectory B&B
Address: 157 Church Road, Kessingland NR33 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kessingland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kessingland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory B&B Kessingland, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing