We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming rustique b&b”
Review of Gasthof Schonegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gasthof Schonegg
Ranked #1 of 2 Goldswil B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Charming rustique b&b”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in August and we really liked the location, the rustique look and feel and the friendly service! It is a basic but charming b&b, in a quiet location, 5 minutes from Interlaken (we had a car, but there is also a bus stop near by) with great view to the river. What impressed us the most: we told the friendly lady that welcomed us that we would leave early the next morning to catch the first train to Junfrau and she offered to make us an individual "breakfast pack" as we would miss breakfast serving time! Would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is a convenient No2 bus ride leaving every 1/2 hour from the station in Interlaken. It has fantastic views over amazing scenery. Although our rooms (2 doubles) were on the top floor up a spiral staircase with a shared bathroom we were able to lock a common door thus assuring privacy. Breakfast was good,( with a very friendly helpful girl in charge), as long as we avoided the "rush" of a coachload of people going for an early trip. The general use fridge is very useful as are laundry facilities at 5 Euros. Beds, although clean, more suited to backpackers. Bathroom cleaned daily and fresh towels.Would recommend for the view alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genjohn186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We booked it based on the reviews here about the wonderful views, nice breakfast, affordable prices etc. We were given a room( which was more like a hole) on second floor ( no lift or anything given it is on country side, you got to carry your own luggage) that overlooked the road ( no views) . The breakfast was very basic too ( not many options). I dont think anybody mentioned it here in the reviews but the bathrooms are outside the rooms ( common and shared - though well maintained). It is definitely expensive for what it provides- wouldnt have minded the place if it was cheaper - but at that price, a definite no.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side of the hotel might provide for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The room was very basic although clean and properly equipped. Again very soft bed which seems to be a constant note in Europe. This family owned and operated B&B has very reasonable prices, a wonderful breakfast and good disposition from the family that runs it. The room would be more for younger couples that do not include in staying in the room as part of the R&R trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A very basic hotel with good value for money according to expensive Switzerland standard. Nothing is extra ordinary here but still you will find all the basic necessities like ensuite toilet and good wifi. But it's bit outside the main city and frequency of bus to this place is one in 30 mins in weekdays and one in an hour in weekends. So may have to walk if next bus is after a long time. It takes 10 min by foot downhill from hotel to Interlaken Ost but uphill will take more time. But because of it location at an elevation you get a fantastic view of Interlaken from this hotel. Overall very good for backpackers/solo travellers on tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sayantan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Great location to tour the area (not ideal if you're going mainly for Interlaken and don't have a car) and near impossible to beat the value. Ample parking, friendly hosts, very clean basic rooms with stellar views. You have use of a communal guest fridge and washer/dryer. Shopping nearby. It's definitely a 'guesthouse' and not a hotel. We had a cozy three night stay and would return again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at gasthof Schönegg early January 2013. We used it as a base to ski in Grindelwald and Adelboden. It is a typical châlet hotel. Nice ambiance, with all the necessary things you need for a place to sleep (Smallish room, but clean, basic shower, but with loads of warm water). The breakfast is ok, the bread is devine! The people who run the place are friendly and genuine! We will return!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goldswil
1.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
662 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Schonegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Schonegg

Property: Gasthof Schonegg
Address: Hauptstrasse 2, Goldswil 3805, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Goldswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Goldswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Schonegg 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gasthof Schonegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing