We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint, peaceful and an Ideal base”
other travellers have booked this property
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd Path to garden at rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd
Path to garden at rear
Briscoe Mill bridge over the River Ehen
Lounge with TV, dvd player
Kitchen with fold away dining table, microwave, oven, fridge
Twin room with toy box and trundle for 3rd child - bedding provided
Picnic bench over beck
On Briscoe Mill Bridge looking north up the River Ehen
Great place to set off on your cycle ride, close to the Coast to Coast route
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Egremont, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
karenfran...
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, peaceful and an Ideal base”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our first time to the Lake District we were a bit wary of going so far west but, it was ideal, there was so much to do we will have to go back to finish our list. The cottage is lovely, very well thought out, very well equipped if you want to self cater, close to local shops. We packed quite a bit in each day and going back to the cottage to the peace and tranquility was wonderful. Sarah and Sean were there if we needed them and nothing was too much trouble all we had to do was ask. We have been to places where the owners are so protective always turning up that we have had to dodge their visits and its very off putting. Not so in this case they leave it up to you. They do have sensible rules for how the property is treated and they definitely work, the place was spotlessly clean, a wonderful welcome pack meant we could get settled and not have to worry about going food shopping straight away. We have and will be recommending it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped and quaint the cottage was
Liked least: Can't fault it it more than met our expectations
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're glad you had a great time and that list will need ticking off soon! All the best Sarah and Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindalous...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we booked a weeks stay at this cottage and was delighted on arrival at the facilities and the location. easy access to all that we needed throughout our stay. the family that own the property could not have been more welcoming, we left feeling relaxed and truely satisfied with our holiday and will be returning to this location in the near future. really would recommend this and it is suitable for couples and families alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly atmosphere and clean
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Guest's feedback is extremely important to us and we welcome any comments which can help us improve. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love it if you came for another visit. Look out for our short breaks during the winter months. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in Peaceful Location”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We're coming to the end of our stay at this lovely cottage. Sarah and Sean and their lovely children are welcoming and friendly, and the holiday gets off to a fantastic start with a welcome pack including eggs, milk, bread, wine and treats for our two dogs. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable, with plenty of room for the two of us and our two dogs.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather - bright sunshine each day - which meant that we were also able to enjoy the beautiful garden, which is well maintained and pretty.

All in all, a fantastic week in a lovely place, we'll definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments in the book. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all - hope the boys weren't too sad on the way home!. Yes indeed, food for thought - hope to see you all soon. Sarah, Sean and gang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeL223
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and immaculate cottage in idyllic and peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to visit the Lake District for a short break over Easter, and feel that we could not have been more fortunate with the property we stayed at. Briscoe Mill Cottage is peacefully located in the countryside next to the river, but also with convenient access to the nearby amenities in Egremont. The cottage itself is wonderfully decorated in a modern yet sympathetic way, and was absolutely spotless. Moreover, the owners thoughtfully provided us with a useful welcome basket including delicious eggs from their own hens! The property was well-equipped with everything that we needed and more, including free wifi. Sarah and Sean really have thought of everything to make this place feel like a home away from home.

We used the property as a base from which to explore nearby Ennerdale water (where we got engaged!) and the beach at St. Bees. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer. We would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Congratulations on the engagement and hope Ennerdale holds some great memories for you both. Good luck with your plans and hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powercats
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, really thoughtful hosts”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

On the quieter and most beautiful & wild North Western side of the Lake District tucked away down in the valley of the river Ehen, you will find Briscoe Mill. Although close to Egremont, the first thing that strikes you is the peacefulness and the pretty garden and perfect location. A warm but discreet welcome awaits including a thoughtful gift pack of bread, milk, wine and biscuits. The cottage is small but immaculate, really clean and well thought out with very high quality furnishing and decoration.

There are walks from the door to suit every taste including access to the high fells from forest tracks. From here you can walk up Dent and Cold fell and if very adventurous can do a days outing to Ennerdale.Theres the coast to explore at St Bees and the interesting towns of Whitehaven and Cockermouth, not to mention Wasdale and Eskdale not far away.

Sarah and Sean, who live next door could not be more thoughtful but are not intrusive and the garden is equipped with furnture for al fresco meals. Theres wifi as a plus.

We rent quite often to visit family in the Lakes and this has been the most succesful yet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the facility
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad you booked our cottage and look forward to welcoming you and the dogs back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinnie29
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent quality accommodation and peaceful location”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Briscoe Mill Cottage and have already booked to return! The location is ideal for us, it has great access to many visitor attractions yet it's lovely and peaceful too. The cottage is full of character and charm, is well equipped and comfortable. We also received a welcome hamper too, lovely touch to help settle us in.

Overall we had a wonderful holiday, loved the cottage and the area along with great weather too, the only problem was that we couldn't stay longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character, charm and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. You would be most welcome back anytime, hopefully the weather is better for you on your next visit :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing