We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for alton towers trip”
Review of The Laurels B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Laurels B & B
Ranked #1 of 5 Oakamoor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived quite late on our check in date but we were greeted warmly by a mber of staff. They were very friendly and showed us to our room. The breakfast was lovely and again the staff were very attentive. The room was a little on the small side but nicely decorated and good bedding. The location is 5minutes from alton towers which is why we booked it. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would stay there again definitely :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your comments.
Whilst we're stuck with the size of our smaller rooms, we do try and make them as nice as possible, so it's nice to know you liked the decoration and bedding.
Great to hear you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first stay at the Laurels.
My Wife and I were both very impressed with how clean and fresh our room was, with a lovely big bathroom.
The common areas were also very clean with nice places to sit and either read a book or just chill out after a days hiking in the hills or riding roller coasters.
With so many excellent and beautiful places to visit in and around the surrounding area it makes a perfect base location.
The home cooked breakfast set us up nicely for the long drive to Scotland.
All in all a lovely place to stay for walkers, climbers, cavers and so close to Alton Towers you can walk it to avoid paying the Towers car park fee!
I did find the bed a little too soft for me but I slept okay and you can't cater for everyone there but it WON'T put us off from staying again & again........

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Mark
Thank you for highlighting the many other things there are to do around the area! We really are lucky to live in such a great part of the county :-)
It's nice to know you found your room to be clean and fresh. It's something we work very hard on.
I know some people do walk to Alton Towers from here, but as I said to you at the time, it takes a lot longer than some people imagine, so it's not for everyone.
We'd love to see you again soon :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed on a monday evening for a trip to Alton Towers the next morning, The rooms are clean, warm, comfortable and quiet - more than adequate for our needs. Very reasonable prices too.
Nice meal in the local pub across the river bridge - lovely area.
Breakfast was really good - all in all, we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Traci
Thanks for letting us know you found our prices reasonable and really enjoyed your stay and the village of Oakamoor :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was our 2nd visit to The Laurels but our first under the new owners - it was great! We received a really warm welcome, were advised on local pubs and the room was perfect. Everything you need for a mini-break away and really convenient for our trip to Alton Towers! The room was clean and had plenty of refreshments, great shower and bathroom and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Laura
It's nice to know you came back to The Laurels and weren't disappointed! :-)
We're really glad you enjoyed the shower and the breakfast.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After a long day at alton towers was nice to relax at the lovely Laurels B & B. Room was lovely. Had a lovely meal at the Nelson pub.
Breakfast was lovely too!
Many thanks
Will defiantly be back next year. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank titch76Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed Helen's breakfast and liked the food at our local pub :-)
It would be great to see you again soon, just gives us a bell or book directly on our website.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed here in September and we also visited back in May. Both of our visits were more than excellent. Phil and Helen are both extremely pleasant and do everything they can to make your stay as welcoming as possible. We stayed in the four poster bedroom which is asolutely beautiful! Beds are extremely comfortable! Morning breakfast is very good quality and serves relatively quick, good selection of cereals, juice etc and the cooked breakfast was lovely. Only a 5 minute drive round the corner from the Alton Towers park, a very good location for anybody visiting there. The surrounding area to the Laurels is lovely, our room window looked out on to hills and countryside. I cannot praise this bed and breakfast enough, would definitely visit for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloejeanfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Chloe
It's so nice to have guests for a return visit.
It really does mean a lot to us and makes all the effort, the whole team put into The Laurels, worth it :-)

Regards
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The best b&b to stay at when visiting Alton towers and I've been to a few. Friendly staff, clean rooms with plenty of tea and coffee and fresh milk if you need it, fantastic breakfast with a lovely view out of the window. Good size shower and cozy room with flat screen satellite tv and free wi fi. Only 5mins drive away from Alton towers we will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Julie
How nice of you to take the time to let us know how your stay was :-)
We'd love to see you again some time in the future

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakamoor
2.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.8 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels B & B

Address: Star Bank, Oakamoor ST10 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Oakamoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakamoor
Price Range: £65 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laurels B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laurels B&B is ideally situated in the small village of Oakamoor. It is just one and a half miles from Alton Towers and close to The Peak District National Park and The Potteries. This is an ideal base for theme park fun, walking, cycling or rest and relaxation. There are 8 guest rooms at The Laurels consisting of double, twin and family rooms, all of which have private facilities and are equipped with colour televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The Laurels is just a short walk away from a friendly local pub. There are also many restaurants and pubs catering to a wide range of tastes within a few miles of The Laurels. Alton Towers is only a 5 minute drive away, so this is a perfect base for enjoying this amazing theme park. With 'Galactica' now open there's never been a better time to visit! The Laurels is situated in the beautiful village of Oakamoor, an area steeped in history, but also surrounded by beautiful countryside, perfect for walks, or taking advantage of the disused railway lines which are ideal for cycling. It's also on the edge of the Peak District. An area of outstanding natural beauty.As if that isn't enough we're also close to the Potteries and many other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Laurels B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laurels B & B Oakamoor, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing