We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic gem of a b&b”
Review of The Laurels B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Laurels B & B
Ranked #1 of 5 Oakamoor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

tour of the facilities. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't have done more to make our stay any better. The family room was spacious and well equipped and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was well organised and plenty of options for us and the children. would definitely recommend and return! 10/10

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Emma
We can't ask for more than 10 out of 10 can we! :-)
Thanks for posting your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We'd love to see you again so do make sure you contact us directly if you're thinking of staying with us again :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for The Laurels B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We found the Laurels a great location for a weekend break to Alton Towers. The only problem we had was it was too hot during the night on our first night. And the lock to the room was difficult to lock.
Breakfast was delicious and friendly service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gazkayjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

It's good to know you liked our proximity to Alton Towers and your breakfast :-)
I'm sorry your room was a bit too warm. At this time of year I put the heating on in our guests' rooms, well before they arrive, to ensure they're nice and snug on arrival. It's seems I may have overdone things a bit :-( Sorry about that.
I should have mentioned that guests have complete control over the radiator in their room, which would have helped you achieve an ideal temperature.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Everything fantastic to the friendly welcome when we arrived to the emails before arriving ensuring we wouldn't get lost. Amazingly comfy beds! Literally 5mins from Alton towers. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenpenguin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Great to know you found our beds so comfortable :-)
Thanks for the review :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, only a mile from alton towers which was the reason for our stay, and there were lots of nice pubs and restaurants really close by... They went our of their way to ensure we had a really good time and were genuinely lovely people. Will be going back next year!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 002266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

We're so pleased you had a great stay with us. It's always nice to know when we succeed in making our guests' stay something special.
Hope to see you again next year :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here having read mostly positive reviews on trip advisor. We were visiting alton towers and used public transport to get there. The owners were very friendly and considerate, giving us a call to confirm our arrival time. We stayed in one of the family rooms as they were full at the time of our booking. The room was clean and quite comfortable with tea making facilities and some tasty cookies.
It was really easy to get to alton towers and were advised which bus to take by the owners. We also had a tasty meal at one of the local pubs, again on recommendation.
Breakfast was lovely and quite plentiful. I would definitely recommend staying at this lovely guest house in the beautiful village of oakmoor.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nabuala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Nabuala
How kind of you to take the time to post a review.
It's good to know you enjoyed the facilities in your room, including the complementary biscuits :-)

The local pubs continue to provide simple, good quality food for our guests, which is great as it gives people the chance to visit a good old fashioned country pub.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Everything was great and wonderful in that place comfortable and quiet rooms and welcoming us was a high level of taste breakfast is excellent and Mr. Phil gave us feeling more comfortable Thank you all

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mahmoud N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Mahmoud
It's so nice to see people from different parts of the world enjoying their stay with us :-)
Thank you for taking the time to send a review, and you kind comments.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Greeting in on arrival very friendly and welcoming. All staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for you. B & B very clean and the was location great for us because it was so close to Alton Towers. However I found the rooms quite small for the price but never the less were comfortable to stay in. Bed very comfy and spacious. Breakfast filling and satisfactory. Would defiantly visit again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanjg5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed staying at The Laurels.
Although one or two of our rooms are a little snug they are still very comfortable, as you say.

It would be great to see you again. Just give us a ring or book direct on our website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakamoor
2.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
3.8 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels B & B

Address: Star Bank, Oakamoor ST10 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Oakamoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakamoor
Price Range: £63 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laurels B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laurels B&B is ideally situated in the small village of Oakamoor. It is just one and a half miles from Alton Towers and close to The Peak District National Park and The Potteries. This is an ideal base for theme park fun, walking, cycling or rest and relaxation. There are 8 guest rooms at The Laurels consisting of double, twin and family rooms, all of which have private facilities and are equipped with colour televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The Laurels is just a short walk away from a friendly local pub. There are also many restaurants and pubs catering to a wide range of tastes within a few miles of The Laurels. Alton Towers is only a 5 minute drive away, so this is a perfect base for enjoying this amazing theme park. With 'Galactica' now open there's never been a better time to visit! The Laurels is situated in the beautiful village of Oakamoor, an area steeped in history, but also surrounded by beautiful countryside, perfect for walks, or taking advantage of the disused railway lines which are ideal for cycling. It's also on the edge of the Peak District. An area of outstanding natural beauty.As if that isn't enough we're also close to the Potteries and many other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Laurels B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laurels B & B Oakamoor, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing