We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't recommend enough; great room, great people, great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Laurels B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Laurels B & B
Ranked #1 of 5 Oakamoor B&B and Inns
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't recommend enough; great room, great people, great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at the Laurels whilst on business and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Room was modern with excellent en suite facility and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional, cooked to perfection with coffee, fresh orange juice & toast. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating, regularly asking if everything was ok and if I needed anything.
Would definitely recommend and will happily stay when in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smashgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Manager at The Laurels B & B, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
It's nice to know you appreciated Helen's breakfast and found your room so comfortable :-)
We look forward to putting you up again, if you're in our area in the future.

Regards
Phil & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
71
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here for the convenience of Alton Towers for the Scarefest weekend. Great place to stay. Excellent breakfast and owners friendly and very accommodating. Good size family room and en-suite.

This is our second stay here and I think we could make it our annual place to stay whilst visiting Alton towers. And its only a 5 minute drive to the park, plus, there are two good pubs that serve good food within walking distance of the B & B.

Thank you, we will be back!!

Room Tip: We had a family room for four, one double bed, two singles for the kids. Great size room, overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4SkinsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
It was good to see you back again :-)
Rooms book very early for Scarefest and the fireworks so you did well to get a room!

Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your breakfast and your room.

Regards
Phil & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Good, clean and staff very obliging, breakfast good. Idea location to Alton Towers and there were a couple of local pubs for food upto 9:30 as there is no evening meals at night, but no prob as pubs just a stones through away.
Overall very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
We're very lucky to have such good quality food available at our local pubs.
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed them and your stay with us :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Laurels, we found it easy enough and its only down the road from Alton Towers. The staff were absolutely lovely. Good info about the local area. Beds were comfy, nice towels and really clean room. The breakfast was fantastic - great choice and literally kept us going all day! Would highly recommend and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pink_cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
It's lovely to hear you're thinking of visiting us again in the future and found everything to your liking :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Exceptionally professional B&B and so close to alton towers thus avoiding any traffic issues. Also really close to the peak district so we could squeeze in walking as well as roller coasters

highly recommended

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Rachel
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate it :-)
We're so lucky being this close to Alton Towers AND some of the most beautiful parts of the Peak District :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

tour of the facilities. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't have done more to make our stay any better. The family room was spacious and well equipped and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was well organised and plenty of options for us and the children. would definitely recommend and return! 10/10

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Emma
We can't ask for more than 10 out of 10 can we! :-)
Thanks for posting your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We'd love to see you again so do make sure you contact us directly if you're thinking of staying with us again :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We found the Laurels a great location for a weekend break to Alton Towers. The only problem we had was it was too hot during the night on our first night. And the lock to the room was difficult to lock.
Breakfast was delicious and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gazkayjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
It's good to know you liked our proximity to Alton Towers and your breakfast :-)
I'm sorry your room was a bit too warm. At this time of year I put the heating on in our guests' rooms, well before they arrive, to ensure they're nice and snug on arrival. It's seems I may have overdone things a bit :-( Sorry about that.
I should have mentioned that guests have complete control over the radiator in their room, which would have helped you achieve an ideal temperature.

Regards
Phil & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakamoor
6.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
2.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
15.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels B & B

Property: The Laurels B & B
Address: Star Bank, Oakamoor ST10 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Oakamoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakamoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laurels B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laurels B&B is ideally situated in the small village of Oakamoor. It is just one and a half miles from Alton Towers and close to The Peak District National Park and The Potteries. This is an ideal base for theme park fun, walking, cycling or rest and relaxation. There are 8 guest rooms at The Laurels consisting of double, twin and family rooms, all of which have private facilities and are equipped with colour televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The Laurels is just a short walk away from a friendly local pub. There are also many restaurants and pubs catering to a wide range of tastes within a few miles of The Laurels. Alton Towers is only a 5 minute drive away, so this is a perfect base for enjoying this amazing theme park. With 'Galactica' now open there's never been a better time to visit! The Laurels is situated in the beautiful village of Oakamoor, an area steeped in history, but also surrounded by beautiful countryside, perfect for walks, or taking advantage of the disused railway lines which are ideal for cycling. It's also on the edge of the Peak District. An area of outstanding natural beauty.As if that isn't enough we're also close to the Potteries and many other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Laurels B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laurels B & B Oakamoor, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing